We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ambiance & atmosphere. Slightly slow service.”

Fish Bones American Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Bones American Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Lewiston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street/ Rte 202
Description: Fish Bones American Grill offers casual upscale dining in downtown Lewiston, Maine. This modern dining destination is located in the renovated Bates Mill No. 6 building on Lincoln St. and conveniently serves Lewiston, Auburn and the central Maine community. Join us for lunch or dinner and see why people are calling us one of the best restaurants in the greater Lewiston/Auburn area. So why not give us a try and "Come get Hooked" !!!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Awesome ambiance & atmosphere. Slightly slow service.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I visited Fish Bone American Grill for lunch on a week day; I was part of a small party in the private party room behind the bar. The decor and ambiance of this restaurant is warm and welcoming, and successfully incorporates elements of its mill factory history and tradition.

While our server was friendly, the service itself was slow. The timing of bringing the food to our table was staggered. As a result, many of us spent a great deal of time watching our food while we waited for everyone else to get their food. Plus, there was an error with the order - they were short one entree, and the guest had to wait much later for her food.

The food, though was very tasty. I got the lobster roll special - large chunks of delicious lobster with a tasty butter brioche roll. It was accompanied by well-seasoned fries The cost was about $16. We also tried the blueberry creme brûlée for desert; it is as sumptuous as it sounds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanNessVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    77
    25
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very nice seafood”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We recently had dinner at Fish Bones. It was 2 couples celebrating our son's birthday. It was the first time for all of us. The place was very busy, as it was Bates graduation weekend, but we had a reservation and were seated promptly. There is a parking lot right out front, which is nice. Service was attentive but not rushed. Drinks from the bar were good and tasty, but a bit weak. For starters, I had lobster bisque and the others shared fried calamari. My bisque was delicious. Reportedly the calamari was the best ever tasted. I got the haddock with mashed red potatoes. The haddock was a bit dry, and my potatoes were not mashed. However my wife prefers her potatoes roasted, so we swapped. She got Land and Sea. The steak, scallops and shrimp were cooked perfectly. My son and his fiancé each ordered the tuna steak. She ordered hers medium and he ordered his medium rare. He wished he would have gone for medium, as his fish was cold in the center. For desert we ordered creme brûlée and a strawberry rhubarb tart. Those dishes were so clean you would have think we had licked them. All and all a very nice place. We will go back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cornbread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

During our 2 week holiday coming from England, we came to Fish Bones. Enjoy it so much we visited around 3 times! No faults at all, food was tasty with a wide range and staff were welcoming and jolly. Thanks Fish Bones for making our holiday delicious!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I were very impressed with the quality of our meal at Fish Bones. The fish and seafood were perfectly cooked and delicious. A friendly, casual, unpretentious place that serves wonderful food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Back-in-Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy & Comfortable Post-work Cocktails”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very comfortable atmosphere, ideal for cocktails and light hors d'oevres after a long work day. Also excellent for a more formal dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LewistonNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bones American Grill also viewed

 
Lewiston, ME
Lewiston, ME
 

Been to Fish Bones American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing