We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,088)
Filter reviews
2,088 results
Traveler rating
1,379
483
152
49
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,379
483
152
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portside lodge fairy garden breakfast buffet kids activities view of the river kennebunk river new england shuttle service free shuttle adirondack chairs lobster boats my husband and i carriage house pineapple gift shop main building corner room
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 2,088 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

My family -- wife, three children, their spouses, three grandchildren and cousin -- spent a long weekend. It was one of the best experiences we have had. The inn is wonderful. The restaurant onsite terrific. Dinner fantastic as was the buffet breakfast (free when booking direct.) The grounds just beautiful. Easy walking distance to Dock Square, great restaurants, shopping...fun! It's a great place for kids. My grandchildren were in heaven playing on the expansive lawn and enjoying kid-friendly activities. I simply cannot say enough about Nonantum.

Room tip: We stayed on first floor, riverside. First floor rooms have sliding-door access to lawn. Plus wonderful view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Well thank you Judie!
One of my favorite things to do is watch kids cavorting on our beautiful back law. Listening to their innocent laughter as they play games with our super talented Activities Staff just reminds me of what a summer vacation should look like. Unscheduled and unplanned.
One of my other favorite kid activities is the campfire sing-a-long. Our Master of Ceremonies Colby does such a great job building the fire each night and then playing his guitar and encouraging his new friends to sing along all their favorite songs. (Of course marshmallow roasting is part of the plan! Summer gold!
Our kitchen cranks out terrific food all day long from the bountiful buffet in the morning, crazy good lobster rolls poolside, bar snacks in Heckman’s Pub to the local favorite food in 95 Ocean. Simply amazing!
We look forward to your return visit!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

This was our third trip to Kennebunkport and our third stay at the Nonantum. We have been fortunate enough to stay in the same room overlooking the river thanks to the very accommodating staff at the resort. The staff are friendly,the grounds and the property are well maintained,and the room was very clean. Enjoy the buffet breakfast every morning and relaxing by the side of the river in the comfortable chairs, watching the world go by. Our only complaint, is that we didn’t stay long enough. We won’t make that mistake next year. Thanks for another fantastic vacation.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tj33373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello!
I love that you stay in the same room each year! We have quite a few customers who do that and sometimes when we redecorate they complain (as in "Why is my room now blue? because they liked it the way it was before better! That just cracks me up!
Thank you for noting the hard work of our Housekeeping Department. This is a very large hotel to keep clean and organized but our Housekeepers make it happen. They are truly amazing!
The good news about your complaint is that it is easily fixable! There is still a lot of beautiful weather left. Why not schedule another visit this fall? It is my favorite season in Kennebunkport and the cool nights and warm days make for great outings all day and restful sleep at night!
Hope you can make it!
Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We were staying at the Nonantum resort in Kennebunkport. We arrived late and stopped in Heckman's pub on site for a drink. The young bartender (I think her name was Sarah) carried on a great conversation and soon had me tasting gin from local distilleries and we moved on to conversations about seafood and other fun topics.

IMPORTANT NOTE: we booked the resort with credit card points. If you book directly you get a free buffet breakfast !! OOPS. However Sarah came to the rescue and wrote down a list of great local breakfast places on our way up the coast. We followed her advice and ate at a dive called the Palace Diner in Beddeford and it was great !! This resort has great staff and including the bartender !

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMayanRental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi John:
Thanks so much for sharing your experience at The Nonantum Resort! Sarah in Heckman's is a terrific young Kindergarten Teacher who works summers and weekends with us and does a fabulous job! As you very correctly note, she is friendly, professional, appropriately chatty and a great fountain of information! (and just a really nice person!)
As far as your booking is concerned, it isn't because you paid with credit card points that you didn't get the complimentary breakfast, it is because you booked your room through someone else (maybe Expedia or Booking.com?) We have to pay a commission for those reservations so that is why we incentivize booking directly with The Nonantum by offering a free breakfast. (normally $19.95 per person) By booking directly with us we also get to speak with you about exactly what you ae looking for (we have lots of room types!)
Thanks again for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Nonantum Resort. It far exceeded expectations. Very clean and well organized. We traveled with our 4 year old daughter and it was perfect. The kids/family activities were so much fun and the staff was great. Especially Zack, he made our daughter feel so welcome! Thank you all for making our annual family vacation one to remember. We finally found a hotel worth coming back to.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank christian11832018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi Christian:
August is the perfect time to visit the Nonantum with a 4 year old! Lots of other 4 year olds to play with in the Activities Tent! Zack does an amazing job working with the little friends! He always makes sure our youngest guests have the time of their lives (happy kids=happy parents=awesome vacation!) We hope as your daughter grows this will become your families favorite vacation spot!
Our Housekeeping staff also does a remarkable job keeping The Nonantum spic and span! It isn't easy in this very busy hotel but our Housekeepers are the best of the best!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Last night my family look to the Rugosa and 95 Ocean for our family reunion. Our trip on the Rugosa was great as usual, with wonderful and knowledgeable captains! After we got off the boat we planned on eating dinner in 95 Ocean. For some reason, whoever booked our reservation from my family for 95 Ocean did it at 8pm. We got off the lobster boat at 6:45. Someone from our party went to the dining room explained that we were here but didn’t have to take us, since we were an hour early. They said not a problem, which was so nice but also kind of crazy on our part. Let me start off by saying we had a party of 20!! That is so much to deal with, especially since my family is crazy and there are so many different types of people to deal with. The menu catered to our all different types of people. Vegetarians, gluten free, and had food for the younger generation as well as the older more set in their way generation. I cannot say enough amazing things about our waitress, Chrissy. She worked her butt off in order to make sure that everyone was happy and attended to. She had to serve 20 drinks, 20 appetizers, 20 entrees, 20 desserts, answer countless questions, and fill many glasses of water basically by herself. She did not have much help from other members of the dining room staff because it was a busier night. Literally amazing. My grandfather and father always talk about how it is their pet peeve when they say “thank you” and a server responds with “no problem” because they think that it implies that there would be a problem. Chrissy’s vocabulary was perfect. Every time you would say “thank you” she responded with “you are most welcome” and every time you asked for something she responded with “absolutely”. That is service. My grandfather also through her for a loop because he created place cards with assigned seats for dinner, but then had all of the men switch seats at dessert, so that we would all be talking to different people throughout the night. Chrissy just rolled with it! I appreciated her patience, kindness, and work ethic so much. Chrissy deserves a raise, a promotion, and probably a day off after dealing with us last night!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank axtina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Chrissy absolutely is the kind of waitress every restaurant wishes they had but very few do! Everything you said is 100% true. Nothing flusters this girl and she is one of the hardest workers I have ever met! The summer season at The Nonantum can bring a new definition to the word crazy but fortunately we have a whole tribe of people who thrive on challenges and Chrissy is certainly the leader of the pack. The food in 95 Ocean features something for literally everybody as your letter illustrates! Vegetarians, gluten free, kids you name it and we have it! We have many guests who come each year who are on very individualized eating plans. They speak to our Executive Chef ahead of time and when they arrive, their favorite foods are waiting for them!
The Rugosa is just the best kind of family entertainment ever! The trip out on the water is just so relaxing as well as informative. Everyone just loves it and a boat ride followed by dinner is the perfect family evening out!
Thank you so much for sharing your terrific insights about your families special night at The Nonantum Resort. We cannot wait to see you again! And thank you again for your very accurate remarks about Chrissy! She truly is one in a million!
Gratefully,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews