We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have been a seasonal for 10 years and would never think of going anywhere else.the owners are very respectful and kind .The activities are going on all day everyday for both children and adults .I have seen the campground change owners for the better.The new owners have continued to improve the grounds.I love this place and so does my whole family.Keep up the good work John and Mary your doing a great job

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    11
    25
    28
See reviews for
116
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband & children love camping. I endure it for them, but even I had fun at Flat Rock Bridge. We usually try different campgrounds every year, just to see what's out there. This summer we returned to Flat Rock Bridge. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I appreciate quiet hours being enforced. The entire staff was friendly and respectful. The young staff members are great too! My kids knew them by name. Activities for the kids are endless. We accidently forgot to pack an airmattress, the store had one (at the same exact price as the K-mart down the street.) Updates were definately made from last summer. My kids did enjoy the new pedal carts and the new arcade games. We enjoyed the hot tub. When we packed up the tent and car.... oooops car wouldn't start! Immediately, staff was over to give us a jump. Thanxs for your kindness and a wonderful family camping trip! See you next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I took our two grancildren ages 16 and 9 to flat rock bridge Aug. 3 to 7th. Upon arrival the lady checking us in was concerned that our motorhome might be to tall for the site they assigned us,because of some low branches. She sent someone to the sitet to check. The opinion was the branches might scrap the r.v.so she assigned us another sight with an upgrade to w/e/s. The sight was very level and plenty spacious for our motorhome. The staff was friendly and attentive the entire time. Granted some of the teenagers wotking there did not have all the answers. Very clean campground,showers were spotless,the store was well stocked and clean.Nice and quiet at night. No one was rude or disrespectful. The two shows we thoroughly enjoyed were free and very family oriented. If people were upset about the staff checking on them at night they should obey the WRITTEN rules of the campground. Signs are posted at the pools,hot tubs,bathhouses,the patio,and the store. If you can read you know what is expected of you. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jepep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our second year Camping here, last year was good. This year was shaping up to be the same as last year until one of the owners, Jim, came by our site on our second to last day and informed me that if our dog didn't quiet down he was going to ask us to leave. It was 9am and she was outside for 5 minutes, I told him this and he told me they got complaints the day before. I don't doubt it because there were 6 dogs in the vicinity of our site all taking turns at barking throughout the day. Not during quiet time but during the day. I have been camping for over 30 years and have never been spoken to the way this guy spoke to me. Later on that day there was a seasonal site where a dog was left alone tied up, he was barking and whining, no one came down. Can you say double standard? We liked camping there but will never return because of this one incident. So if you bring your dog here beware there is a very low tolerance when it comes to animals. We had a similar incident a few years ago at another campground with a different dog and they went about a completely different way and guess what we go back every year. It's all how you deliver the message, maybe they will figure it out someday.

As far as the facility itself, its ok, the sites are average at best (the full hook-up ones are challenge) and the place is a little hinky, the bathrooms need help and the sites across the street are way better but we liked it because of the activities. We thought the rest of the staff was great. It's not worth the money. My last words are CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RNF389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

rules are way too crazy feels like u are in some sort of a prison. An way to expensive.will never ever come back again. really bad customer service. bathrooms are really dirty.even if you talk low they tell you are too loud .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pcram86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have spent several weekends/weeks per year for 10 years at Flat Rock, after visiting many other campgrounds. They offer the best family fun at a reasonable cost. Infact, they have a FULL daily schedule of activities and many amenities which cost nothing. I have never found a site to be dirty or in ill repair. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have made improvements to the grounds each year. Bathrooms are kept clean throughout the day. Showers are free. I appreciate the fact that they enforce the quiet hours as many campgrounds do not which was not allow for a peaceful, fun experience. And, security has never approached us regarding being loud, parking, rabies certificates, etc. all of their rules are outlined on their website, and on their mailed confiirmation and the info sheet given at checkin. We recommend this campground to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatRockBridge, Owner at Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We so appreciate the good families that come and enjoy what we do and what we provide. It is you folks that keep us doing what we do. It is such a shame that some folks find the need to blame us and make up lies about their experience, just because we asked them to follow our policies. Hopefully the other good families that are looking for a fun camping experience, that their kids will thoroughly enjoy, will recognize the bitterness in other reviews, and give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

For the amount of money we paid for my family of 5 to camp at a tent site, I was amazed at how run down and neglected and unclean this campground was. From pools and bathrooms to the overall grounds, this place was a dump.
Since it was hot & humid the weekend we went, I'll start at the pools. The pool where the water slide was, was cloudy the entire weekend. The larger pool was much clearer but needed a little work around the pool liner. The chairs at this pool were in poor shape and certianly were not enough of them to accomodate all the people that went swimming. Late in the day on Saturday, some one defecated in the pool. I understand that happens, but the staff asked everyone to get out, but they could come back in 45 minutes! 45 minutes?! Put some shock in that pool, and ask everyone to come back when that water is CLEAN!
The bathrooms were unclean and just disgusting.
The entire area needs a landscape upgrade, several coats of paint and a facelift.
I would expect accomodations for a place like this if it were $20.00/night, not over $60.00/night.
We camp once a year, we know where we WON'T be going back to Flat Rock.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatRockBridge, Owner at Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We have three Certified Pool Operators on staff and test our pool chemicals throughout each day. Our chemical levels are always right on, and we keep stringent records according to state requirements. Pool water sometimes does get cloudy, especially when it is very hot and very crowded, but cloudiness does not always reflect the chemicals of the water. Only when a pool is so cloudy that you can not see the bottom, then it becomes a safety issue in terms of not being able to see what happens under water, provided that the chemicals are correctly monitored. We track both of these conditions closely. In terms of any other contaminants, we follow the state and national requirements, and in most cases go above and beyond. In the incident you are referring to, the state requires only 30 minutes of closure, providing that our chemical level is at the appropriate level. It was higher than the minimum required level, so adding any additional chemicals was not needed and would have only resulted in unnecessarily keeping the pool closed for an extended period of time, which no one would have appreciated. The opinions on our grounds are just opinions, and the writer is certainly entitled to them, and we do hear them. Our grounds are not perfect, but we are continually trying to improve them and always have a great time using them for family fun. But our pools, we are well educated on pool operation, and the way we keep our pools is certainly monitored closely and we would never operate them in a way that would put any one in any risk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
9.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Moody Beach RV Campground
Show Prices

Been to Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping

Property: Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping
Address: 21 Flat Rock Bridge Rd, Lebanon, ME 04027-4017
Location: United States > Maine > Lebanon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Filled Days and Quiet Nights. That is what our family campground is all about. During our mid-summer season, we have scheduled activities 7 days a week, and free entertainment each night. Our many amenities make your stay even more fun as we offer 2 heated pools, a waterslide, 1 mile of river to go tubing and fishing, sports courts and playgrounds, a pedal cart track, and a large arcade with ticket redemption. We also have a large store with an ice cream counter and snack bar, laundry, and free WiFi hotspot. We have many families with kids that enjoy our campground, and because of that, we strictly enforce our 11pm quiet time so that all can enjoy a good nights sleep. 350 sites on 79 acres, just 90 minutes from Boston. Check us out for your next fun family camping vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Rock Bridge Family Hotel Lebanon
Flat Rock Bridge Family Camping Maine/Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing