We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lewiston
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not one of the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

I suppose I am used to staying in hotels that are....clean. I didn't feel like I could put bare feet on the floor or my head on the pillow -- nevermind the comforter. The room was decently sized and the TV worked, which to be honest, was more than I expected from walking into the lobby. It has a very old, "rustic" Maine look. Hotel breakfast was ok...nothing special. It was mass-produced buffet food.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    133
    150
    81
    39
See reviews for
212
89
32
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

Researching Bates with our Daughter. Hotel was listed byBates as a place to stay, but was very dark and drab - don't think it has changes from the '60s. Pool and fitness room in a strange, plastic plant lined interior rom. Our daughter was shocked when she tried to use the tradmill - apparently an ungrounded hot wire made this device into a 'death trap'!. Next time, we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Alburn. Much closer to Bates and in a beautiful location. More expensive, but worth it!!

  • Liked — Low Cost
  • Disliked — Dark, worn out, old
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jcharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lewiston hotels

MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and helpful and everyone was really great to us. But as far as the negatives go.... well that's another story. As a note: I did not have just one room as an example but was with a good size party so had the opportunity to see 4 other rooms and everyone had the same complaints! The hotel was obviously run down with stains on tiles on the ceiling, big rust stains in the bathroom, missing bits and holes, and worn bits on the furniture and fixtures. The cleanliness was questionable when I found a CD between the bed and dresser and there were blood stains on the comforter that were even obvious to my son. Yikes! I was going to make tea in the coffee pot provided but had to scrape a layer of dust off the top and clean it myself before attempting. Unfortunately, when I actually looked inside the machine itself, it was so disgusting with built-up residue and who knows what, I gave up and put it back on the shelf. The whole room seemed dirty with obvious dust, mysterious hairs throughout the bathroom and sink area, dirty smudges on various things that I wouldn't touch or allow my son to go near. The showers were horrible! As soon as you heard the shower go on in the room beside you, suddenly your shower went freezing, and after turning the knob to full hot it became dueling showers that would alternate between scalding and freezing. I figured I would get up earlier the next day to avoid fighting over hot water with my neighbor, but still had the same problem with alternating freezing and scalding water. The riff raff seemed uncontrollable making loud noises and yelling while running between rooms at 1am--these were "adults" mind you. And even though it was a non-smoking facility, people were able to leave side doors to the hotel open and stand in the doorways smoking and letting it waft inside. There were empty beer cans and bottles around the indoor pool area, and the hot tub was so littered with empties my son attempted to step around them without causing an avalanche, but I stopped him from even getting in, since it looked so questionable. The buffet is cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for, with a multitude of frozen or "instant" food heated up for you. Overall, I would not stay here again, unless of course, I had no other choice -- like I was stranded in a snow storm.

  • Liked — The staff was great
  • Disliked — VERY Dirty rooms, horrible freezing/scalding showers, noisey drunken riff raff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StripeyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

Am writing this review from my room in this hotel- taking advantage of the ONLY good thing I can say about this place- the free and reliable WiFi.

This is not an Inn. It is not a hotel. It is a rundown, motel where they sealed-off the doorways and added carpet to the hallways to make it a 'hotel'. The brick walls, cement steps and long U shape are all still there. The rooms are very shabby, mine has a hole in the ceiling in the bathroom and peeling wallpaper. The heater was very loud, and kept me and my coworker in the next room, awake at times.

I asked for a wake-up call I never got (and was late to my meeting). The restaurant is a TOTAL joke- cheap, but absolutely inedible food. My room rate came with the free breakfast buffet (a $4 velue!) which meant I went there every morning and took an apple. It was awful! And the free coffee in the lobby tastes like mold. The in-room coffee was leaps and bound better, and I've always thought that stuff was the worst you could get.

I was told there was a gym, but it was literally one rickety
treadmill and two weight machines, both were out of order.

The only good thing I can say about this place is the front desk staff, who was very nice. Ahd the aforementioned Wifi.

I would asolutely never stay here again and would not recommend it unless as a last resort.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mwgSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

I am in the hospitality business and was responsible for booking three rooms for the night of March 20th - whenever you are in charge of making arrangements for a group you know you will either get all the glory for picking a good hotel or all the blame for a bad choice. Happy to say I was basking in the glory after our night at the Ramada. All six of us had only great things to say about the hotel and the staff. During our weeklong trip to Boston we stayed in four different hotels and everyone agreed that the Ramada in Lewiston was the best hotel we had. Thank you to the staff for making me look good.

  • Liked — Ease of checkin in and quality of room
  • Disliked — Would have liked a restaurant that offered more than buffett
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NBCantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

Stayed here while dropping our son at Bates. Brick hallways are a little dark, but the hotel is clean and friendly. Pool, hot tub, & sauna were open late, which was great. Fridge in the room was a pleasant surprise. Didn't use the restaurant, so can't comment on that. (Bought lobsters around the corner and ate them in our room.) Convenient location. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Pool, hot tub, sauna
  • Disliked — Brick hallways
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

This hotel has potential, but its western 70's dark decor needs a face lift. We stayed in the executive studio, so I can imagine the rest of the hotel may have needed even more attention. Side-entries not secure.
Clean and quiet, but desparate for some updates.
The restaurant needs to hire a chef...the buffet gets old when staying for several days in a row.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 490 Pleasant Street, Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing stay in Vacationland, book your hotel room at Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center hotel, near Portland International Jetport Airport. Located off Interstate 95, our non-smoking Lewiston, Maine, hotel is a convenient home base for exploring or just kicking back and taking it easy. Relax in our recently updated pool, sauna and Jacuzzi, or check out local attractions with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Work out in our on-site fitness center or take advantage of guest laundry facilities. For the ultimate in relaxation, book our honeymoon suite with new HD television, fireplace and king bed. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.There is so much to see and do near our Lewiston, Maine, hotel. We are minutes from the Androscoggin Bank Colisee, featuring ice rinks and frequently scheduled public skating. You can stop by the original L.L.Bean Flagship Store and pick up a new guaranteed-for-life backpack, fleece or windbreaker, or hit the links at Fox River Golf Course. Head to Oxford Speedway, minutes from our hotel, for high-octane racing action. If you are in town to visit Bates College, book your room with us for fast access to campus. The unique Maine coast is just 25 miles away, and Kennebunkport is an easy day trip.Join us at our newly renovated on-site restaurant, Fusion, where we serve breakfast and lunch in a casual buffet format. For our evening guests, enjoy a dinner menu that features everything from traditional New England dinners to juicy steaks to Maine lobster, and after dinner, head to Fusion Lounge where you can enjoy live music, dancing and delicious cocktails in an inviting atmosphere.Our Lewiston, ME, hotel offers a 15,000-square-foot conference facility with 10 meeting rooms.Please note that a major credit card is required at check in. Cash payment at check out is accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Conference Center Lewiston / Auburn Hotel Lewiston
Ramada Inn Lewiston
Ramada Inn Hotel Lewiston
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center Maine
Lewiston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing