We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst night ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
Ranked #8 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Peru, Maine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst night ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

When we checked in we asked for a cottage with large kitchen a Tv and OK with pets.Not what we got.The kitchen was extra small.No Tv at all.And the bed was so hard we took turns sleeping in a chair. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tph04290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayLeafCottages, Owner at Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Guests are given a choice of cottages and styles, each being different in size and ammenities. The only cottage with TV at the time this guest stayed with us was Cottage 12. Had they asked for another cottage, one with TV and larger kitchen, we would have been happy to move them and make adjustments to accomodate their needs as that cottage was available. We want our guests to have a nice stay and we're sorry that this couple was not happy. When problems occur, the best solution is to tell the Innkeeper right away so they can resolve the issue to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This place was recommened to us by friends who had stayed there last year. So we went and spend 4 days in early July in one of the two bedroom cottages. it's was very neat and clean, had a little kitchen that served all our needs, we also went to the main house to borrow ingredients and even a gas grill on our last night and had bbq on the lawn in front of the cottages. Jane, the owner/innkeeper is also very insightful on anything and everything in the area. Will definitely recommend this place, and certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

There's a sign in the main building that says "Come as strangers - leave as friends." I think that exemplifies this comfortable yet kind of luxurious place. The owner, June, is always ready with a story, joke or suggestion. We stayed in one of the little cottages and it was great: small fridge, small and very nice bathroom, and a sweet little bedroom. We were with our 10-month-old who loved crawling around outside on the grass and swinging on the hammock. We were there for a wedding and it was so easy to get to everything: the beach, the local and delicious gourmet coffee/sandwich shop, etc. I highly recommend. When we're back in Maine we hope to return to Bay Leaf Cottages!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank croPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

My 16yr old son and I are vacationing in Maine from Maryland. We were up on Clearwater Lake in Farmington, until this morning. It was so niece to pull up to the office of Bayleaf Cottages and smell the cleanliness of the office and Bistro/Dinning area. The cottages are spaced out for some privacy. It's so nice to have a deck with a couple of Adirondack chairs and two more chairs on the lawn area in front of the cottage. Route 1A is approx 70 yards away and trees and a small hill block most of the road. The cottage we're renting is perfect for us and our dog: queen size bed, bunkbed, sofa, small refrig, coffee maker and toaster. Again, it's so nice to have the gentle breeze blowing through the screen rollaway door that leads out onto the deck. The wireless internet and cellphone reception is great! No more having to try to find a hill or a clearing. Well, now off to explore the area and find something good to eat. Possibly, go for a cold swim off of the nearby beach... Looking forward to breakfast being made available in the AM.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mjeshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

This is a great little place and a great value. We stayed in a cottage one night but would stay here again for longer with a kitchen. Clean quiet just plain nice.

  • Liked — quiet back from highway close to area attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingartist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Bay Breeze, arriving sight unseen. The grounds are neatly kept, the cottages look quaint, however we elected to stay in the hotel. The rooms were small, but having traveled to Europe often, it was actually spacious. The over-riding factor and the reason we continued our stay was that the rooms were immaculately clean, especially the bathroom... always a high mark for us. The second positive was the innkeeper; a real pleasure to talk with... good conversation without being intrusive. The breakfast (included) was a very nice continental provided adjacent to the office in a quaint breakfast nook. The views were pleasant as well. You can sit on the front deck of the hotel and just enjoy the ocean view and breeze. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Bay breeze cottage and hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — very small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chuckandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
1.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cottage Inn
Beach Cottage Inn
#7 of 9 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro

Property: Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
Address: 2372 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the charm and comfort of a B&B without the cost! Enjoy our designer cottages and motel rooms overlooking Penobscot Bay. We're .5 miles to Lincolnville Beach and the Islesboro Ferry. Close to Camden, Belfast, and an easy drive to Acadia National Park. Cottages are available with and without kitchens for nightly and discounted weekly rates. Motel rooms all include refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, TV and sofas. Daily continental breakfast is included. We offer free WIFI and a library with computer, books, games and information about Mid-coast Maine. Bring your friends and family or travel on your own or with your spouse/partner. We're pet friendly so bring your dog along too! Settle into our park-like surroundings, enjoy Mid-coast Maine! We welcome you to join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing