We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remembering the magic of Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Drewsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Remembering the magic of Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The Christmas Prelude, Nonantum Resort, and Kennebunkport, Maine returned a spirit for the season we thought was lost. My wife and I were greeted by a friendly staff. Our room was perfect with the Gas Fireplace and Water View. Service and food during the stay remained top notch. The Fire & Ice event will bring us back for a yearly tradition that we hope to share with friends and family. We are looking forward to a Summer getaway to check on this enchanting resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joefenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    361
    110
    39
    20
See reviews for
409
617
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My married daughter and I went on November 21st for a one night stay to start our Christmas shopping. This was our second time at the Nonatum. This visit we were in the "new" building--very nice room with two queen beds and a water view. Last time (June 2009) we were on the third floor of the main building (stairs were steep, but an elevator is available). Quaint connected rooms with a bath inbetween. Both stays the rooms were immaculate. The food was fabulous both stays and very reasonable. I look forward to going back in the near future. Our only disappointment in Kennybunkport is that many of the local merchants are only open on weekends after October. Freeport isn't too far away and was great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Check-in was simple and fast. Our room had a waterfront view, big windows, and a woodstove/furnace that we could control. We were so excited to turn on the woodstove overnight and relax in the nook with reading chairs over looking the water. It was very romantic. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room also had a Keurig coffee maker. Breakfast was delicious, and the hotel was very unique and comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bcobbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattapoisett
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at this resort located right on the water. The hotel rate was $99 and included a sit down breakfast cooked to order in their restaurant. All the rooms in the portside wing face the water. Great value in an ideal location..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishriverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed one night in a portside room on the third floor. The room was cozy but certainly big enough for one or two people. I appreciated the Keurig coffee maker and the gas stove on a cool November night. The bed was adequately comfortable and the room was overall very clean. The best was the big picture window overlooking the bay - simply fantastic!

Yes the building is on the older side and some of the rooms have hardood floors so you can hear people walking around through the walls. I'm pretty picky about that type of noise and thought it would be an issue but I ended up sleeping fine. However given noisy people or kids I could see it potentially being bothersome.

The hotel is in walking distance of downtown and in the opposite direction is a lovely walk passing by beautiful homes and ocean views. There's no beach on-site but there's plenty close by.

One drawback is other than the outdoor pool (which is closed after summer) there are no on-site amneties. So depending on when you go and how much you like to have things to do (fitness room, spa, indoor pool), it may be a consideration.

Overall it's a nice hotel that offers a very reasonable off-season rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Nice resort in a good location. Perhaps spoiled to the point of carelesness. The rooms are fine and have no quibble with them. The restaurant (ours was the only group this night) has good food but amateurish service and a peculiar attitude to beverages. They cannot be ordered at the table. Instead, You have to go to the bar, pay for them and bring them to the table yourself. The young man at the bar automatically charged an 18% tip without consulting *the computer did it" and very reluctantly refunded it later with such poor grace to the point of rudeness. I guess he knew that tour participants are not likely to come back. He is right.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
This reviewer is absolutely right to be angry! There were two issues here:
First of all, no guest should feel they need to go to the bar to get their own drinks while dining in our dining room! Secondly, the bartender was in error to add a gratuity. If that happened by mistake, he certainly should have been gracious about correcting his error.
The Bar Manager and I have discussed both of these issues and I want to reassure all of our guests the set of circumstances this guest discribed will not happen again! The bus tours will be properly staffed so there is a cocktail person on the floor at all times and bar tenders are crystal clear that gratuities are at the full discretion of the customer.
One point that I would disagree with: We have many tour group members come back another time! We are always delighted to welcome them back!
Thanks for giving me the opportunity to respond!
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel is truly charming, it's a mix of the 'Dirty Dancing Complex' and gives a feel of family run care, it's quaint, warm, welcoming and comfortable. Rose on reception is a gem and all the team we met really tried their best to help. The grounds are well kept and generally this is just a lovely place to stay and relax. This is the best New England Hotel we stayed in and we will most definately return at a future date.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandKim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing