We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate It OR Love it!”
Review of The Black Birch

The Black Birch
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Set in a one story retired brick post office, The Black Birch has an unassuming exterior. The interior is modern minimalist balanced by reclaimed wood and hand blown glass lighting. Outdoors is a hidden gem of a beer garden.
Millville, DE
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hate It OR Love it!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a place that is easy to hate and love. It is very small and you sit almost on your neighbors lap and the interior is spartan. Hate It! It is hard to find. Hate it! Tables and chairs seem to be greasy! Hate it! Menu is eclectic and innovative. Love it! Hard to understand exactly what you are ordering as there are 4 classifications of dishes on the menu. Hate it! Some dishes look absurd but they work. Food is very good! Love all this!
Service is terrible since the kitchen is slow and appears to be confused. Management should clean the place up, expand and organize the kitchen and it would be outstanding. Waited for 40 minutes for an appetizer and an additional half hour for entree's. This is one of the few restaurants where my opinion changed several times before leaving.
Probably would not go back since shortcomings severely impact enjoyment of meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    24
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Little Place, Hard to Find”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat and saw that The Black Birch had good reviews. Only one problem, we couldn't find it! Imagine our surprise when we realized we had parked the entire afternoon right next door to it. Let's just say it has zero curb appeal, no sign outside and honestly, we walked by it many times, never realizing that it was there! So be warned. BUT, once you step inside, what a difference. Great atmosphere, full of locals, lovely bar, good wine, great food, great service. Will definitely be back if we get the chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Exceptional Tap List”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Since opening, Black Birch is one of my favorites. The best thing to do is order a few small and medium size plates to share with your dining partner(s). The must have duck poutine is a mainstay on the menu and most everything else changes with some regularity. The Black Birch also has one of the best tap lines in the area. There is a good selection of local brews, some nationally known craft brews and some Belgians beers available. The only drawback is the restaurant is small and fills up quickly. I've often felt like all the diners are on top of one another but the quality of the food makes up for the limited space issues. This is worth stepping out of Portsmouth to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I live across the street from The Black Birch and eat there often. It's a cozy restaurant that has become hugely popular with the locals and visitors. They have a Huge, beer selection. 24 beers on draft.

I love their refined take on "comfort food." Try the grilled cheese on homemade bread with their tomato soup or my favorite, the Brick Chicken with smashed fingerling potatoes and garlicky broccoli rabe. Service is always perfect. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite to the Locals”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough positive things about this place. First of all, expect to wait. We have never waited more than 45 minutes and our average wait is 15 minutes, but use the time to browse the ever changing beverage list. Gavin or Ben will be glad to bring you a drink to make the wait not seem forever.
The menu had so many interesting options. Some of my favourite dishes include the steak tartar, duck roulette, oyster Caesar salad.
Enjoy Black Birch! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cndsurfchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Birch also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The Black Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing