We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Cross River
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Coachman Inn for many year's prior and always enjoyed it's amenities. The staff is lovely, very warm and professional. We stopped staying there for awhile as we could never get a room with a King size bed. We tried reserving it up to six months prior to our stay to no avail. So though we visit the area every autumn, we stayed elsewhere. We had the opportunity to visit for our wedding anniversary and found that lot's have been updated. We thought it might be under new management. The breakfast area is lovely and I hear they will begin upgrading the rooms next. They even offer coupons to area restaurants. It's really a very quaint inn and we always enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are an easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    105
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
99
149
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a double queen bed room and it was HUGE. It was super comfortable, clean and we had a great nights sleep. I would recommend this to pretty much anyone. The pool wasn't open yet but it looked nice and if you wanted to you could walk to some of the outlets. The ladies at the front desk were helpful and recommended a nice restaurant. My only observation was that they claimed to have the best complimentary hotel breakfast in Kittery and I was a bit disapointed, but that is not to say it was inadequate...maybe the standard is different in kittery than some places I've been. Overall, I say skip the big chains and stay here...the staff is great and its very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakina_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This motel is less expensive than neighboring hotels in Portsmouth. They serve a nice breakfast and the staff is professional and pleasant. Rooms are oldish but comfortable enough and clean. It's not the Ritz but we're not looking for that, are we...?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Route 1. If you are as tired as I was, it won't matter where they put y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I used a Groupon for a 3 night stay at the Inn. When we checked in the lady was very pleasant and helpful. When we went to out room it smelled musty.

On our second day I went to take a shower and noticed the shower liner had mold all on the top. Since it was late I told the front desk in the morning and spoke to the housekeeping supervisor. She apologized and said she would let the staff know. When I returned to my room later in the day I noticed the liner was not changed. I went down to the desk and spoke with the same woman I had talked to in the morning and she said she had forgotten to let the staff know but would change the liner herself, which she did right away.

My husband and I went to lay down for an hour or so, however while we were resting someone used a pass key to enter our room without even knocking! When I went down to the desk to complain I was told that the inn had painters and they probably got our room confused and thought no one was in the room. However, our room was a handicap room and had a metal threshold not a painted one.
I also mentioned that I had to request twice for our shower liner to be changed so this was the second negative thing to happen at the inn in the same day.

When I went to check out, the housekeeping supervisor was at the desk and was very rude and disrespectful! She asked me if I was number 14, did not call me by my name and tried to start an argument with me!! Some how the person I spoke to was confused and wrote in there log that I said the liner was never changed. After making a scene in the lobby this supervisor kept arguing with me!! I simply told her that if there was a customer complaint it should have been taken care of ASAP, and to have a nice day!

Her customer service skills are more then lacking and need to be fine tuned!!

I have worked in hotels before and her behavior was unacceptable! Also, it is customary that when staff enters any room, even if you think it is unoccupied you should knock first!!

I would never recommend The Coachman Inn to anyone!

Besides all the happened the room smelled and the mattress was horrible! The only thing this place had going for I was the location!

Stay away!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Coachman Inn during UNH graduation and had a wonderful time. We were 5 people and 2 dogs and needed a place to accommodate us all. We travelled with my grandmother who needed a handicap accessible room and we were not disappointed. The room was large enough to allow her wheelchair to move freely. Also, being on the first floor and close to the breakfast area allowed us to enjoy a quick bite in the morning before a very busy day.

The best part was bringing our dogs. When searching for rooms, we found the choices very limited and very expensive. The Coachman Inn was the perfect fit for our larger family and furry friends.

We met staff who made this weekend something I will never forget and I would like to thank them for that. I look forward to bringing my girlfriend (a serious shopper) to the hotel for a weekend very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dropline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We feel quite privileged that you chose us to be part of your very important weekend. We welcome you and your family back anytime and feel free to bring the dogs; they were incredibly sweet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were originally only going to stay one night but the room, location and price were all spot on so we ended up staying for 4 nights in the end. Lovely large room, two comfy queen beds, fridge, microwave and importantly free internet as well as HBO. Plus (in our room at least) we had one of the best showers I have ever come across, talk about powerful. The staff we encountered during our stay were always cheerful and helpful. Also included was a continental breakfast which although not anything special went aways to kick starting the day. There is also a bonus in that you are only a walk away from the outlet stores if that's what you came to Kittery for but for us it was a great location for travelling up the coast and surrounding area.

For the price this was to me an excellent hotel and would recommend it to friends etc.

Room Tip: 16 as no-one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillibeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Coachman Inn during your last trip to Kittery. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the great shopping. This spring has been great for some spending time outside. As someone who has had the pleasure of staying at the Coachman Inn during inclement weather, the water pressure truly is unmatched in every room. The comforts of free Wi-Fi and extended cable help make you feel as if you are home. I hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I needed a place for a quick stop on a driving trip, and this place fit the bill. We checked in very late, but the front desk person on duty was cheerful and helpful. The room was decorated in what I would call New England country style, a little out of date but not too bad. Beds were comfortable and linens were clean, though the carpet had some stains and the wing chairs looked worn. The bathroom, again, was very clean but looking a little worn. Towers were plentiful and soft but not very thick. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was minimal: bagels, English muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt. I ended up stopping at the Dunkin Donuts for a decent coffee.

A good night sleep, but not much more, and for a higher price than I would have expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your last stay at the Coachman Inn. This past weekend was a busy one on the seacoast as it was UNH graduation and hotels in the area fill up fast. Consistent with other hotels and airlines, our rates increase during peak seasons, holidays, and weekends and decrease in the off-season. We are happy you chose us to fulfill your travel needs and we encourage you to visit us again as we complete renovations yearly to improve the quality of each stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.7 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing