We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time--second time around”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My married daughter and I went on November 21st for a one night stay to start our Christmas shopping. This was our second time at the Nonatum. This visit we were in the "new" building--very nice room with two queen beds and a water view. Last time (June 2009) we were on the third floor of the main building (stairs were steep, but an elevator is available). Quaint connected rooms with a bath inbetween. Both stays the rooms were immaculate. The food was fabulous both stays and very reasonable. I look forward to going back in the near future. Our only disappointment in Kennybunkport is that many of the local merchants are only open on weekends after October. Freeport isn't too far away and was great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Check-in was simple and fast. Our room had a waterfront view, big windows, and a woodstove/furnace that we could control. We were so excited to turn on the woodstove overnight and relax in the nook with reading chairs over looking the water. It was very romantic. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room also had a Keurig coffee maker. Breakfast was delicious, and the hotel was very unique and comfortable!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bcobbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at this resort located right on the water. The hotel rate was $99 and included a sit down breakfast cooked to order in their restaurant. All the rooms in the portside wing face the water. Great value in an ideal location..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishriverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed one night in a portside room on the third floor. The room was cozy but certainly big enough for one or two people. I appreciated the Keurig coffee maker and the gas stove on a cool November night. The bed was adequately comfortable and the room was overall very clean. The best was the big picture window overlooking the bay - simply fantastic!

Yes the building is on the older side and some of the rooms have hardood floors so you can hear people walking around through the walls. I'm pretty picky about that type of noise and thought it would be an issue but I ended up sleeping fine. However given noisy people or kids I could see it potentially being bothersome.

The hotel is in walking distance of downtown and in the opposite direction is a lovely walk passing by beautiful homes and ocean views. There's no beach on-site but there's plenty close by.

One drawback is other than the outdoor pool (which is closed after summer) there are no on-site amneties. So depending on when you go and how much you like to have things to do (fitness room, spa, indoor pool), it may be a consideration.

Overall it's a nice hotel that offers a very reasonable off-season rate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedomgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Nice resort in a good location. Perhaps spoiled to the point of carelesness. The rooms are fine and have no quibble with them. The restaurant (ours was the only group this night) has good food but amateurish service and a peculiar attitude to beverages. They cannot be ordered at the table. Instead, You have to go to the bar, pay for them and bring them to the table yourself. The young man at the bar automatically charged an 18% tip without consulting *the computer did it" and very reluctantly refunded it later with such poor grace to the point of rudeness. I guess he knew that tour participants are not likely to come back. He is right.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

This reviewer is absolutely right to be angry! There were two issues here:
First of all, no guest should feel they need to go to the bar to get their own drinks while dining in our dining room! Secondly, the bartender was in error to add a gratuity. If that happened by mistake, he certainly should have been gracious about correcting his error.
The Bar Manager and I have discussed both of these issues and I want to reassure all of our guests the set of circumstances this guest discribed will not happen again! The bus tours will be properly staffed so there is a cocktail person on the floor at all times and bar tenders are crystal clear that gratuities are at the full discretion of the customer.
One point that I would disagree with: We have many tour group members come back another time! We are always delighted to welcome them back!
Thanks for giving me the opportunity to respond!
Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel is truly charming, it's a mix of the 'Dirty Dancing Complex' and gives a feel of family run care, it's quaint, warm, welcoming and comfortable. Rose on reception is a gem and all the team we met really tried their best to help. The grounds are well kept and generally this is just a lovely place to stay and relax. This is the best New England Hotel we stayed in and we will most definately return at a future date.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulandKim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

the first time we stayed here we were blown away by how pretty it was. our room had a small outdoor patio for two and it was very cozy. the room was very clean and the bed/pillows were great!

we originally only booked one night but we woke up the next morning and decided to stay another night. we couldn't stay in the same room so they moved us (and all our bags) to a larger room with a better view and bigger bed for no additional cost of the one we had originally booked!!!! that's wonderful and shows they care about their guests.

the free breakfast in the morning was outstanding! I have never seen such a variety and have it all taste good as well! the servers and kitchen staff operatered like a well oiled machine! FABULOUS BREAKFAST!

the Nonantum is in a great location for shopping or going to the beach. there is a great trolley tour you can enjoy as well that stops in kennebunkport center and will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel!

Overall our stay was a very positive and memorable experience. we plan on staying there again in a month. thank you to the helpful staff and great management that helped make our stay a pleasent one!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastytidbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $170 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing