We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lobster in the Rough
Ranked #34 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Harpswell, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This little place has a great view of Portsmouth and is right on the water. So relaxing and beautiful to sit outside as the river speeds by underneath your feet. The food isn't tremendous, but the atmosphere is worth going for anyway. Raw oysters were very good, as was corn on the cob. Fried seafood and salmon wrap were pretty standard, but I'm glad that we went there and enjoyed the warm breeze and sunset instead of going into Portsmouth for a gourmet meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lobster, Lobster, Lobster!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Was there with a group who had a pre fixed menu, so i cant comment on various menu items.
What i CAN comment on is the lobster, the chicken & the chowder!
All top notch! Gave myself numerous lobster water showers cracking into the claws...
chicken didnt have a hint of dry
& I ate 2 bowls of the chowder
& the desserts, were brilliant!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevejv429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, fresh seafood”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lobster in the Rough is located at the headquarters of the Weathervane Seafood chain on Badger's Island in Kittery, ME. It is small, with a limited menu, but sits on the Piscataqua River. You most of the seats are outside and many of them are on a pier out over the water. The seafood is very fresh and noticably better than the Weathervane fare. Prices are very reasonable. The route 1 bridge from Portsmouth, NH, which normally would get you here from NH, is being rebuilt, so you have to come from the Maine side for the foreseeable future. This place is seasonal and is only open through Labor day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lobster, lobster, lobster!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If lobster is your goal, and you're looking for an opportunity to enjoy the outdoors while you tear into it, this might be your place. Order at the window, grab a drink at the bar, and settle into chairs or picnic tables set up around the grounds while your food is being prepared.

Ever stopped along an Alaskan road for a salmon bake? You'll swear salmon has never tasted better. The same is true for lobster here.

There's a stage with live music during the "adults only after dark" hours.

And did I mention the incredible lobster? (And it's priced right!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great times!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I always love going here. Great food, good people and they have heaters for when it gets cold at night. The entertainment is great. I will go back and love it again, and again and again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank devley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster in the Rough also viewed

 

Been to Lobster in the Rough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing