We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
265
68
22
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
265
68
22
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool house infinity pool hot tub hilltop building main building my husband and i penobscot bay beautiful grounds honor bar lounge chairs gas fireplace rooms are large top floor exercise room memorial day weekend view of the ocean overlooking the water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spectacular position looking out into Penobscot bay, it is easy to understand why so many guests return year on year.
Team are very helpful and work hard to ensure the whole place runs smoothly.
We were given room 1a which is a large room on the ground floor. The room has a fridge for guests use and the bed is king size. Great bathroom / shower with good toiletries provided.
It would have been nice to have a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.
A disappointing aspect of our room was the noise from adjacent rooms, in our case it was the room above, and whilst Iā€™m not blaming the hotel, creaky floorboards during the night were not ideal. There is no room safe available either.
No in room tea / coffee making facilities, but these are freely available from 7.00am until 10pm in the ground floor dining area.
The breakfasts were excellent. Really good selection of fruit available, and this was topped up, throughout the session. The home made granola was amazing. It was disappointing that they managed to run out of English breakfast tea for the two days of our stay.
Beautiful gardens, well planted with shrubs and extending down towards the sea. The hotel has an amazing infinity edge pool and a hot tub, but unfortunately/ understandably the pool is not heated at this time of year - mid September.
Overall, a really good hotel and difficult to give a rating. Because a few negatives have been mentioned, they are not quite excellent but very good.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis-Hotels, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear robinjn1,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the incredible natural beauty of our gardens and ocean views of Penobscot Bay. You are correct that many of our guests return year after year.

We apologize for running out of English breakfast tea, which is a staple.

There is a safe available for our guests in the Front Desk office.

Thank you for recognizing our excellent breakfast. As you mentioned, we offer a wide variety of fresh seasonal fruit, home made granola and pastries along with eggs your way and our daily chef special.

We appreciate your feedback, and always strive to improve our guest service.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove from Boston heading north to Bar Harbor, stopping along several coastal towns, staying in high-end resorts. Most of the coastal resorts have been located on coves or near towns but the Inn at Oceans Edge is literally on the ocean. Our 2nd floor room in the main building faced the shoreline and we could hear the swooshing waves hit the beach throughout the day and night, an utterly relaxing experience. The rooms are tres chic, beautifully appointed and include wonderful breakfast. I highly recommend this property and will be staying again on a future visit..

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis-Hotels, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for your wonderful review and rating us as a "spectacular" property. There is nothing more relaxing than listening to the waves lapping the beach and rocks, a unique feature of our Inn because of its close proximity to Penobscot Bay.

The "tres chic" rooms as you noted mimic the gorgeous ocean views and lush landscaping through out the property.

Our Inn provides you that peaceful and tranquil environment, all part of that memorable guest experience that we strive to achieve for our guests.

Your high recommendation and desire to visit us again are important to guests who are considering a stay with us in the future.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All I can say is I so wish I had booked an additional night at this beautiful place. It was in the middle of our Maine Road Trip from North Carolina. Sitting outside in the most wonderful lounge chairs staring at the Bay was the most relaxed we were ALL TRIP. Room was spectacular, breakfast delicious, grounds beautiful. This is a hidden gem!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank changes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis-Hotels, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear changes2016,

Thank you for your wonderful review, and recognizing us as a "hidden gem" !! Your comments truly capture the essence of this property and how we hoped to create that memorable experience for you. As you said, the Inn is an amazing place to relax especially while staring at some of the most spectacular ocean views in coastal Maine.

We wish that you had time to stay an additional night too!. Hopefully you will return next season.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful grounds, lovely infinity pool and hot tub. Spectacular views of Penobscot bay. Room was so spacious and comfortable. Fabulous breakfast with THE remarkable view. Highest recommendation for this classy inn. Staff provided spectacular service.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank geroldm187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis-Hotels, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Geroldm187,

Thank you for your fantastic review. To exceed your expectations and for you to so graciously extend a personal recommendation for staying at the Inn are the best compliments that we can receive in hospitality.

The Inn is a special place with incredible ocean views and lush gardens throughout. Our team is amazing and works tirelessly to ensure that your stay is memorable.

We hope you have another opportunity to visit our tranquil and beautiful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great experience. We had both of the pool house suites. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The views of the infinity pool and ocean were beautiful. The full breakfast was delicious, with plenty of variety. The staff was courteous and helpful. Overall, it was a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis-Hotels, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lois G,

Thank you for your wonderful review and especially the kind words about our staff. They work incredibly hard to create that relaxing and great experience that you write about.

This is a special property. The lush gardens and spectacular ocean views from every corner are amazing, as is the beautiful Infinity pool.

We hope that you have another opportunity to stay with us again.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews