We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
50
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
50
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews keyless entry across the bridge comfortable furnishings seafood restaurant wonderful room quiet neighborhood a wonderful stay living room stayed here downtown portsmouth first floor top floor cute place one night full kitchen coffee tea within walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a cute place! Glad we decided to stay in Portsmouth/Kittery for the night. Found the Water Street Inn last minute and booked the two bedroom. Nicely appointed and the bathroom has extra towels and plenty of toiletries. Close to everything, we enjoyed a nice walk to the bridge and into town.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank heathermR7589FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the sterling review! We appreciate you and are delighted you had a great stay! ~Todd Dowey, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one super comfy night on our trek up the coast. This place was perfect for us. Our late arrival was no problem as they give you a code for the front door and the room you are staying in. The lobby (living room) has a nice selection of snacks, coffee and tea. Our room was very nicely appointed and the entire house is super clean. Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kevinv877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterstinn, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, we are so happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable! We look forward to hosting you again sometime should you find yourselves back on the Seacoast.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

We stayed in Room #4 for one night. This inn was a little different from most inns we've stayed at in that the innkeeper or owner is not on site. You need a keyless passcode to enter the inn and also your room. It's a little impersonal but not a bad thing... it's just different. The room was very clean and the linens were super soft and nice quality. The one thing we really appreciated were the dark curtains in the room... they get it... a room should be dark to help you sleep and the curtains were lined and a dark shade to help cut the morning light. It makes a difference! We texted with the innkeeper to ask a few questions and were responded to very quickly. They offer several options for restaurants and that's a good thing because one of the other different things about the inn is they don't offer breakfast! A bit weird to us... but not a bad thing as there were so many options for bakeries and restaurants, it wasn't a problem. We would recommend the Water Street Inn if you are looking for a simple, clean and reasonably priced inn.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flannel109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guests and writing us this great review! I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our inn :) ~Todd Dowey, Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We stayed one night on our way to Acadia and it was quiet, clean, private and comfortable. The room with a king bed was a little tight but that was fine. We never met the host but they had a number pad lock to get in. The sitting area on the main floor was spacious and had coffee, tea, snacks, etc. There is no food service and all rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor so be prepared to carry your luggage up.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebPearlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterstinn, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thanks for the review, Deb! If you're ever booking with us again and would like to stay on the ground floor, be sure to check out Room 1 and Room 7 :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

This beautiful inn is perfectly located for walking to all that Kittery and Portsmouth have to offer! We took full advantage with walks to coffee, lunch and dinner in both towns and scenic runs each morning. We were in town for a wedding weekend, and shared the 2 bedroom/1 bathroom unit upstairs in the back barn with my brother and his wife. All 4 of us were blown away delighted by the accommodations, which included stylish decor, really comfortable beds, great local tips and a pod style coffee maker, filtered water, fresh fruit and various snacks in the entryway. We'll definitely be back next time we come through town!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 585nirh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterstinn, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thanks for writing a review! We're so happy you had an enjoyable stay and we certainly look forward to your return!

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews