We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anneke Jans Restaurant, Kittery ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anneke Jans

Anneke Jans
Reserve with OpenTable
Anneke Jans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walker St
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anneke Jans Restaurant, Kittery ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Accommodating staff, sophisticated atmosphere and great food. The menu, which changes to accommodate use of seasonal ingredients, offers a different twist on each dish. Outstanding!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    43
    24
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Nice but Expensive Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had reservations with another couple and based on a previous experience wasn't surprised by the noise level or crowds. Newbies should be aware that it's crowded (but looks like renovations are under way) and difficult to hold a conversation (especially at the bar). However, not being seafood eaters, my husband and I were disappointed with the limited selection. I would agree with an earlier posting, that the alternative choices to the seafood dishes were items you could find elsewhere, cheaper. In the future, I would pass on a full meal and stay at the bar for drinks and their delicious fried olives.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still good - but definitely has changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Food is still good/very good but nothing compared to when it first opened and the original owners and chef were there. Menu is good, but if yu are not a seafood lover look elsewhere. There are alternative choices - but nothing you can't get elsewhere cheaper.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rccnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible overpriced food with a nice ambiance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went based on great reviews from Open Table and unfortunately the food was HORRIBLE (how do you screw up mashpotatoes!). I had the Surf and Turf and the meat was served cold overcooked and dry. We were all very disappointed with the food which was overpriced. I am unsure why this restaurant gets great reviews, not worth the time or money, if you are looking for a wonderful meal. The ambiance is nice and dark but way to noisey to enjoy conversation ( I felt like I was in a High School Cafeteria). Overall, very disappointed and will not be dining here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, NH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We wanted a different restaurant so visited Anneke Jans. The service was very very good, and the food was excellent. My husband had the mussels and I had the steak with blue cheese potatoes. Everything was done to perfection. It can be a little pricy, so not for every week (at least in my case), but well worth the money for a special occasion. We will return and refer friends that want that special restaurant. It is small, but that makes it even better. We were there at 5:30, so was not too busy, but did fill up when we were leaving.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cam044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anneke Jans also viewed

 

Been to Anneke Jans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing