We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenmoor by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Glenmoor by the Sea...It was a wonderful experience.
We stayed in the St. Andrews House, having bought a package from living social, The goody bag was just that!!!! More than they promised, we were pleasantly surprised. The room too was more than described on the web site...And the complimentary continental breakfast incredible...The home made pastries were fabulous. We will be back! Again, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    62
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
106
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Enjoyed a first floor king suite in the St. Andrews House in Sept. Very quiet, even with occupants on the upper floor. Room was spotlessly clean (no musty smell) and the canopied king bed was luxurious. Flat screen TV, coffee-maker with ceramic mugs, a microwave and mini fridge, a sitting area with gorgeous views to the ocean, great water pressure in the shower.....it was just wonderful. We arrived in nearby Camden without room reservations and after checking out a couple of other places along Rt. 1, we drove into Glenmoor and were greeted by the very friendly staff (and two resident dogs). They were able to accomodate us for a two night stay and we couldn't have been more pleased with our room. It's a quick drive to Camden and is easy to find driving back in the dark, as it is very well lit. We loved our stay so much that we have already booked to return next Sept. for an entire week!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packandunpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London and Denver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night in late September 2012 in a cottage on the water. Our rental cottage was tucked up against the trees in a fantastic location. I would give it 5 stars but the cottage itself is a tad sterile. If you don't mind a lack of charm, and really want an ocean view in a good town at a decent price, then Glenmoor is for you. I prefer more charm in my vacation rentals (ie, real hardwood vs. fake), but it was super clean, convenient and straightforward. We enjoyed the deck on the water. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janajane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma MI
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the St. Andrew suite with another couple. The rooms were clean and quaint. We enjoyed the grounds and walked down to the bay. Breakfast was wonderful ! Hot cinnamon rolls and pastries were DELICIOUS. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Walking into the lobby to register at the Glenmoor is a treat in itself. The aroma of fresh baked pastries waifs out of the kitchen as you are greeted by a friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast tastes as good as it smells. We stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the ocean, and the view was spectacular. The room was bright and extremely clean and the decor; updated and new. The cabins are situated on 12 beautiful acres of green well manicured lawn, with plenty of space to sit or play. You can choose a cabin to stay in or for less money choose a room at the motel unit at the top of the property. I'm glad we had the opportunity to be a guest of Glenmoor by the Sea and I'm looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Cabins on the oceanfront are the most expensive, cabins at the top of the property also have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went off season and saved some money especially with a Living Social deal. Normally the prices can range $200-300 per night depending upon accommodations during high season and discounted in spring and fall. We had a first floor room at the St. Andrews House that had an ocean view. The room is very spacious and well decorated and does have a fireplace.

The grounds are very well maintained and have a variety of family friendly activities. Almost on the bay is 13 cottages that will provide more space if that is your need. The staff is responsive and they have a small continental breakfast available. They also have a complementary computer for your use.

Glenmoor is about 5 miles from Camden and about 12 miles from Rockland. Rockland has the Farnsworth Art Museum and it is worth the trip. Camden is more along the lines of quaint Maine coastal villages with pricy restaurants and gift shops with the usual assortment of stuff that I normally bypass.

For a money saving tip you can head down Route 1 towards Rockland for the usual collection of fast foods and casual dining. There is also a Hannaford's and Shaw's super markets on the way.

As a side note we had a "goody bag" that probably had $25 worth of items including a split of champagne and this was part of the Living Social promotion.

We live between Plymouth and New Bedford Ma. I could not believe the outrageous restaurant prices for seafood in Lincolnsville and Camden. Average quality and vastly over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I decided to visit Maine in early October to experience the fall foliage that is so beautiful in that state. After looking around, I decided to pick Glenmoor by the Sea, because of its location, ratings, and the price.

I noticed on their website that they had a King Suite available for $159 per night. I called the office to inquire about this room and confirm the price. The nice lady at the other end answered all of the questions I had the room and the property; however she told me that the room was $199 per night. I then proceeded to ask her about the discrepancy, to which she responded that it must have been an error or something to that like. I thanked the lady for her time and told her that I would probably reserve online soon.

I was quite disappointed that the price was different, but I was willing to swallow that difference. I thought that I will give them like 30 minutes to fix the problem and then I’ll reserve because I really wanted this room and it was the only one left of that kind. After 30 min, I saw that the price was still $159 but I reserved anyway, expecting that the price would be adjusted at my arrival. I was willing to pay the $199 per night, but I just wanted to make sure that I got the room. Later that night I got a confirmation that my reservation was accepted. Today (one day later) I received an email from the reservation desk stating "Due to some confusion on our part we will be unable to honor your reservation at this time". And lo and behold the same room is now available online for $199

The hotel did not even have the decency to call me and explain that the reason they cancelled the reservation was because of the mistake in price. Had they called me and said that hey we messed up and can't give it to you for $159, can you take $199 instead? I would have said yes, because I understand the position they are in and I wanted to stay at this place. Instead they were unethical cowards who just made up a reason to cancel my reservation, in lieu of being honest and coming up with a mutually beneficial resolution. Really, all they had to do was give me a call instead of making up rubbish and sending it in an email.

I bet this is a great place to stay while in Maine. However, I will never conduct business with people who have no regard for being honest with their customers. The least you require of a hotel is it to be ethical (i.e. upholding, not favoring, honest) in their reservation practices. It has been my experience, that Glenmoor by the Sea is not one of these hotels.

Keep this in mind when you reserve with this property, as you cannot ever be sure that they have the intention of keeping the contract that you made with them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank piw213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.6 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
449 reviews
8.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
8.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
10.2 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoor by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoor by the Sea

Property: Glenmoor by the Sea
Address: 2143 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoor by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glenmoor by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoor By The Sea Hotel Lincolnville
Glenmoor By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing