We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience on our four day stay”
Review of Mount Battie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Battie Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I would particularly like to commend the excellent breakfasts, the helpfulness of Ed and Christine and the comfort and cleanliness of the room. The motel is in a lovely location and convenient to the picturesque town of Camden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 467 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

the cleanest motel I have stayed in and one of the best breakfasts--the owners were so friendly and helpful about places to visit & eat. Left an anklet in room. Owner caught up with us and returned the anklet. highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We hadn't expected the motel to be so far from Camden, but it wasn't really an issue as I booked on the basis that price rather than location was more important. The motel has curb appeal and looks well maintained. We received a warm welcome and lots and lots of information and brochures (and a hard sell on some activities) so getting to our room took rather longer than expected. However, the information was very useful and helped us decide on what to do with our limited time in the area. The room was spotless, nice smelling, and nicely furnished. Bathroom was fine, though a little more dated. The road is busy during the day, but there was little or no traffic noise at night. A good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Breakfast was good, Christine is an excellent baker, with lots of choice of home baked goods, good job we weren't watching our waist lines. Bikes were hired from one of the companies recommended by Christine and Ed rang and reserved them for us and we received a special rate and other extras. They do go the extra mile and whilst the hard sell of the ethos Mount Battie Inn and their relationships with other companies is a little too much' in your face' for a reserved Brit, they are passionate about their business and want people to enjoy the experience and return. Would we? Yes, if price (and value) was the criteria and not location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We didn't expect great things from a motel pretty far out from the hub of Camden and located within a few feet of constantly busy Highway 1. And, for the most part, we were right. Some good and some not so good. If you're looking for a clean room with more reasonable rates than others in the area, Mt. Battie works. If you want to enjoy the experience, pay another 30 bucks and move closer to town.

Christine was pleasant enough, but we were really put off by the five minute commercial at check-in for other businesses they have a relationship with. We were loaded down with all sorts of brochures on all sorts of local things and were never asked if we wanted or needed travel advice. Which we didn't. She gave us a local magazine/guide pointing out that they were lucky enough to be featured. Also said it was complimentary from the motel and that they charge $6 for the guide in town. Very insulting to our intelligence as the 'article' indicated it was a paid advertisement (small print, bottom of page). The magazine/guide clearly indicated it was free and we saw it several places in town for free.

The good part was that the room was clean, though decorated rather cheaply and having a background smell of rotting wood. Bed was comfortable and heat/cool worked fine. Funny side note was Christine giving us a tour of the room (which again we didn't ask for) and there being a very noticeable sign on the bathroom counter that they are very 'green' using CFL's and asking guests to recycle waste in a special receptacle. She then proceeds to plug in an inefficient little in-room fridge that will waste more energy overnight than we would ever save by using CFL's or recycling our garbage. Maybe if she'd have asked if we needed a fridge . . .

Only saw Ed for a minute in the morning at the front desk and his only words to us were 'what room are you in?'. Once told, he turned away and that was the end of our conversation. Christine is obviously the people-person on this team.

Continental breakfast was good and dining on the front porch was pleasant. You can kind of see a little water in the distance through some trees, but hard to call this water views.

In a nutshell: Meh. It wasn't great and it wasn't terrible. The room was clean, but noisy highway frontage, long distance from town, poor check-in experience, insults to our intelligence and overall feel would stop us from recommending the Mount Battie Motel to others. Do recommend paying a bit more if you can and keep moving on down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 11961EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are returning guests at the Mount Battie and this time brought some friends with us. We had a wonderful suite with 2 bedrooms, separate baths, a living room/kitchen area and a deck to relax. The lovely gazebo was just a few more steps away. Christine and Ed were as welcoming as always and Christine's home baked goodies were delicious! We even decided to stay another night. Rooms are always clean and welcoming and we make a point to stop when we are in the Camden area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

While my wife and I were traveling through Maine on our motorcycle trike, we stopped at the Mount Battie Inn. What a pleasant surprise! It was about 9:30 at night. Instead of just handing us the key with a number...Christine took the key and showed us to our room and showed us where everything was. Really made us feel welcome. We spent the next day in Bar Harbor and surrouning area. Instead of finding another motel, we called to see if they had an empty room, and was glad when Ed said they did. It was late but Ed was as gracious as the first night. Again Christine showed us to our room. The rooms were beautifully laid out. Fresh, clean and smelled so refreshing. We learned they use natural, organic laundry soap is the reason why everything is so nice. The next morning, while filling up on delicious cakes and wonderful coffee, Ed asked if we had plans for the day. We didn't, so he drew a map of interesting things in the area. Then asked if we ever went on a sailboat, and since we hadn't, Ed made reservations on the sailboat ''Olad''. Fantastic! We stayed one more night, then had to leave for western PA. The last morning was spent drinking good coffee and eating more cookies, cakes, and brownies. We didn't have time to enjoy the firepit or the gazebo. Which has very comfortable chairs, candles and a very romantic atmosphere. Ed and Christine talked with us like old friends. I still remember Ed... weeding the flowers, always smiling and helping any way he could. Same with Christine...making sure we had everything we needed and always a smile. God willing...we will take the grandkids for a trip to Maine and stay at The Mount Battie Inn next year.

Room Tip: Perhaps the second set of rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hubby and I stayed 2nights here. It,s a wonderful motel! One of the owners, Christine, showed us to our room. Upon entering you are greeted with the most wonderful scent of the tree oil. What a pleasant and lean smelling fragrance. Christine told us to settle in and some back to the office and she would help us plan our stay. She know everything about the area. We took her advice and visited a couple places, Do not miss the view from the top of Mt Mattie in Camden State park.
We also visited the breakwater lighthouse which provides a delightful walk of almost a mile out to the lighthouse. We ended our day with a trip to the Cellar door Winery.
Christine starts your day with a delightful breakfast of ho made muffins and breads. Yummy !
This motel is a labor of love as they put it. They are working hard to make repairs and renovations.
There is a water view from most rooms. An overgrowth of trees restricts some views.
We will surely visit this motel if we are out that way again.

Lynda &Dennis. Davenport Fl. (Formerly from Maine)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
3.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
320 reviews
9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Battie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Battie Motel

Address: 2158 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range: $140 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Battie Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Battie overlooks Penobscot Bay just north of Camden, Maine. Rooms are immaculate, cleaned with organic cleaners and carefully decorated and furnished and can accommodate a variety of guest needs. Sleeping configurations are: one king, one queen, two doubles and two queens with pullout. For larger parties, there is a two bedroom, two bath suite that sleeps five. In-room refrigerator, coffee/tea, free Wi-Fi, chocolates, phone, color cable TV. The grounds contain a nature walking trail, gazebo with living room furniture & candles at night, fire-pit deck with benches & B-B-Q, Pergola with dining table & chairs all softly lit at night time. Centrally located near the beach, boat dock, hiking trails, scenic overlook, winery, lighthouses, shopping, museums, opera house & ferry to nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Battie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Battie Hotel Lincolnville
Mount Battie Lincolnville
Mount Battie Motel Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing