We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuel Restaurant

Fuel Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Lewiston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main (202)
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went to Fuel last Saturday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As we live out in the boonies, it is alwasys good to go to town for a fun evening and something different. Only a 30 minute drive. Our second time to fuel. Made reservations via Open Table and had no problems being seated on time. Onion soup was good but not very hot, like it had been sitting for awhile, s he had a salad so it should not have waited. Had the short ribs. Would have liked to know that they included cooked spinach, especially since I detest cooked spinach and tends to make me gag. Had their Mac and cheese with it, which seemed to be cold and I had to use a knife to cut it as it was one bid solidified globe, albeit in a separate side dish. Desert was o'k but nothing to comment on. Room is noisy and has poor acoustics making it hard to have a conversation without the tables over hearing it as you listen to them. Service was very good. Going to Fish Bones or Da Vinci's next time

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAC1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    36
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Fine Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The food was excellent and a fair value. Especially enjoyed the hanger steak and the salmon. The restaurant is noisy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertLK5937AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New York style restaurant in old town Lewiston.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Never have been disappointed with the food or ambience at Fuel. Go to the bar or be seated in the main room, it is all fine eating. Giant martinis will satisfy anyone, even with a hefty up charge for call liquor. Menu changes frequently and always seems to come up to all expectations. Their beet salad was perfect along with the braised pork shank. Wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant in Lewiston was a great find (our experience elsewhere in Lewiston/Auburn did not merit a review). The food was excellent as was the service. I had their signature dish: braised pork shank which was absolutely delicious -- rich, very tender, and lovely hearty flavor. My wife had the cedar salmon steak which was also delicious and beautifully prepared. The staff was friendly, attentive (without hovering!), and cheerfully answered an embarrassing number of questions -- including the source of their flatware! The only letdown was the interior layout and decor. The chef and wait staff deserve better than the usual French posters on the wall and poorly upholstered bench seating. This place could be stunning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely intimate atmosphere without being stuffy. Friendly staff, although the service was a bit on the slow side. Frites are really good as was cedar plank salmon. Flour less chocolate torte delicious. There were many items on the menu we wanted to try and wished there were more than the two of us to sample them all! Guess we'll have to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feldymom703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fuel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing