We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deliciously unique”
Review of Anneke Jans

Anneke Jans
Reserve with OpenTable
Anneke Jans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walker St
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“deliciously unique”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first time here, we were all pleasantly surprised!!! It's a little confusing to find (no signage other than an easel with their name on it on the sidewalk) But the warm inviting rustic atmosphere with an eclectic flare won us over. From start to finish the food was superb. My mussels App was AMAZING, plan on soaking up the broth with lots of bread, it's irresistable! The Steak tartar was the best my hubby has ever had. For dinner he had the duck, it was about as perfect as you can get duck, lean and delicious. I had the special buffalo short ribs with root veggies over mashed... and wow was it flavorful. The meat fell off the bone, and their combination of veggies and seasonings made this the perfect meal for a rainy night! Our friends had the Calves liver (I'm not a fan, but had a taste, it was good) and the Cod... the cod was pan seared with a yummy crusty coating. They certainly know how to pair great tasting foods. We will absolutely be returning, this place was a terrific find!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2theT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    43
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a find”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant is a real find. It is both a neighborhood gem and also a gourmet's delight. The local food is well prepared and presented and the staff are super friendly and efficient. You are made welcome from the minute you enter the restaurant until you depart. Their bar tenders are experts at cocktails and wine and entertain their bar seated guests. It is a great place to meet people and to enjoy a "chat" with strangers or to have quiet conversation with a friend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnos6749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and scrumptious”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Second time here and it did not disappoint. From start to finish, the meal was fantastic and service was superb. Try the fried olives, they are different and super. The mussels with blue cheese were among the best I've ever had. Worth the drive from Portsmouth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautiful”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went there last night for a work dinner. Ordered the mussels with blue cheese and white wine broth as an app, the duck breast for my entree.

Had it been acceptable to lick the bowl after the mussels I wouldve given it some thought but instead soaked up every drop with the terrific bread on the table. The duck was perfectly prepared and I loved it.

Service was attentive but in pretentious and unobtrusive. The room would be a great romantic date spot. I'm just kicking myself that I didn't have room to try the peaches for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place was recommended to me by the staff at the Black Trumpet in Portsmouth, and I'm glad I took their recommendation. It's a similar style, delicious food and unfussy service. I tried the pork chop in red cherry sauce, a combination I wouldn't have thought of but really good. Wish I had saved some room for dessert, as the desserts that passed me by looked amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anneke Jans also viewed

 

Been to Anneke Jans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing