We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Battie Motel - Where Hospitality Reigns Supreme!”
Review of Mount Battie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Battie Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Mt. Battie Motel - Where Hospitality Reigns Supreme!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived on June 17, and stayed in room 115
The room was comfortable, cozy, and clean
Each day began with smiles from Ed & Christine
Offering delicious baked goods with my coffee and cream
We were seated on the porch, breathing in the scene
Ocean views, flowers, and butterflies accompanied our caffeine
Although free Wi-Fi is available, we chose to unplug from that routine
Instead, connecting with conversation - replacing technology screens
When you come to the Mt. Battie Motel, you'll understand what I mean
And you'll be treated well by the hospitality king and queen!

Bob & Chris
Syracuse, NY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    87
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
105
215
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just spent a few days with friends staying at the Mount Battie Motel and had a great time. The rooms are very clean and provide all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. The owners Ed and Christine are great people and should be hired by the Chamber of Commerce as I don't think there are better ambassadors of the area. We hiked, went on boat cruises etc... and they were able to provide insight to all activities and spots to go to make our vacation wonderful. It is obvious how hard they work to make this more than a motel, it is truly a B and B experience and I highly recommend putting the Mount Battie on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Mount Battie Motel is the perfect spot for those who are staying in the Lincolnville area. Great access to the ferry going to Islesboro. Camden (and all its great shops) just minutes away. Christine and Ed will make you feel welcome. Christine's bake goods (free for your breakfast) are beautiful and delicious. Need advice about "what to see," "where to go." You've come to the right place. They are eager to help. Motel is quaint, clean and well-maintained. Lovely view of Narragansett Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkStIrregulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My hiking friend and I have been going to the Mount Battie on and off for 15 years. It is the best its ever been! Ed and Christine are fantastic hosts! The room we've had is in perfect shape, well maintained and clean. The continental breakfast is superb. All sorts of breads, cakes, hard-boiled eggs, muffins, juices, coffee--everything you would ever want. And the ability to eat outdoors in the fresh air is also a plus. An excellent location, too, between Lincolnville Beach and the town of Camden.
Thanks Ed and Christine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineGuyBangorArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were driving up the Maine coast, making pit stops along the way, and the Mount Battie was perfect for our purposes. As others have pointed out, the owners are chatty but for me it fell on the side of charming. We were only there for one night and I feel we got our money's worth: convenient, well-priced, quiet (for something by the road, that is).

I had no cell reception at all (which apparently is common in the area) but calls on the motel's landline are free, which is a nice touch if you want to reserve at a restaurant or some such.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teppaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited in September and found the hosts kind and helpful. They were very accommodating in every way but especially in providing gluten free options for breakfast. I would recommend this clean and convenient motel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile


I chose the Mt Battie Inn based on the consistentcy of reviews, as the only differences seemed to be guests' reactions to the same situations!
The owners ARE effusive, and are not Maine natives, so if that will bother you, pick another hotel. (we have stayed in many places where the owners weren't native to the area, not sure why guests would care?) We found a courteous "we know the area well" comment enough to end the recommendations commentary others have mentioned.
As is pretty extensively covered in every review, breakfast is carb and calorie laden breads; (albeit delicious) - Christine is talented! Instant oatmeal and boiled eggs are your other choices. The inn IS directly on Rte1, as are many in Maine, even high end B&B's. Any mapping program will assist with this, if noise is a problem for your sleep, check locations of any accommodations carefully. We found Rte 1 traffic to die down around 9pm, so not an issue, and certainly more quiet than an "in town" location would be at 9pm!
We were in the family suite, a nicely sized 3 room arrangement with 2 baths and a mini-kitchen. The furnishings comfortable and certainly of mid tier hotel quality. Heat, A/C, lamps, TV's all were in working order. Particularly helpful is the outlet built into the base of the lamp- super easy to charge your personal electronics.The deck is quite nice if you are traveling with a group of family or friends, as it gives you an area to congregate, separate from other hotel guests. Overall, we were impressed with the quality of this suite and would absolutely reserve it again.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped. There are several places to sit and enjoy the outdoors, so you are not limited to a chair outside your door, as is the case with many small motor inns. Particularly enjoyable is the evening firepit. The inn is well maintained, and it is obvious the owners are continually working on improvements. It is close to many things (Camden, Mt Battie State Park) and an easy drive to others (Acadia, Freeport) but is definately on the far outskirts of any town. We prefer this, and the Inn is priced accordingly, an important consideration for a stay of several days or more. All in all, we thought the value for the price paid was excellent.
Of most importance to us is cleanliness, and we found the Mt Battie to be spotless. I have stayed in five star hotels that were not as clean! We liked the scent of "green" cleaning materials used, and they certainly work well!
Running even a very basic small motor inn is a lot of work, and these owners are tryng to do far more than the basics. With the caveats from the first paragraphs remembered, I would easily recommend this motor inn to the most pickiest of my friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiegirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
4.0 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
10.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Battie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Battie Motel

Property: Mount Battie Motel
Address: 2158 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Battie Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Battie overlooks Penobscot Bay just north of Camden, Maine. Rooms are immaculate, cleaned with organic cleaners and carefully decorated and furnished and can accommodate a variety of guest needs. Sleeping configurations are: one king, one queen, two doubles and two queens with pullout. For larger parties, there is a two bedroom, two bath suite that sleeps five. In-room refrigerator, coffee/tea, free Wi-Fi, chocolates, phone, color cable TV. The grounds contain a nature walking trail, gazebo with living room furniture & candles at night, fire-pit deck with benches & B-B-Q, Pergola with dining table & chairs all softly lit at night time. Centrally located near the beach, boat dock, hiking trails, scenic overlook, winery, lighthouses, shopping, museums, opera house & ferry to nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Battie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Battie Hotel Lincolnville
Mount Battie Lincolnville
Mount Battie Motel Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing