We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming for sure...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herbert Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming for sure...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed @ the Herbert with my GF and 3 boys and dined right across the street for dinner. The snow was flying so the parking and front of the hotel was messy. However, the inside was impressive and the family room for 5 was spacious and comfortable. I would stay there again for sure especially when we visit Sugarloaf. The owner was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a Hilton-like hotel, this is not your place. If you are looking for a nice place to land for a day or two as a launch location for outdoor fun, this could be your style.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shocker_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    56
    18
    24
    23
See reviews for
36
77
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the Herbert Grand over Christmas break during a ski trip to Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel was great. My buddies and I stayed in a room with two beds (fit four of us) which had the bare amentiies but it was good and clean and the price was perfect for our budget--you can't beat $2 Sam Adams! The hotel has a great lobby and couches for drinks, games, chilling...whatever. We bought the package with the lift tickets and dinner and breakfast and it was a great deal (something like $500 for all of us to ski, eat and sleep). I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for something different and you will have a good time. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Sugarloaf and the shuttle picked us up every morning for free and dropped us off at the hotel. Dinner was an all you can eat turkey dinner and it was great after a day of skiing. We will be back for our next Sugarloaf trip.

Room Tip: Buy the packages....you will save a ton of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

There is nothing "Grand" about this place! The rooms were WAY outdated, unclean, a visual scare! The smell was like a gross locker room, making it almost unbearable! This place makes the Carrabasset Valley Inn look like the Bostonian!
DO NOT LET THE LOBBY FOOL YOU! Ugh.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenG207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The title about sums up this hotel. The owner is very friendly and made us feel incredibly welcome. Apparently, the hotel was purchased by a family a few years back and they are renovating. By the sounds of things from the owner, there was lots of improvements done in the past few years. The hotel is a gem but is in need of some polish. There is a new paint job and new carpeting in the halls and the dining room and lobby look amazing. The rooms are dated and small but our room was spotless. I will return on my next trip to Sugarloaf.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner king room.....much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at the Herbert while doing some early season skiing at Sugarloaf. This is an older (historic?) building built about 100 years ago and still in great shape. The lobby and dining room are very cool and it is a lot of fun to just hang out and look around the place. The room was clean with antique dressers and chairs and fit my needs. It was nothing fancy but for the price (about eighty five bucks), I couldn't ask for more. The hotel is a short drive to Sugarloaf mountain and is in the middle of a little village with a restaurant and a mini-mart across the street. There are some galleries and shopping there but I didn't visit. I had a great time and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I love the Hebert. The people are very friendly and the overall hotel is beautiful, but the rooms need some updates. Im not saying to "modernize" but we stayed in the suite and the mattress is very old and the bedding is worn. Keep the charm, but update the comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoLabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at there during a foliage trip in late September and we had a great time. The lobby is something out of an old novel. Very quaint with gorgeous woodworking and a warm feel. The rooms are cozy and contain many antique pieces. As some reviews mention, the rooms are old but they are clean and comfortable. I guess the morale of the story is that if you want a new chain hotel, then this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a VERY unique hotel experience at very reasonable prices, then you should check them out. My wife and I spent most of the time in front of the fireplace in the lobby sipping wine and talking with the lady behind the desk and other guests and we made a wonderful night out of it. The hotel is directly across the street from a restaurant and it was great for our needs. We will definitely return on our next trip through Maine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingfield
23.8 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
144 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
125 reviews
23.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
18.7 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Village Farm B&B
Mountain Village Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Kingfield
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Grand Hotel

Property: Herbert Grand Hotel
Address: 246 Main St, PO Box 67, Kingfield, ME 04947-4243
Location: United States > Maine > Kingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Herbert Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ambience of this 1918 hotel,with the original fumed oak woodwork in the lobby , terrazo floors and the veranda. Enjoy the Western Mountains of Maine in all seasons. Although 89 years have seen many changes, "The Herbert" has not lost the feel and appearance of "Grand Hotel". So take the time to stop and smell the roses as you step back in time in this 1918 hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Herbert Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herbert Grand
Herbert Grand Kingfield
Herbert Grand Hotel Maine/Kingfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing