We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,593)
Filter reviews
2,593 results
Traveler rating
1,784
549
175
55
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,784
549
175
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portside lodge breakfast buffet view of the river shuttle service lobster boats kennebunk river new england adirondack chairs my husband and i carriage house main building overlooking the water corner room the entire staff beautiful grounds third floor get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 2,593 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2020

Oh what a special place! We were at Nonantum for our son's wedding. The ceremony and dinner was set outside on the water's edge. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting! First of all, we arrived on a HOT Saturday morning and had made arrangements for early check-in into our room. At the front desk, we were provided with a welcome bag which included the resort's Covid-19 rules among several fun items like cookies and a beautiful locally-painted watercolor print. The room was ready so we went upstairs. We stayed in a gorgeous room with a water view & king-sized bed. In this time of COVID-19, we were concerned about being anywhere away from home and staying safe. No need to worry here! The room was spotless. We had asked for a cot for our daughter & it wasn't there. We also were short of towels so we called the front desk to let them know. Before we knew it, the cot & towels were in our room. What service! We enjoyed lunch in a water-side cabana. The food was delicious! Several at our table (including me) had the lobster roll. So yummy. The service was quick and friendly. All employees wore masks and required guests to do the same when not in our own group. The wedding was lovely. The hors d'oeuvres were amazing and kept coming! Once we sat down for dinner, the meal seemed like it would never stop--one course after the other. Delicious! After most guests left, we enjoyed the fire pit with s'mores included. Such a nice touch. The next morning we had breakfast on site. I had scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and a muffin. There were many selections from which to choose. It's included in the room rate. We requested the food boxed up so we could sit outside with our group. No problem! I cannot say enough nice things about the Nonantum Resort. The staff certainly went out of their way to make our stay with them extra special--and it was!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 463eileenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2020

It is so wonderful to hear about the great memories your family has started to make at The Nonantum Resort. Hopefully it will be the first of many!
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the contents of your welcome bag. We have worked super hard at pulling together lots of information that explain what we are doing and why we are doing it. We really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed reading the contents.
The food at The Nonantum has always been terrific and this year it is even better! We are getting nonstop rave reviews on everything from the clam chowder to the salmon with lobster friend rice to the key lime truffle. It just doesn't get any better!
Can't wait to see you again!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2020

My husband and I had an overnight stay end of July. We booked a premium water view room, which I thought automatically meant our room would have a balcony (as pictured on the website). Upon checking into our room however, we did not have a balcony and there were no balcony rooms available. While this was disappointing, we still had a water view and the staff offered us a free appetizer with dinner to make up for it, which was very kind.
We booked one of the water-front cabanas for dinner and it was so beautiful! The food was AMAZING! We didn’t end up getting the free appetizer though (perhaps a miscommunication on the staff’s end?) but it wasn’t a big deal. Despite these couple of mishaps, we were so impressed with the genuine kindness of the staff at the Nonantum. Everyone was so friendly! And the location is great- close to downtown shops, beaches etc. We very much enjoyed our night away!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 895staceyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2020

Hello Stacey!
Isn't it amazing how even 1 night away can recharge your batteries and get you prepared to face whatever is next on your to do list?
I am so sorry that the room type you were hoping for was not available. Those balcony rooms are very popular so we do have the following disclaimer on the Premium Rooms description on our website "**Some rooms have access to a balcony / patio. Please call reservations for availability** My apologies we were unable to move folks around to accommodate your wishes! We hate disappointing anyone! The views are amazing from all the premium rooms and hopefully the views more than made up from any disappointment you felt.
The food in our open air dining room 95 Ocean is off the charts fantastic. People are just amazed that Chef Steve and his team are able to create absolutely gourmet food right before their very eyes (the kitchen is also outside so everything is completely transparent)
Please come back and see us again soon!
Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2020

We went up to Maine for a four day escape from COVID madness. The Nonantum was just lovely. Clean, pleasant accommodations. Wonderful staff and service. We felt completely safe. Staff took all possible precautions. Picturesque location. We can't wait to go back.

Room tip: a room with a view is def worth it. so beautiful and peaceful in the morning
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzry270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you so much for your very kind thoughts! Many of our NYC friends have been coming to see us and as the days go by we can see the tension leave their faces as they move through the friendly, easy peasy days life in Kennebunkport affords. Our little town has come together and created the Kennebunkport Promise. This document was signed off on by all of the towns businesses and states that we are committed to keeping our guests, our workers and our citizens safe and we will operate in ways that allows for this.
The feedback from our guests has been tremendous! When you throw in a beautiful backdrop, great outdoor restaurant options and close attention to detail, you have the makings of a perfect getaway!
We hope that you can come enjoy our little piece of heaven again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2020

Our room was great and we enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the boats go by and we enjoyed a fab. dinner in the tent overlooking the river. The staff is very attenative and polite and Tina was a big help to us. We will be back in the fall

Room tip: Rooms not in the main building have porches and great views.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Masher66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Tina is a great ambassador of the Nonantum and her dedication to customer service is legendary! She loves to welcome people to the Nonantum and introduce them to the many great amenities our Resort has to offer!
Our outdoor dining room is very popular. The food is outstanding, the views are amazing (lately the sunsets have really been noteworthy!) and our waitstaff works together to create a dining experience as opposed to just dinner!
Watching the boats glide by has always been the most popular "activity" at The Nonantum and with the additional stresses in all our lives people are enjoying the quiet beauty more than ever.
Thanks so much for sharing your point of view!
Kind Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I took our first steps into the world of hotels this week. Like many others in Maine and accross the Country we have been keeping our distance from people, wearing masks and generally staying home to protect ourselves from the Coronavirus.

Our first tentative step was to the Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport, Maine. And I have to say, it was the BEST choice! Of all the businesses we have visited during the pandemic the Nonantum management and staff have set a very high bar. We were reminded throughout our stay of how serious they are taking the health and safety of their guests!
Signage was clear throughout the facility that distancing, masks and hand washing were not only encouraged, but required by all staff and guests. Food service was handled impeccably, and dining was outside by the water in private Cabanas.
The breakfast seating was handled similarly although inside with 8 to 10 feet between tables.
The key way to our room had a note in it assuring us that our room had been completely sanitized. When we entered our room it was clear that it was super clean. Fresh plastic covered all glasses and surfaces we touched and that gave us further confidence that the environment was as safe as possible!
When we take our next foray into the world of travel...The Nonantum Resort will be high on our places to stay list!
A stay at the Nonantum is good for the soul, it’s as simple as that! If you are planning a trip in south coastal Maine, do yourself and book a stay at the Nonantum, you won’t regret it‼️

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank GaryCrockerCharacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2020

Hello Gary:
Thanks so much for noticing and appreciating all our hard work! The staff here has been working on protocols all spring in anticipation of summer and across the board people agree that they have done a fantastic job! Team Nonantum helped lead the charge in the creation of the Kennebunkport Promise (a document our entire town has signed on to committing to keep everyone safe)
Our outdoor dining room is incredibly popular. We have an outdoor kitchen and bar as well so everything is completely transparent.The food is delish and there are some wonderful specialty cocktails (both alcoholic and non alcoholic)
Please come back and see us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews