We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Dieppe, Canada
2 reviews
“Really Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our 1st experience was in 2012, we were beat needed a reasonable place to stay over on our way back to Canada from New York. We found the Coachman. Nice surprise. We expected the typical Motel experience but what we got was far different.

The staff are awesome, from our first contact at the desk to the cleaning staff and management, all are not only polite but solicitous which is a rare thing today. The beds are super comfortable even for a couple used to a water bed. The rooms have everything you need, What is really neat is the dual access .. exterior access to your vehicle parking area and interior access to the Inn's amenitites. For those who didn't bring their computer, they have a room with those items for guests use. That is cool. Free Wi-Fi kept me in contact with the things I needed to do in the evening. Continental breakfast .. pretty good selection for a continental menu. Yup, the facilities are a little dated .. but so what? It is super clean, well maintained and above all welcoming. Not everything needs to be "now" ...

Something really cool too is the friendliness of the people .. reminds us very much of our home in New Brunswick. Mainer's and New Brunswicker;s .... still know how to make people feel at home!

Room Tip: pick one ... both times we got great rooms :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spook291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    110
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
105
156
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend in mid-September, being in town to officiate at a wedding. When I made the reservations, I was quoted one price that included AAA discount. When we arrived I was told the room was at a much higher price, especially for Saturday night (it was 50% more than I was quoted). When I asked for an explanation I was told "oh, the person that booked your room is new". When I checked out I again asked an explanation and this time was told, " well this is race weekend and our rates always go up".

In addition to the misquote of the rates, the rooms are SO small. My spouse has some mobility issues and he really had a hard time maneuvering in the tiny room. And it smelled like mildew. I do not recommend this place at all, no matter what price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Linda W.,

Thank you very much for staying at the Coachman Inn. When booking the guest room for September 20 and 21 Deb, our new employee, did misquote the rate for the second night of your stay. The General Manager noticed the error while Deb was still making the reservation and before the reservation was completed, the proper rates were quoted and accepted by you. As with many hotels and airlines, the Coachman adjusts rates according to availability and during this busy weekend our Saturday night rate went up by approximately 22%, well below our competition. Again, thank you for choosing the Coachman Inn, we look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

positives: clean, comfortable, good location, decent price, wonderful staff, quiet
negatives: limited continental breakfast (buy a waffle machine), outdated, small room
odd: both an inside and an outside door

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you plan to "shop till you drop" at the outlets in Kittery, you will totally appreciate staying at the Coachman. It's across the street from the outlets and very comfortable. They give you a good continental breakfast and free coffee and hot chocolate 24/7. Beds are comfortable and the building is relatively quiet. Good deal for your dollars.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertDRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have have been going to Maine every summer for a few years and I love it there. This year, work schedules prevented us from going earlier so we decided to stay a little further from the beaches in York and decided on the Coachman inn in kittery. I am so happy that we did. The motel is right in the middle of the Kittery Outlets and was a great location for my daughter and I to walk to the malls and get some great deals.

The motel itself is a little older but, it's well cared for and our room was exceptionally clean with a newer flat screen tv and comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and professional and knew all the best restaurants and things to do in the area. They were happy to give us ideas to keep busy during our stay. The whole trip was great and I was very impressed with where we stayed and will definitely choose to stay there instead of the beach next year. The Coachman is a relaxing, family oriented motel with lots of small town charm and great people. My kids loved the breakfast they offered.. plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels and pastries and my husband loved watching the pats on the big screen t.v. in their lounge area a room called the spruce creek room with a guest computer and a comfy couch to relax in outside of our sweet. They do a great job there and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAndFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Coachman Inn during your last trip to Maine and for your kind review. We’re happy to hear that we were able to meet your requests and that you took advantage of our great location next to the Kittery Premium Outlets, just miles from the York beaches. All of us at the Coachman Inn look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This motel is pretty outdated. The rooms are a bit smelly. We had to leave our door open for a while when we got there. The staff is very nice and the location is perfect for shopping at the Kittery Premium Outlets. They offer a limited continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Coachman Inn. Our building was built in 1952 and we try to keep a New England flavor while adding in the modern amenities our guests expect. Each year we are doing renovations to the Coachman Inn to keep it as friendly and inviting as it has been in years past. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is close to everything, but it is a bit antiquated,the bedding is worn out (sheets, pillows, bed spreads the need new ones) people that work there are great! The pool area was great, and the breakfast was good. I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neils57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Coachman Inn for your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper. She has gone through all of the bedding and replaced worn items with upgraded items that will surely exceed our guests’ standards. Our guests’ comfort is very important to us. We thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We look forward to seeing you at the Coachman Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.7 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#3 of 3 in Kittery
549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
4.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing