We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location; Lackluster Facility”
Review of Sugarloaf Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugarloaf Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Reviewed April 23, 2012

There's no doubt regarding the excellence of the location. You're right on the mountain, ski-on/ski-off with a lift to the main ski area a very short ski or snowboard ride away. Parking right next to the inn is first-come/first serve. Otherwise there's a parking lot down the driveway a bit that's certainly walkable, but you should unload by the front door before parking in the lot. I don't know if all rooms are like this, but our room had a window air-conditioner in it. When it's windy in the winter time, cold air bolws from teh outside through the air conditioner and into the room, making it difficult to keep the room warm and also is quite noisy. But that would be our only complaint. Inn seemed clean, had an average restaurant/bar on-site and of course was walking distance to the main lodge for apres-ski activities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Its a great hotel, always eager to help with anything that you need.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Thanks to a super online discount my partner and I ventured north to Sugarloaf USA for some spring skiing.
We booked a night in the Inn and got a deal - and the best room in the Inn. Two lift tickets and a night lodging. The discount meant our room cost roughly $40. Passes for two lessons and the nearby health club- pool were an added bonus.
Sugarloaf Inn is situated on the lower reaches of the mountain and was perfect for our needs. Check in was easy and helpful. We were given Room 11, on the second floor with a balcony that overlooked the mountain.
The room was comfortable, if not a little worn. Curtains were a bit beat, but other than that, it was perfect. The bed, a huge kingsize, was worth the price. Earlier this season, we stayed at Sunday River (see my review) and that worn feeling is hard to escape when you cater to skiers.
The only annoyance was our room was over the porch of the downstairs bar, but it quieted down early enough so that it wasn't issue.
Breakfast was not included and was pricey but not as bad as it could have been. Good service all around. They seem to appreciate the folks who drive hours to ski there.
The skiing was pretty good considering how little snow there has been this winter. It was hot, like 75 degrees and skied in T-shirts and no headgear. By the end of the day, the snow was mash potatoes but a good time. A great way to end the 2011-2012 ski season. So glad we went. So will you.

Room Tip: Ask for slope side and ski during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newzmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed at the inn same time last year. Although the weather wasn't as good as last year we made the best of it. I do recommend upgrading to the boyne bed. Overall we opted to stay at the inn again because it's just if not better than the hotel. Smaller and you have access to everything for half the cost. The shuttles are great. And plenty of great choices to eat/drink.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savysally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Been staying at the Inn the last few years despite the many lodging options at Sugarloaf. There is just something about staying in an Inn that gets you in the mood for a great skication. I would highly recommend staying on the top floor in one of the loft-style units. The units are large enough to accommodate 4 adults and I think it's worth the extra money over a standard room. We stayed back in December the 19-21 and caught a midweek package which saved us a few bucks, always good. Friends who hadn't stayed at the Inn before commented enthusiastically about the warm vibe of the Inn and how nice it was being Christmas time. The chair lifts, outdoor hot tubs, and village/bars are a short stroll away- no car needed. Overall the trip was a success despite only a few issues mostly centered around surly bartenders at the local spots as well as in the Shipyard Brewhaus. I guess this is to be expected though given that they are probably sick of travelers, however it was a little annoying. A couple of positive things I want to make sure I mention. Make sure you checkout the convenience store in Village West. It is a little hard to find the first time but they have a lot of food/bevs to buy and the prices were shockingly reasonable. Happy hour specials all over the place as well, make sure you hit that up. The cheeseburger soup is a must have at the Bag. Free apps in the Shipyard Brewhaus are a nice amenity; however this is where we were confronted by an angry bartender for bringing a plate up to our room after a long day a skiing. All said, staying at the Inn is a delightful throwback to what I imagine ski vacations were like in the 60’s.

P.S. The free shuttle very accessible, having said that don't miss the shuttle at the end of the night or you will be walking home! We did and had to walk home with only a couple coats from the Rack!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andymn847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

A buddy & I stopped in on our way from Montreal for a couple of days skiing & we shared a roo m with 2 queen size beds. Very comfortable, plenty of wall hooks for ski coats & pants, lots of towels supplied, & a great TV that allowed us to get plenty of choice of what to watch when bedding down. The bathroom is very tiny, but having the wash sink on the outside of it allowed the 2 of us to "take care of our business" at the sme time which was handy. This type of room would only handle 2 people, to think a family of 4 could share would be suicide unless the kids were very small. No pool or hot tub onsite, wasn't far, but it would entail gettin gin the car, so no thanks. Ski lockers are provided with the room, so you take care of that yourself, & they had a nice TV room (free Wifi access) with sofas & plenty of chairs & coat hangers right when you ski in so you can take off your boots inside & also on when going out so that you don't have to clump up & doen the stairs & halls with your ski boots on. The Shipyard Brewhaus was cosy & we had 3 good meals there Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was OK only, (coffee was lukewarm one morning despite us alerting the waitress). I'll be back with the wife.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBHabsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The hotel itself is positioned at the foot of Sugarloaf, but you can't ski right from your door...you have to drive up to the Main Lodge and park there, then hike or get a bus to the Lodge. There were long black hairs in the tub upon check in. We wanted to relax and possibly rent a movie after skiing all day. Just cable, no option for movie rental. Extra pillows in the closet were water stained from the chimney (brick chimney was in the closet). The hotel/restaurant area was nice and smelled like the kitchen, but once you passed through the doors, which went to the bedrooms it smelled like an old, musty hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJinMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingfield
15.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
133 reviews
5.8 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
222 reviews
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
27.0 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
166 reviews
23.8 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 2 in Stratton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Inn

Address: R.R. 1 Box 5000, Kingfield, ME 04947
Location: United States > Maine > Kingfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Price Range: $104 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Inn Maine/Kingfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing