We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food at the right price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weathervane Seafood Restaurant

Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food at the right price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was very good well prepared and the prices were very good. I had the stuffed haddock, which they made special for me because I have a scallop allergy. They also had the manager deliver my food so as not to have any contamination. I was very impressed.
My husband got the steak tips which he said were very good and cooked to his liking! I would definately recommend this restaurant if you are in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbillyhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    162
    102
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The price was right... but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Completely shopped out and ready for a good meal, we checked out online reviews for Weathervane. We try to be careful about our menu choices so we were pleased to see some nutritional info online. We decided to give it a shot. While perusing the menu we saw they offered a "lighter version" of one of their "signature dishes"... the broiled seafood (salmon, scallops & haddock). We asked if it was just a smaller version ($12.99 vs $18.99) and were told "they're the same." Knowing that didn't sound right, nor was it what it said on the menu, we ordered it anyway, hoping for smaller portions. While we waited they brought rather unremarkable rolls & butter to the table. I might have been tempted if the rolls were warm, but they weren't. Just right out of the package. A short time later our dinners arrived. The mixed veggies were perfectly cooked and a good sized serving. The scallops were salty, the salmon was just okay, and the haddock was a bit overcooked. It's true... you get what you pay for, so the price was right. Would I be likely to go back to Weathervane on our next trip to Kittery? Probably not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great seaford and service...I would eat here again..So many items to try..All my friends where happy with their meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devratnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place has a variety of seafood to please anyone. Very family oriented. Clam chowder is great! Must visit while shopping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cobo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
452 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Improving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A recent visit to the Kittery Weathervane brought us excellent service, great prices, and so much food that we left the restaurant with several take home boxes. I ordered the "Scallop and Apple Special" and it was delicious. My companions ordered the "Admiral's Platter" which is a baked seafood combination and found it to be to their liking. We divided the "Calamari Appetizer" which was an unusual but nice combination of flavors. Interior is becoming dated....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Weathervane Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing