We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...nice view, would go elsewhere for good food”

McLaughlin's Lobster Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had seen the name of this place on someone’s post, but not worth he stop. Had a nice view, but the food was the least memorable of our trip, regretted the stop. Granted we had Red’s for our first meal, so set a high standard. But tired the crab roll, haddock, and lobster stew. Save your money and try elsewhere. There are more good views with better food and even better prices. Ok, but not hat good in our opinion.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kristen902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was windy and in the low 50s so it certainly was not right for outdoor dining.
We enjoyed a simple meal of the well prepared and tasty haddock basket as well as the scallop basket.They offer several beverages including wine.
This is always our go to place for each visit to Maine, especially with the wonderful views.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BamTgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Very good casual self service eateryFresh ( not frozen) Lobster
Tough to find these days‼️
Eat in or out‼️
Outside tables with umbrellas and magnificent views of the harbor and the boat activity ‼️

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Sithoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

We stopped there when we first arrived for our stay. Lobster rolls were small, overpriced, and did not come with sides. We visited 2 other lobster shacks while inMaine and the lobster rolls were far better, with sides! I don’t mind paying market price for lobster but this was ridiculous! I was going to order an ice cream cone but they too looked small and disappointing! There are plenty of good places in the area!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank kalmkat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

Been around Maine for awhile now, savoring fresh seafood, great "shacks". Ordered a large fried clam side. Nearly $30. Was really shocked to get a "pint" size basket. I thought they made a mistake and gave me a small. I know things are priced market prices at times but bring the bank or leave your really hungry at home.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MTGypsysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLaughlin's Lobster Shack also viewed

Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Northport, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to McLaughlin's Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing