We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh baked sin”
Review of Grant's Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grant's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Lewiston
Restaurant details
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fresh baked sin”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As horrible as it may sound for me to say this, but forget prozac! Grant's baked goods can cheer me up and make a bad day seem like nothing with just a bite of any one of their desserts. I went in tonight with my kids, figuring they deserved a treat, and came home with a small cake for after dinner. I asked them what they thought after being handed plates and forks that were spotless. My 11 year old said it best, "From now on, we need to get the big cake. Or you can just see about buying extra frosting. So good."

Out of the mouth of babes as the old saying goes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grants is always good”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Grants does amazing things and the bakery items are SUPER! People are accommodating, helpful and happy. Nice place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noreenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this bakery!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Go here if you want the best cannoli you'll ever eat. I am a frequent customer of grant's and typically buy the beans and hotdogs on Saturday. Beans are to die for. Don't forget the rolls. Their bread is so doughy and amazing. I have never had anything that was short of perfection from this bakery. 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbekah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding cake!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After a really sub-par wedding cake experience at a bakery closer to my venue, I visited Don at Grant's Bakery to get my wedding cake. I was a little unsure at first, because their big book of wedding cake ideas had pictures that were ALL from the 1980's, and they looked super dated. I didn't want the white pillar things, with the old school piping or anything, but I had brought a picture of what I wanted, and he said he could do that. Even with the hefty traveling fee for my Sunday wedding (they're not usually open on Sundays, and he had to travel a long way to deliver it), it was STILL cheaper than the bakeries in York, where my wedding was. He sent me home with some samples of kind of what I would be getting, and I left it in Don's hands. We got Don chocolate shells to decorate the cake with, plus our cake topper, and he delivered it promptly and in tact on the wedding, looking exactly like the picture I had given him. I had RAVE reviews (mine included) about how amazing the cake was, how different it was from the normal white cake (it was raspberry cake and chocolate cake separated by raspberry jam), and it was just what I wanted. My wedding venue unfortunately didn't put the chocolate shells on the guest's pieces of cake :(, and made the slices super small, but my dad contacted Grant's after our honeymoon, and they made a little round cake with the flavors and decorations of the wedding cake for us so we could have decent sized piece!! It was SO amazing, and affordable. Just don't be alarmed by the 80's pictures in the wedding book! Bring a picture of the cake you want, and Don will make it happen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Paris, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well priced, and varity”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

They have a good selection of items. It all tastes great and ist fresh with a cheap to reasonable price.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IamSamSamIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Grant's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing