We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,282)
Filter reviews
2,282 results
Traveler rating
1,537
511
158
51
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,537
511
158
51
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portside lodge fairy garden breakfast buffet kids activities view of the river shuttle service free shuttle kennebunk river new england adirondack chairs lobster my husband and i carriage house gift shop main building third floor the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,282 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

This grand hotel had sweeping views from every window and a helpful and knowledgeable staff. The room was beautifully decorated with lots of pillows for the extra comfy beds. Definitely worth the visit!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Carolyn:
Our beautiful individually decorated rooms are part of what makes the Nonantum unique. We buy all our art from local artists like Wendy Webster Good, who has a great gallery just a half mile away from our Front Door. Many of our guests buy themselves a souvenir of their trip to Kennebunkport featuring her beautiful work. (I have several of her pieces in my home and always get tons of compliments on them!) We put a small Wendy Webster Good print in each room as a small gift from us and I am always gratified how many people rave about what a lovely touch it is.
Thanks for writing! We look forward to having the opportunity to thoroughly charm you again in the future!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Inn had charm, beauty and the most friendly and professional staff we have ever experienced. Guy was truly a pleasure to speak with and very helpful. This Inn is a 5++++. We will definately be going back!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LCALMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Guy is THE MAN! We have so many terrific customer oriented employees that it is very hard to rain all this praise on one person but Guy is a person who deserves this type of adoration! One of Guy's tasks is to be a parking lot attendant. This means he squeezes cars in our multiple parking lots. He makes this puzzle look super easy! No matter how much pressure there is he is always calm and reassures those late arriving wedding guests that he will find them a space pronto and get them to the wedding on time!
In addition Guy is a wizard at fixing most anything (and in a 135 year old hotel there is always something new to fix!)
But here is the most amazing thing about Guy. He never has a bad day. No matter how crazy things are at the hotel Guy always has a smile and a kind word. I only wish I could clone him!
Thanks for your nice review!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 2 nights at the Nonantum Resort. Our room was wonderful with a great view - we were in the Portside. The staff was helpful and friendly (the kitchen/dining room staff was especially accommodating). However, there were 3 weddings scheduled while we were there. On Friday the wedding in the banquet room was in full swing during dinner which made it very noisy. Saturdays wedding was in a tent on the back lawn. Hotel guests suffered through ear splitting music from 6 - 11 PM. Mercifully we left before Sundays wedding. I feel that we should have been told about the weddings when we made our reservation. Unfortunately this had a very negative impact on what was otherwise an enjoyable visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently attended a wedding located at the Nonantum and stayed three nights at the resort. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, and I had a great view. The included buffet breakfast was very good, with lots of options. Every employee I encountered was competent, friendly and polite.

My 3 criticisms are fairly minor in the scheme of things. 1) Wifi was intermittent and very slow so I mostly used my cell phone as a hot spot. 2) There was a semi-shag area rug in the bed area. A closely woven rug just feels cleaner to me in a hotel room. 3) I had a beautiful view with a large picture window, but the only window covering was an opaque shade. Additional sheer curtains would have been nice.

The Nonantum has some very pleasant spots in which to linger and have a snack or drink. The food in the bar was OK (lobster roll was good and maybe the best of the bunch). Bartender was great despite being busy.

The wedding, set on the grounds with a river view, was beautiful. The Nonantum is easy walking distance to quite a few shops, some with high quality and interesting goods and artwork. The Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge is a 10 minute drive and has a 1 mile walk with views of a salt marsh. The trail very well-groomed, easy, and suitable for all ages. All in all, the Nonantum is a wonderful place for a group event.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MintMarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place continues to be our favorite in Kennebunkport. Outstanding service, friendly staff, clean, great food and beverages, beautiful surroundings.
Many activities for adults and children at the resort. A very pleasant experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 270MaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Mary:
Thank you for all the nice compliments. It is fantastic to hear that we are your favorite in Kennebunkport as there are a lot of really terrific places in our little town!
We continue to work very diligently on customer service and many of our best ideas come from our talented and dedicated staff. For example today Jesse the Dining Room Manager suggested that we purchase some small fold up step stools and have them in the bathrooms of families visiting us with children under 7. What an awesome idea! Brushing teeth for the small fry visiting The Nonantum will become a whole lot easier!
Hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews