We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by photographs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenmoor by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My first recommendation is to read the other reviews. We too, were lured by the photos and descriptors online. We had a Groupon offer and felt we were assigned our room accordingly. We had room #5 of the motel unit (the oldest rental option, we learned), close to the highway, freshly painted but sterile, void of any homey or welcoming touches. The season opened early May, we arrived end of May, our room was very musty, despite a 24 hr. airing on our part. Our room was connected by a door to an adjoining room and conversations and TV were easily heard. The continental breakfast was quite delightful the first morning, though the space is tiny. The second morning we arrived to find no coffee, fruit or clean bowls without searching out someone to replace these items. Before Glenmoor becomes a destination location, I suggest that the basic welcoming needs be addressed for the occasional traveler first.

Room Tip: Look into the cottages or choose a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank everythingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmoorbythesea, Manager at Glenmoor by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Our Seagate building, which has 7 rooms to it, is the origin of the “Glenmoor by the Sea”. It was once called “Smart’s Motel” and was used by travelers as a rest point when making their way to Canada. At that time there were no other cottages and hardly any development in the area. We have aired out #5, and will be remodeling the entire building most likely this winter. We hope you enjoyed the patio and ocean view from the room as well as the breakfast. For an infinitely quiet and peaceful experience we highly recommend the Highland, Breakers, and Oceanfront cottages with amazing views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 237 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Glenmoor is a beautiful, well-maintained property with great views and staffed by friendly people. It consists of a motel area and several individual cottages. We spent two nights in the motel. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. I am not the sort of person who minds if the furniture looks like it is from an episode of "The Golden Girls," but if "updated" matters to you, this is probably not your spot. The breakfast area is nice and cheery and there are many selections. I really wanted to rate Glenmoor much more highly, but there was one major problem. We were given Room 3 in the motel and did not know and were not told that it adjoins Room 7, separated only by one small door that isn't close to being sound proof. It was our luck to be next to a woman who was obviously in the final stages of tuberculosis, her chatty male companion, and a small, yippy dog. Upon check in the dog barked for an hour nonstop, then the couple returned and the coughing and sneezing and loud conversation began. It would end around 11 in the evening and start up again about 6:30 in the morning. This cacophony made sleeping in impossible. In other reviews, I read how noise from the highway bothered some people here, but it was no match for next door neighbors whose every breath was audible. I think you should give Glenmoor a chance, just be aware of the problems with noise in the Seagate building.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
10  Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you want to watch the sunrise over the Atlantic, this is a great location. The cottage was very comfortable, with cable TV and wireless internet. We had a delicious breakfast in the main building, and there were lots of activities for families.

Room Tip: Our cottage was one row back from the ocean and we had a terrific, unobstructed view. There were sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went on September of 2012 with a couple of friends and our dogs and we had a nice long weekend. On Friday nights they had a good selection of wine, cheese and crackers! and at nights a nice Bonfire.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The service was great. Cottage was very clean, although the bed in our cottage (#29) was not very comfortable. They have nightly bonfires and free continental breakfast. Great value! We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Admartinezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love this place so much so I am writing a review as I'm still here.

I had a notion to take a ride up the mid coast on Wednesday (9/11) with a couple of Room Saver coupons. The first place I stopped off at gave me the creeps so I decided to keep going up the road and alas, there was Glenmoor! The two ladies at the front desk were really helpful and one of them showed me the room just to see if I would like it. I ended up liking it a lot and I think the next time I stay here, I'll request the Seagate section (#6).

For almost exactly the same price it would have been at the other place (about 85 dollars), I got a cleaner and more updated room. Not to mention, a door that actually locks and a small but filling selection of breakfast items. But the best part is the deck! Right outside my window is a deck area that is shared by the other units. It overlooks the water and trees, along with the cottages. I made myself a cup of coffee and stood outside this morning (9/12) in awe of the beautiful surroundings. It just felt really calm and I was able to take my mind off work (which was the initial reason why I decided to go on a mini vacation).

Needless to say I am sad that I have to leave but I look forward to a return visit!

The only downside to the Seagate area is that you do get traffic noises from Route 1. However, if you're like me and don't mind the comforting flow of tire sounds, it shouldn't be a problem. The other slight issue is that you can hear people next door to you but again it's not something that will be a fly in the ointment, unless you have ridiculously noisy neighbors (I did not).

For what it's worth, it is a nice place to relax and enjoy Maine's mid coast (the other benefit of staying here is that you're roughly ten minutes from Camden and twenty from Belfast).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MovementandLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in cottage 29 for three nights, one row of cottages from Penobscot Bay. View was unobstructed directly to the bay. Spent all three evenings on one of the two decks built over the ocean front. Great deck for wine and cheese and total relaxation.

Room was very clean and relatively large. Free light breakfast served each morning. Location is about a ten minute drive north of Camden. Staff is friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple, ask for a cottage in either of the two front rows to the ocean. Cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.6 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
464 reviews
8.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
8.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
10.1 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoor by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoor by the Sea

Address: 2143 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoor by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenmoor by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoor By The Sea Hotel Lincolnville
Glenmoor By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing