We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
1,465
498
154
52
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,465
498
154
52
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portside lodge fairy garden breakfast buffet kids activities view of the river shuttle service free shuttle kennebunk river new england adirondack chairs lobster my husband and i carriage house gift shop main building overlooking the water corner room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow! Ashley and her team are the absolute best. We had a great time and were dazzled by the attentive and enthusiastic service we received by each member of the team. Highly recommended! Thank you for a great stay!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Eric:
Ashley and the Front Desk Team do an amazing job dazzling our guests and helping our them to feel welcome! They are also great sources of information of things to do around our beautiful town. Ashley works hard as Manager on Duty to insure those first interactions set the stage for a terrific stay.
From now until Labor Day lots of families will be visiting us and our Activities staff cannot wait to greet each and every child! Hope to see you again soon!
Thanks for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The experience was excellent. The staff very helpful. Mid-week was perfect as the resort and town were not too crowded. The location was perfect to explore the beaches and coastline. Was able to walk to the various points of interest. Sightseeing bus picked us up right at the front door.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Relax24377144981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You have come up with a very smart game plan! Midweek summers in Kennebunkport are the way to go! No crowds at the beaches and dinner reservations are much easier to come by!
Our staff does a totally amazing job taking great care of all our guests. Each and every staff member believes that hospitality is endless and the result is world class service! We love excelling at customer service!
The trolley does stop right at our front door at 5 minutes after the hour and it is a wonderful 1 hour historical tour of our area. Many of our guests get on here and take the tour back to the first stop which is downtown. After some fun shopping they can jump back on the trolley and head back to the Nonantum, walk back to The Nonantum (1/2 miles) or call the complimentary Nonantum Shuttle for a ride back home. Easy peasy!
Thanks for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled in September 2018 with my family for 4 nights at the Nonantum. We chose the hotel due to the good reviews, family activities and we wanted to experience some coastal Maine whilst we travelled through New England, and I am please that it lived up to expectations.

The hotel is very welcoming, and it as hard to find a member of staff above the age of 30 who wasn't either related to the owners or had worked there for more than 10 years which is a great sign!

We were upgraded when we checked in which we were thankful for, and the room was pleasant with a separate living area where the sofa converted into a bed for our daughter. The bathroom was disappointing considering the rest of the room as it seemed old, and the shower was frustratingly set at a fixed height that was perfect for those of you who are 5 foot tall but that’s a minor gripe.

The hotel does so many things well - the kids club is wonderful with a programme of activities through the day to keep the children occupied including crabbing, crafts, games etc. In the evening you can pay a small fee and the kids eat together and have a tresure hunt, and my 5 year old thought that this was fantastic.

In the evenings there was a campfire and a singer who was a real laugh, I learned what a s'more was after years of wondering and it was great to sit by the fire, have a few drinks and watch the sun go down over the estuary.

The breakfast was good and we ate twice in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very nice.

It is a nice short walk into the small town and there is plenty of parking available.

This family run establishment is without pretense and a great base for some coastal New England action.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Vasszaytsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Maine. The Way Life Should Be!
Thanks so much for choosing The Nonantum for your families vacation! Your five year old is an ideal age to enjoy our Kids Club. Many parents tell us it is the first adult dinner they have had in years, made even better by the fact they can see their child racing across the lawn on a Treasure Hunt with new found friends having the time of their lives.
Our campfire singer Colby started here as a 15 year old bellman and now runs the night audit a few nights a week as well as the campfires. He loves it when a previous guest from another year remembers him. (I have to admit he is a pretty memorable character!)
Please come back and see us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Nonantum. The staff was friendly and kind, quick to accommodate a change of room at my mid-stay request. Both rooms were very clean, well appointed and comfortable. We used the free shuttle into town which was very easy both ways and the driver also very helpful and kind, always less than 5 minutes away. We booked direct through their website therefore received breakfast free during our stay, it was hot, delicious and there was a large variety, something for everyone. I enjoyed reading the dedication wall of photos and memorabilia to #41, President Bush. The Nonantum was a resting place for much of his staff staff during his time in office while at the summer White House.
Overall this was a great choice for our time in Kennebunkport, we were very happy with everything.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank poohshoneypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I have to agree, Kennebunkport is a delightful community to visit! Our ties to the Bush Family are unique and special and our tribute to them off of our lobby is of huge interest to many of our visitors.
Thanks for reminding folks to book directly with the hotel so that they get a free breakfast. In addition it gives us the opportunity to talk to them about exactly what they are looking for and make them aware of all the options - not just the few that we list on line!
Please come back and visit us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely setting on the river. We had a two room suite which was sparkling clean with nice amenities. Front desk personnel was disappointing. I often depend upon the front desk for friendly direction. I did find one (Louise) who made calls to get us facials on a rainy day. Otherwise, they seemed annoyed whenever they were approached. Restaurant was lovely and food good. Also nice to have breakfast included. Very walkable area. Walls to the room seem paper thin. You can hear every voice and noise. After reading other reviews, we wisely avoided Saturdays because of weddings. However, the rooms have a sound machine built into the clocks, which worked well. Nice vacation spot

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 726PattyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Patty Jean:
It sounds like you had a wonderful visit! The two room units are in high demand, especially now that school is out!
I am so sorry you did not feel welcomed by our Front Desk Team. I am very surprised by these remarks as I have a camera in my office so I can see and hear interactions and my observations are very different than yours. However, I would never want a guest to feel less than cherished so I do apologize that we missed the mark with you.
Our restaurant continues to impress and delight our guests and it is wonderful that your experience is reflective of this!
Please come back and visit us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews