We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great motel, very friendly people, fantastic continental breakfast, and very close to the Kittery Outlets.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank madrussian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent a night here at the end of our vacation. The room was nice, very large & well decorated with a nice, quiet air conditioning unit. it had a little hotel smell, but not a problem.It was surprisingly quiet in our room, being so near the highway. Breakfast was good. it is the perfect place to stay if you want to hit the outlet malls, which we did on the tail end of our trip to Maine. I'd recommend it for a good value place to stay in Kittery.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel was clean and the room was updated. Parking was ample. The breakfast was generous and the selection was good. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient, right in the heart of the outlet shopping and restaurants are close by. We have stayed here before and will surely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My fiance and I have stayed in some "nice" hotels and motels in our day, but this one is the best of all. It's spotlessly clean and most comfortable, with so many thoughtful touches for the traveler, like the night-light in the bath. EVERYTHING is in wonderful condition...you can tell that the staff and owners take pride in keeping it up to their tip-top standards. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The family room we had was small with a very low ceiling but the room was clean and no longer has the musty smell we experienced there before...probably due to new carpeting. The pool was advertized as heated but was not....same as a few years ago. The breakfast was basic with cold cereals and cold boiled eggs, bananas, and danishes. It would be nice if they included bacon and scrambled eggs, etc. Little expensive but the location is excellent. All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackthenewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Coachman Inn was a mid-way stopping point for another Maine destination. Room and service was beyond expectations. Rooms were large, clean, modern with microwave, frig and internet. Rate included a wonderful continental breakfast. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Also, easy access off and on Maine Turnpike. Wished that more time could of been spent there because it is located in the middle of outlet store heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetie_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Unfortuately the night we stayed at the coach a school bus of teenagers did as well. The walls are paper thin and every word of the gathering of teenagers in the next room could be heard loud and clear in our room. At 1:00pm I called the front desk and asked if they could try to break this gathering up, as they were loud and banging against our wall, I was told that the room would be called to attempt to end it. Since I could hear everything happening in the room, I now that the room was not called and it continued until 5:30am. My husband and I got no sleep that evening. I know that the hotel can not control everything happening in the rooms, but an effort would have been appreciated. The person at the front desk the next morning did apoligize and offer a gift certificate for a future stay, not much use to us as we only get up to Maine about once every ten years.

Do to the noise level that can be heard between the rooms I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ksc9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
2 mi away
Kittery Inn and Suites
Kittery Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Kittery
501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#3 of 4 in Kittery
611 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
4 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
435 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing