We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY POOR EXPERIENCE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY POOR EXPERIENCE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights (Thurs and Fri in late June) and we almost booked a different hotel for night two because night one was so unpleasant. Well, we didn't, and night 2 was the WORST. First let me say the good things:
1. Location for Kennebunport was good. Near a river, good views.
2. Rooms were decent sized, lobby was nice

Now the bad:
1. Run down stair wells were scary...no elevator
2. Room had white curtains with no shades. The whole night had glowing in the room because one window faced the parking lot lights. We had to try and hang towels and tee shirts to stop light from coming into the room
3. A/C was broken and very loud. Had to turn it off and ended up sweating.
4. Restaurant was WAY overpriced for the 'quality'
5. Swimming pool was the size of a hottub

Not worth more than $100 a night MAX

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Secret47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Innkeeper at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
I am curious as to where this guest was staying! Both of our buildings have an elevator, and all of our rooms have shades as well as curtains.
I have checked our maintainence log for the dates this guest was in house and have no complaints of a broken air conditioner. Had we been made aware of the situation, we certainly would have taken action!
Our dining room was awarded the coveted "Platnium Plate" award from TV diner so while our chef's food was not to this individuals taste, apparently not everyone agrees!
As is always the case at The Nonantum, (as well as most other hotels) if a guest is unhappy and lets someone know about it, we will do everything in our power to help insure the guests needs are met!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    411
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
510
708
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mississauga on
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Beautiful resort with well decorated rooms, beautiful gardens. Fabulous breakfast buffet included with accommodation. Also serve dinner in dining room. Staff is very accommodating. Good family place - has a nice pool. Area has lovely homes, quaint shopping area.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ljbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early June while attending a wedding that was held there. The ariel picture makes it look fantastic but the story is a bit different on the ground. The hotel almost feels like an old lady hotel. Flower print everywhere, old fashioned cook stove in the corner of the room?, hanging baskets of flowers outside, awful wall paper. Room was a nice size but I felt uncomfortable like I was sleeping at my grandma's house (funny smell and all). When we arrived, there was some sort of class reunion going on and we had to park in the grass/mud, in the rain. What does $300 a night get you these days? Where's the guy that opens the door? Nope -- there isn't one. Hotel in the middle of nowhere -- couldn't even get into the 'downtown' Pharmacy at 5:00 on a Saturday -- closed! We had to drive 20 minutes to Wal-Mart. Wedding was nice but I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you are 80.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank puthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I stumbled upon this place when we were done driving for the night on a road trip. The price was way less than we thought it should be. The hotel was great. It was so comfortable and clean. Our room had a balcony. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JAVJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at the Nonantum for 3 nights for a family wedding. The location is great, within walking distance of Dock Square, where there are tons of restaurants and shops. Our room in the Portside Lodge was large and nicely decorated, and had a small balcony with a view of the river. My one gripe about the room is that the bathroom is VERY small and has a shower with very very low water pressure. Other than that, the room was fine. A nice breakfast is included, and is served buffet style. There are some aspects of the hotel that are a little worn around the edges but everything is very clean.

Everyone on staff was extremely pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. Check in and check out were very quick, and the people at the front desk gave great restaurant recommendations.

It's a wonderful place to stay if you're there for a wedding. The staff is very accommodating to the wedding guests. But I can see how if you're not there for a wedding, having a whole bunch of people who know each other staying in one place could be annoying. The hotel does enforce quiet hours from 11 pm to 7 am, but I can tell you that they definitely cut the wedding party some slack in that department.

All in all, I would definitely come back to the Nonantum for a family get together. We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NY12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed here as part of an excellent Caravan New England tour and this was a great disappointment rather than a highlight to end the tour on. Looking at the back of my bedroom door I saw that the room rate is $499. Rather than pay that, just shoot yourself - it will be less painful. Two words for this place - Pretentious Dump.

Never, ever come here on a Saturday. The place runs exclusively for wedding parties and your presence will go either unnoticed or be regarded as a nuisance by the hotel. Service is very hard to come by. For instance, our bedrooms were in a block about 100 yards from the main hotel where we needed to go for our dinner and it was pelting with rain. In this circumstance most hotels, good or bad, would have a bunch of golf unbrellas near the doors for their guests use. Not this place. I had to phone up reception twice and after some time a lady was dispatched to fetch us with a tiny and partially collapsed handbag brolly. Big enough to ferry the three of us in comfort? Hardly.

Pretty much everything was a disaster. You'd think they know how to serve lobster in Maine, right? Ours were just plonked on a plate and when wrenching them open about a pint of water poured out. And that wasn't just ours, there were about 30 of us there with dishes awash. I've had plenty of lobster and crab before but never seen anything like this. The pudding was dreadful too, just a mess thrown into dishes with no consideration at all. And this place thinks its something special? Breakfast was horrendous. Great long lines of people waiting out in reception to queue for everything. No cereal other than something unpleasant resembling hampster food chucked in a large unhygenic open dish. Then a 10 minute wait for bowls after which they bought precisely three! Then I found out there were no cereal spoons anyway. What a crummy dump.

Possibly you might get better treatment if you are not with a tour group but surely whatever rate is paid you should still be treated properly and with respect. This pompous, overrated place is only interested in easy money and seemed to regard us with barely disguised contempt. A bad memory of an otherwise wonderful tour.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

Though a bit worn in places, the resort did not fail to charm me with a beautifully decorated 2-bedroom suite with great views overlooking the bay. Bathroom was smallish and breakfast a hit-and-miss affair, but the location and tranquility of the place more than made up for that.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing