We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly & Great Location”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have all positive reviews for the Coachman Inn. We booked a last minute trip to seacoast NH to visit with friends. Summer rooms in this area book fast and are pricey. We wanted to bring our yellow lab, but all the local kennels were booked for the weekend and other places had high pet fees. I started to search outside of Portsmouth and found this place. The Coachman Inn met all our needs. We were able to meet up with friends and access coastal NH in minutes. Also, we took advantage of the great location and drove up the Maine coast stopping for ice cream & lobster.
The seacoast is entirely pet friendly with plenty of outdoor seating and the Coachman Inn made traveling with our dog possible for us. The rooms were country decor, but very clean. Check-in was very fast with friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was enough for my needs. I grabbed a banana and yogurt. When I requested an additional blanket someone was at my door in minutes. There was enough space to walk our dog. In the evening there were groups of friends/family sitting around laughing and enjoying themselves. For these reasons we would consider staying again on future visits.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank psycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

A vacation wouldn’t be complete without including four-legged family members! We are happy to offer pet friendly rooms so that canine companions can visit the fresh air of the seacoast with their families. Our staff always goes above and beyond to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and we’ll see you the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 353 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lovely rooms, nice outdoor pool area. Minutes away from fine dining, take away or shop til your hearts content. Helpful staff who were all polite and courteous. Would def stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Lovely size rooms with fridge & microwave, family & pet friendly. Great for shoppers! Front...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toffeegirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

The Kittery Outlet Malls have over 120 stores. There is something for everyone and it’s just a short stroll away from the Coachman Inn. The pool is wonderful to relax next to after a long day of shopping. We'll save you a chair by the pool for next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

At first site, this looks like a 1960's motel, although somewhat larger than most. Upon entering i was greeted by a woman behind the desk. She genuinely seemed happy to check me in, as she offered tips about the surrounding area, Our room was clean, roomy and quite. Free Wifi, plenty of TV channels, continental breakfast, 24 hour coffee & Ice were all pluses. A nice pool ( that we did not use), You can walk or drive to dozens of outlet stores and a few good restaurants. They have new carpet in the hallways and a small business center. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back. These rooms have two doors. One leads to the parking lot and one leads to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank coldsteel337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We thank you for taking the opportunity to stop and see our hidden gem! All of our first floor rooms have two doors that lead the parking lot and inner hallway which you can request upon making a reservation. Thank you for noticing all of our recent upgrades. Until next time…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Staff was so friendly & helpful !! Room, room was so clean !! My husband & I will be returning very soon !! The location was great, staff helped us with finding great places to eat !!! we enjoyed the heated pool it was nice & clean !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 125Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We are so happy that your husband and you were both able to enjoy your stay. Kittery is full of amazing restaurants to try and having a staff that is local to the area allows them to recommend the best food in the area. Our maintenance staff cleans and performs upkeep around the pool multiple times throughout the day to keep the pool looking great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is our second stay at Coachman Inn and whenever we visit Kittery, ME, this will be our first choice for accommodations. Coachman is conveniently located adjacent to the Kittery Outlet Mall, but beyond that, it is the super friendly staff and overall facility cleanliness that sets this Inn heads and heels above the rest. Upon checking in for the second time, the general manager, Angela, immediately recognized us and made us feel like old friends coming for a visit. Angela and her staff met our expectations and beyond-Angela is always on hand to answer our questions and meet our needs. We recommend making your reservations early! This favorite get away books up fast especially during the peak seasons. Big thank you's to Angela and her staff!

Room Tip: Book early!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esteban W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your very positive review. We are so happy that you choose to stay with us each time you visit. Seeing our regulars is like visiting with old friends. Angela and the rest of the staff are wonderful assets and we are lucky to have them. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a coupon obtained at a rest stop for a $59 room "through July 2." That resulted in us driving a little further to go to this hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, I was told that the coupon wasn't being accepted that night. We could pay $89 if we wanted the room. It seems like the coupon should have been honored.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shane1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Shane1102 probably had a HotelCoupons coupon. HotelCoupons is a wonderful tool for travelers to get great rates, and helps Inns and motels to fill unrented rooms. However, with this coupon and great savings come some simple rules that are written in bold print on the first page of the HotelCoupons book:

“The special rates in this guide are “BASED ON AVAILABILITY.” This means that coupons will generally be accepted unless the hotel believes that it can sell its remaining rooms at the regular published rate. Like many other items, the price of a hotel room changes according to supply and demand. When business is slow, a hotel may offer a limited number of rooms at a low rate to attract additional guests. During busier times (special events or peak periods), that same hotel may charge full price and not accept coupons or other discounts. Similarly, coupons will not be accepted if you have guaranteed advance reservations made at a higher rate. It is easy to find out if a hotel has discounted rooms available. Just call ahead and ask the hotel operator if the special coupon rate is available tonight and that you would like to use a HotelCoupons.com coupon. They will be happy to let you know if the coupon rate is available.”

To Shane1102:
We regret that you didn’t take the time to read the rules of your coupon before stopping in. Our small family owned Inn has reasonable rates, hardworking staff, as well as a complimentary breakfast. Our location is close to area beaches, outlet shopping, and fine restaurants. On your next visit to the Eastern Seacoast, give us a try. You won’t be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a nice, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced motor inn.
Would suggest requesting rooms on the front side as the rear rooms do not have as nice a view.
Easy to get into and out of. Within walking distance of a couple of outlet stores and a giant candy store.
Breakfast choices were limited but there is a Duncan Donuts in walking distance if you were looking for something more.
Would stay there again for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bagtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Coachman Inn. Yummies candy store has been in business next door to us for almost 25 years and is a really fun place to rediscover your favorite childhood candies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.8 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing