We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive - and such a disappointment”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Knoxville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very expensive - and such a disappointment”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The location of the historic Nonatum Resort is lovely and the grounds are beautifully kept. The staff was very friendly. However. The reservation for one of our party was bungled and, in spite of a printed confirmation sent from the hotel, the room that had been pre-paid was not available and a lesser room was substituted. Very awkward. For $400 a night, one hopes for better! Management sent two bottles of wine to the room in apology. The rooms themselves were outdated, the bedding simply average, and the bathrooms minimal (I knocked the toilet paper holder off its hinge - a very tight fit ). The worst thing, though, was the noise level. You could hear EVERYTHING in the hall, the room above, the bathroom above, the pipes in the wall - you name it. A poor night's sleep.
This resort accommodates large parties and tour buses which makes the dining room feel pretty darn full. I would not return in spite of the great location and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tn3sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    427
    140
    44
    22
See reviews for
561
762
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Traveling with a family of 5 (3 teenagers) most hotels will require you to purchase two rooms at two rates, not an affordale way to travel! The Nonantum offered us one room with two queen beds and a roll-a-way. We were very happy to be offered this, however the staff though it would be rather tight, so they offered us two a-joining rooms with one great rate! The rooms could not have been more perfect, very comfortable, beautifully decorated, roomy and with a view! All of this plus, a great hot buffet breakfast included, free parking and wi-fi..that worked great! We travel alot and the Nonantum exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 440Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven CT
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Go back again! I must say I was a little worried since we'd never been there and didn't know anyone who had gone either. The Nonantum is smack in the middle of everything. The hotel was very charming with nice gardens and clean grounds. The staff was very accomidating to your needs. They offered a breakfast with your stay and it was a lovely buffet. Our room was in the portside lodge on the top floor. The room was very clean, a/c worked great and tub was awesome too. There are so many places to eat up there but we did eat in the hotel one night and it was delicious and portions were generous. We will definately go back with the family!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delvasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights having just come from Bar Harbor. Found experience to be less than expected and not as nice as Bar Harbor. Hotel is overpriced. Stayed in Portside Lodge in a recently renovated room - nice with hardwood floors. But room had only shades, no curtains. Nice glow shone in all night and bright as a light bulb in morning. The mattress was uncomfortable. They need to purchase new mattrresses. First night, fought with sheet to stay tucked around mattress. For $400 a night, I expected a better, more comfortage bed. Have paid far less in other hotels for a more comfortable sleep. Bathroom is small, but was clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJones48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Just wanted to write and tell everyone of the wonderful experience we had at this resort.
We stayed there with there 5 night package....which includes buffet breakfast every morning and 2 dinners, a pool lunch a trolly ride and other discount coupons. We actually have stayed there many times before but this time I felt a need to rave about the staff and place itself. Starting with the rooms which were spotless thanks to our housekeeper Corine she always had a smile on her face and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed :). We stayed at the Portside which has the best view of the river. The wait staff at the Pub , breakfast and dinner were awesome!!!
And the dinner was one of our best meals from apps to the dinner itself!!! Really great quality. The nigt we were there they had a pasta station and everything was prepared fresh in front of you. My husband enjoyed the shrimp cokcktail and the lobster cakes!
They also had entertainment playing at dinner which was Tony and his band...very enjoyable indeed!!! Honestly, we couldn't find 1 thing wrong and we also had a week with great weather to boot!!!! Thanks again, Nonantum for a great time see ya next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This was a nice enough hotel/inn (not really a resort), rooms very clean and decent sized if a little old fashioned, breakfast decent, staff friendly though overall it was a bit expensive. 15 minute walk into Kennebunkport for nice shops and a couple of restaurants (nothing near hotel). Nice 20 minute walk to Walkers Point. Weather not good so didn't use small pool by river but looked nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Nontantum during the last half of June and had an awesome experience. We were booked on the third floor of the portside building with an awesome view of the river. The staff always had a smile on their face and was very helpful. We also met the General Manager Tina and the Innkeeper. We were very impressed by how accessible not only the staff was, but also the management. For those who complained in previous post I have little sympathy for you knowing how easily any "real" issues could have been remedied considering how much contact we had with senior staff. My wife and I took the kayaks out, they ask that you stay on the river for your safety, which is fine considering there is more than enough to see on the river, and I truly believe venturing out to the ocean would pose a hazard to oneself. That was not our only aquatic adventure we went out on the Pineapple Ketch with Captain John Martin. The Pineapple ketch is an extremely charming sailboat that is docked at the Nonantum. The crew was friendly, informative, and very accommodating when my wife became seasick. Last, but certainly not least we ate at the Nonantum restaurant 95 Ocean. The food was some of the best food we have had during our many trips to New England. We had a Shrimp Cocktail with huge shrimp and tangy cocktail sauce, and the sweet and smoky topaz for appetizers. I had the Lobster Cakes which had plentiful amounts of fresh lobster meat, perfect texture, and a hint of lemon. My wife had the Haddock and ate it all, which is a good sign considering she is one of the pickiest eaters I have ever met. We finished it off with a three layer cheesecake. As I mentioned earlier we met the GM and Innkeeper, I should also mention that the Executive Chef was running the dining room floor that night and came over to our table and helped us pick our meals. I have been to 100's of restaurants from Florida to L.A, but never have had such an awesome experience. I don't want to sound like am gushing, but I really feel it's necessary to shed some light on this hotel given some of the negative comments I just read, by the way both buildings have an elevator from what we could tell. We will certainly be back next year. Our only complaint: the rain, my god the weather in Maine sometimes. A piece of local culture if you like an amazing Maine treat grab a whoopie pie at a local store, they're high calorie, but well worth it. Also the best deal on lobster rolls is port lobster, don't be fooled by all the signs for award winning lobster rolls, a lobster roll is just lobster, mayo, and a roll so save yourself some money, because KBP can be expensive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepinitreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing