We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of last resort”

Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Lincolnville
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceanfront dining at its best! Next door to the Beach Cottage Inn.Prime Rib, Lobsters, Seafood, Vegetarian, Chicken and Steaks. We have it all. Perfectly located in the Heart of Lincolnville Beach in Midcoast Maine. Hours of operation Wed-Thu-Fri from 4 PM till closing Sat-Sun from 11.30 AM and we serve all day through till 9.00 PM
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Of last resort”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If everything else is closed depending on season and or day ot the week but food is mediocre. Order either a burger or a lobster, beer or a drink. Very casual.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    134
    81
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful cozy restaurant, on the water, great service, great food, without the pressure of Camden”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stopped in on a rainy night, heading from Rockland north to home. The dining area is cozy, comfortable, and with a fabulous view of the water - or so we think since it was after dark and raining. However, having seen the same view in the daylight we stand by our first comment. Our waitress, Armindy, was wonderful, knowledgable, helpful, funny, and made us feel at home. We had clams for an appetizer - some of the best we have ever had. For the main course we had fish, orange crusted haddock and Pesto Salmon. Both were cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful. all washed down with a glass of Cellar Door Viognier, locally made. Excellent! For desert, somehow fudge sundae. Decadent! We had a delightful time and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They pressure you for tips!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I went there for dinner with my fiancee as it was close to the cabin that we rented for the weekend. The food was just ok. The waitress forgot to bring my french fries with my entree and I had leave my table and ask for it 15 minutes after getting my entree. I ask her to take a picture of my fiancee and I. She said no (she said that she wasn't good with cameras) and she said that she would send someone else to take the picture. Nobody came.

THE WORSE AND UNACCEPTABLE: When she brought the bill, she wrote on the bill the amount of tips that we sould give her and next to the amount she wrote ( 20% ) but she calculated her 20 percent on the total amount of the bill after tax. RIDICULOUS!! Beleive me she did not deserve a 20% tip. She brought the credit card machine at our table and she said. Do you want me to add my gratuity for you!!

There are so many better restaurants in Camden or Belfast. Don't waste your money there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadianflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beantown
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super friendly...”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a whim, bartender was from MA and super friendly! Made to feel at home, we will def be back. Owner was super sweet too as well as the locals.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmarie2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

If I lived within 5 miles of the Whale's Tooth I would be in nightly! Great choice of food and beers in a wonderfully warm atmosphere. Sitting in front of a massive log fire on a Fall evening by the sea eating better ribs than I had throughout the South - it doesn't get any better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IcebabyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing