We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at the Ocean's Edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Wellesley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend at the Ocean's Edge”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

As the name would suggest, the setting for this hotel is magical. Set on the western shore of Penobscot Bay, the grounds of this hotel give you a real taste of the beautiful Maine coast. The two disappointments were the small size of the pool area (only able to accommodate 8 people at a time) and the closing of the restaurant. Other than that, a real treat and good value compared to pricing of other nearby properties. Try to get room at the main hotel and not up on hilltop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    61
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
214
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The grounds of The Ocean’s Edge are exceptional. The infinity edge pool overlooking the ocean, the exquisite perennial gardens, the manicured walking paths, the comfy lawn chairs by the water, the views – all perfection. The rooms, however, left a lot to be desired. We stayed in a deluxe hilltop room ($300+) that had the strangest layout – a Jacuzzi tub in the living room, a tiny little dresser, cheap pull-down shades that allowed the sunlight in at 4:45 AM, a shower that dripped, dripped dripped all night and a very uncomfortable bed that was made up with terrible, terrible linen.
Housekeeping was the worst I have experienced in a long time. Our bathroom floor was never cleaned, the rugs were never vacuumed, the same water bottles remained on our bedside for our entire 4 night stay, coffee cups were left on the balcony for the entire stay and the empty toilet paper roll was not replaced. Breakfast consisted of one poorly prepared “special” each day and the same offering of sliced, rolled-up deli meats, soggy fruit salad featuring canned pineapple, and store-bought pastries were presented each morning. The “spa” consists of two tiny treatment rooms that were not air conditioned and one of the massage therapists was terrible (the other was good). The gym, which consists of a bowflex, a few free weights and an ancient treadmill, must have been purchased at a local yard sale. The room itself was not air conditioned and had no window. It must have been 90 degrees in the room first thing in the morning. The hotel could be something special, but sadly, it misses the mark.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissM721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here 1 night during the Maine Lobster Festival. My experience from the start was great. The person I talked to on the phone to make the reservation was accommodating and flexible. When we arrived at the hotel, it took our breath away. The landscaping was well taken care of and the views were amazing. The rooms are huge and clean, and they provide Aveda products! The grounds have so much to offer - a hot tub and infinity pool overlooking the ocean, a pool cottage to hang out in, an outdoor fire, and a gym.

We had to leave early the next morning, but still wanted to get a chance to have breakfast. We talked to one of the staff, and she really went above and beyond to accommodate us. She had the chefs put together a hot breakfast for us, which she then packed up in one of her own personal eco-bags, and then silverware for the road!

We were sad that we could only stay 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent only two nights at the Inn in August 2012 after having been displeased with a cottage rental we had reserved. Luckily the Inn had vacancy for the two nights we requested and we couldn't have been happier. The facilities are beautiful, the staff is delightful and the setting is second to none. The rooms were exceptionally done, very comfortable and have a superb view.

The breakfast offering included cold and hot items prepared by an excellent chef.

This is a great value.

Thanks for an amazing truly MAINE experience. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the lower level with a view out our window of the garden and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyB461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Gorgeous ocean views; jacuzzi in your room; an infinity pool; beautiful grounds; roaring outdoor fireplace; delicious full breakfast each morning made our trip to mid-coast Maine delightful and memorable.

The Inn is five minutes from Camden, ten minutes from Rockport and fifteen from Rockland. While we enjoyed these little towns, we couldn't wait to get back to the Inn whether sitting poolside or on our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yigal-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

the inn is geared to a quiet upscale experience. the rooms are appointed beautifully
and very comfortably. the staff is a bit aloof. they serve a nice daily breakfast.
nicely located. good elevator in main building.

Room Tip: main building first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjlawdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you plan going to Camden, this Inn - just a few miles to the north - is the place to stay. Camden is a picturesque but very small village and there is not much happening. Not a problem as long as you have booked a couple of nights at Inn at Ocean's Edge. It is the perfect environment for relaxation. We really enjoyed our 3 nights as a rejuvenating break in the middle of our busy 3 week New England round-trip.
The Inn has a fabulous pool area, big comfy rooms and it's difficult to understand how other reviewers could dislike the breakfast. It was the best we had during our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uyttenhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
9.4 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
106 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
583 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ocean's Edge

Property: Inn at Ocean's Edge
Address: 20 Stonecoast Road, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Ocean's Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Western shore of picturesque Penobscot Bay, The Inn at Ocean's Edge is a serene retreat ideally located within minutes of Camden Village with its quaint shops and bustling harbor, Belfast with its vibrant artist colony, and Lincolnville with its sandy beach and ferry to Islesboro. Featuring stunning views of Penobscot Bay and an oceanview Infinity pool & spa, the Inn At Ocean's Edge is perfect for romantic getaways and as a stop-over on your way to Maine's northern destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ocean`s Edge Hotel Lincolnville
Hotel At Oceans Edge
At Oceans Edge Lincolnville
Inn At Ocean's Edge Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing