We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned yesterday from spending four days at the Victorian By the Sea. It was everything I had hoped and much, much more. My friend and I had booked the twin room on the first floor, but when we arrived, Robert and Jean graciously offered us each our own room at the price of one room! The B&B was not going to be full while we were there, hence this wonderful offer. I took the Bay Room which was charming, cozy and had a view of the water. My friend took the Sunrise Room which was larger and just as beautifully appointed.

The B&B is off of Route 1, so easy to reach, but far enough away from the road that the traffic noise is gone. The quiet and serenity of the setting is unmatched. Sitting on the veranda in the morning enjoying the birds' serenade or in the evening watching night fall is a restorative experience not to be missed.

Jean, Robert and Paula (the assistant manager) are solicitous and considerate hosts. They also prepare breakfasts that will start your day in the most scrumptious way. Everything is homemade, fresh and enticing - muffins, oat cakes, eggs, omelettes Greek yogurt, and best of all blueberry, whole wheat pancakes to die for.

I simply can't say enough about this marvelous place. I will visit it again and again in my memory when I need a respite from the stress of everyday life.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Victorian by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great accommodations. The bedrooms were all great and had their own bathrooms. The breakfasts were fantastic. The hospitality was wonderful. The Owners gave recommendations on what to do in the area and were great to talk to. The location is close to a lot of things to do and see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Mocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Victorian By the Sea in May and we were so pleased with everything; our comfortable and beautiful room, the DELICIOUS breakfasts, the wonderful views of the water, and the whole house with lovely antiques! The friendliness, knowledge and graciousness of Rob and Jean were outstanding. Loved the quiet location near Camden--just perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water. All the rooms were decorated beautifully!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our 24th anniversary here at Victorian by the Sea. Not only did the weather cooperate (early June and daytime reached 80F, night time cool and breezy). Perfect weather for Maine. Definitely recommend the Victorian Suite, with the windowed sitting area overlooking the garden and Penobscot Bay. Variety of teas any time of day/night, use of refrigerator, delicious breakfasts with award-winning wild blueberry muffins. Quiet setting. Other B&Bs charge you more for less.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the 'Victorian by the Sea' for five nights for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was perfect in every way. The B&B is a beautiful home in a great location - wonderful view of the ocean, close to Camden but away from the crowds. Our hosts, Jeanne and Rob, were welcoming, friendly, and gracious. They prepared a delicious, original breakfast each morning of our stay; gave us great suggestions for local restaurants to try and things to do in the area. They also were just great people to sit and visit with! They make the 'Victorian by the Sea' a very warm, hospitable place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our thirty first Anniversary was spent in the charming B and B. When we arrived , Jeanne greeted us, showed us to our room, which was upgraded to the Victorian Suite , much to our surprise and delight with a View of the Penobscot, and gardens! The pillows smelled of lavender, the white curtains blowing in the fresh air. The bathroom had an old fashioned claw foot tub with shower. The round part of the room had a chaise lounge , with blanket, two comfy chairs and a fireplace. The breakfast was prepared by the hosts with great care. Each course was skillfully made , the presentation was as yummy and beautiful, best breakfast we have had in a very long time time. As we were packed , ready to leave I. Almost had tears in my eyes to say goodbye , because Jeanne and Robert make you feel like this is your home and you are family. We will always remember how very special they made our anniversary. This is the place to stay , we hope to go back sooner , rather than later.

Room Tip: All the rooms are impeccably decorated, the Victorian was the one we stayed in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alieda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful mattresses, freshest smelling linens, comfortable pillows, fluffy towels. Our room was perfect, spacious, and lovely. Breakfast delicious. Setting is charming. Location very convenient. I highly recommend this B&B.

I've been staying at B&B's for 40 years, and this is one of the best. Absolutely no negative comment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBatCountryCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
4.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range: $215 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing