We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Battie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Battie Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mount Battie B&B, and we seemed to have had a much different experience than Dale. Our room was spotless and our shower was great. We usually eat fruit for breakfast at home, but we enjoyed Christine's pumpkin bread. I thought it was a great little B&B!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    87
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
104
209
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Ed and Christine really make you feel at home. We had a nice, clean room. It was very comfortable and well appointed. Christine's baked breads and muffins were out of this world. Both Christine and Ed are very helpful with information about things to enjoy in the area. We look forward to staying at The Mount Battie again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We do not know what anyone would see in this place. It used to be quaint and now it's just seedy.

We were charged $200+ a night for a room that at peak season should go no more than $125, more likely $75.

The best part of stay was breakfast. Christine spends all day the previous day baking, which would explain why there is limited wholesome foods. There is no cereal, instant oat meal is it. No fruit. No yogurt. Primarily baked goods. But the honey is organic.

Now to the room. If you have a CPAP, call ahead. Maybe by then Ed can find a plug near the bed. We had to jury rig extension cords across the room. When we arrived, the pillow cases were dirty, and the bed spread was either dirty or seriously spotted. Speaking of pillows, the ones on the bed were plastic wrapped inside the case. Crunchy and heat retaining. Very unpleasant. Look for the ones in the closet. Plan on 1/2 hour to take a shower. I have had atomizers produce more water. It takes forever to rinse, let alone get wet. And of course the shower head was separated from the wall.

We used the bath mat. After getting wet, it came up pretty dirty on the floor side. Yuk. Also, the bathroom was not cleaned on the second day, but the TP was nicely folded.

I could go on about the room's deadbolt not working, the cobwebs and the musty smell, but you get the point. However, the wonderful septic smell in the am really gets my taste buds going.

Simply put, drive on by.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Mt Battie Motel was nice and neat. The room smelled wonderful. The husband and wife owners went above and beyond to be sure all guests were happy. Not ocean front...but ocean view. The location was central to many activities in the area.

Room Tip: Call motel to get the largest room. Rooms are small and on a busy road. Ask for the rooms out back f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winggal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ed and Christine at The Mount Battie B&B are wonderful hosts! Full of helpful information and terrific recommendations, they went out of their way to assist us in every way....and Christine is one of the best bakers we've come across!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here July 11, 12 & 13 & wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts were very friendly & hospitable. They made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds are gorgeous and the breakfasts were delicious! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We definitely will stay at Mount Battie again!

Room Tip: Any room is nice -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wife2iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This motel is very dated but clean. The furnishings are very old and very worn--upholstered chairs are stained, wood trim worn, TV cabinets from the 80's, old TVs--no flat screens. The bathrooms are very small--in some of the rooms, the bathroom sink is not in the bath, but out in a corner of the room. The owners work very hard to make it work--they are very present and watchful, but they cheap out on so many things. Towels are very thin, they provide the smallest bar of soap I've ever seen. They have a sign in the bathroom asking women to use a worn, colored face cloth for make up removal instead of the other face cloths--grossly insulting. Their website says "chocolates in room on arrival"--you get 2 Hershey kisses! That made us laugh. The grounds are beautiful--lots of well tended flowers and gardens with a gazebo and adirondack chairs nicely placed to enjoy the flowers and view. The location is close to Camden State Park which has great walking trails and places for a picnic. The breakfast is very heavy on sweet pastries that the owner makes--kudos to her, but there are too many cakes and muffins. Would be nice to offer some fruit and yogurt. All in all-an interesting experience, but probably won't return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BMG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
296 reviews
8.9 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
359 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
583 reviews
11.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Battie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Battie Motel

Property: Mount Battie Motel
Address: 2158 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Battie Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Battie overlooks Penobscot Bay just north of Camden, Maine. Rooms are immaculate and carefully decorated and furnished and can accommodate a variety of guest needs. Sleeping configurations are: one king, one queen, two doubles and two queens with pullout. For larger parties, there is a two bedroom, two bath suite that sleeps five. In-room refridgerator, coffee/tea, data port, phone color cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Battie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Battie Hotel Lincolnville
Mount Battie Lincolnville
Mount Battie Motel Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing