We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitetail Inn
Nearby Hotels
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamola Motor Lodge(Millinocket)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxter Park Inn(Millinocket)(Great Value!)
$130
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant(Millinocket)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
62
21
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
21
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily funeralshared bathflat screen tvold housea great place to staynext morningwould definitely stay here againbaxter state parkcomfortable bedglennunitbangorsink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 96 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Whitetail Inn. Glen, the owner, is attentive and really aims to please. The inn is a converted historic home on one of the main streets in the town of Lincoln, Maine. The atmosphere in the common spaces is warm and relaxing. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and up too date. We highly recommend the Whitetail Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StateandEdgemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Public Relations Manager at Whitetail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us all the way from Virginia! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I looked at the room pictures on-line before booking and picked a lovely-looking king room. When I got there and was told it was the last door down on the outside, I thought there was some mistake. This part of the inn was like a 50s motel tacked on to the beautiful historic house. When I unlocked the door and looked in, though, it was exactly as pictured on-line! The decor was fresh and tasteful, the bed linens were better than at many big chain hotels, the bed was super comfy, and there were lots of extras - fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, blow dryer. The owners have clearly done a lot of renovating and left a book in the room for visitor comments and suggestions. I read what was there and noticed that many of the suggestions had already been done - these folks want to please the guests. I suggested a covering for the clouded glass windows in the door but that's probably been taken care of by now!
My only issue was with the breakfast set-up in the main house - it was pretty congested and, despite having nice coffee, the selection was not great. There were packaged donuts and sweet cereals. There was yogurt but only sweet little Yoplaits. Some whole grain cereals or breads for toasting, Greek yogurt, and more fruit would appeal to many people. Otherwise, the setting was lovely and the price was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Public Relations Manager at Whitetail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Millie,

Thank you for your suggestions. We do work very very hard to make sure our guests get a stay that is above and beyond their expectations. Your comments will help us make yours and others' experience that much better! We have a lot of changes planned to enhance your whole stay and we hope you'll come back and see the difference soon!

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Whitetail Inn! Glen was warm and welcoming after our hikes at Baxter State Park. Lincoln is not too far from the park, and such a picturesque town. The service was wonderful; the room was beautiful and clean. The bed, pillows, and soft towels nice..and great to have the mini fridge, TV, and breakfast in the morning! You know you've had a nice stay, when it feels like you're waving goodbye to family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaynieP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitetail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome to the extended Whitetail Inn family! Don't miss the holidays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Whitetail Inn for a weekend in September while attending a wedding in the area. Glenn was so accommodating and friendly, we immediately felt at home at Whitetail! The room was clean and the bed super comfortable. Our room was small, which was perfectly fine since we were out and about a lot; however, when we were at the Inn during the day, the sitting area in the main house was cozy, bright and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better time. We'll stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Public Relations Manager at Whitetail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We're very happy you were able to make yourself at home and fully utilize all of the living area offered. If you're ever in town again, we'd be love to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were stranded when our car broke down 600 miles from home. The Whitetail Inn accommodated us without price gouging. The room was lovely, clean, and the service was good. It even included breakfast. We also drove through the town. The area is picturesque and I would love to visit it again.

If you're bound for this area consider going there. The main office is a wonderful old house. We had free wifi. The experience was positive.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Public Relations Manager at Whitetail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Being stranded is never fun. We've been there ourselves. Sometimes all you need is a warm shower, a nice bed, some free wifi and breakfast. We're so glad you were able to make the most of your stay. Best of luck on your journey home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews