We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were very twee! Slightly dated hotel. Backs into the river which is nice. About a 5-10 minute walk into town which isn't too bad. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sssl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello!
It is lovely to hear you had such a nice visit at The Nonantum! Our beautiful location right on the waterfront as well as our easy walk to town is always a favorite with our guests. There really are not any other resorts in Maine that boast a less than one mile walk to town as well as our own marina. It makes for the perfect place for R & R.
Please come and see us again soon! The cool days of autumn will be here before you know it and the changing leaves are a miracle to behold.
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    411
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
510
708
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

It was our first extended trip in 40 years. We loved every moment at Nonantum, from the tour by the wonderful ladies, Kim and Cheryl through all the flower and herb beds on the site, to the lovely breakfast each morning. The great tour tips from the helpful staff, to the remarkable chef specials each night. The room was clean, and always made very quickly each day. It was four day of complete serenity. Should I return to Kennebunkport I will definitely return to the Nonantum Resort. It truly deserves all the stars, they have earned each and every one. Thanks for a great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, then you can sit on your porch and watch the boats come into the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Dona:
We feel so very honored that after 40 years you chose to spend your vacation with us! Thank you very much!
Cheryl and Kim are two very popular ladies. They love to show off their many gardens (including the huge herb garden our kitchen uses every night)
Our $20.14 Chef's Specials are a huge hit. I mean seriously, a Shore Dinner on Sunday night for $20.14? How can you beat that?
Please do not wait another 40 years to come back!
Cordially,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a lovely one night stay at Nonantum on our way up the Maine coast. Our boys loved the activities &, especially, s'mores on the back lawn. Rocking on the front porch was a great way to relax after a fun-filled day. We had a suite with 2 rooms which was nicely decorated & appeared recently renovated. The complimentary breakfast was extensive with lots of local specialties. Great for our family of four! We would definitely stay at Nonantum!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smaggitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Smaggitti:
Too bad you could only stay for one day! I am sure your kiddos would have enjoyed the movies under the stars, crabbing, rodeo night and a host of other fun things that wild and crazy group in Activities has thought up!
Many parents tell us having their kids have such a great time makes it a true vacation for everyone. Often kids are carried to the car in tears when it is time to say good bye to their new friends! I am always thrilled to hear folks who were complete strangers a few days earlier making plans for next years vacation together as their kids had so much fun together.
The other thing parents really appreciate is Pirates and Princess Night and Rodeo Night. On those special nights kids have dinner and fun with our Activities Gang and Mom and Dad get a night to themselves! (Woohoo!)
Hope to see you again soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I had a great time at Nonantum. The people were friendly, food was great, room was clean with a great relaxing view. About a 3/4 mile to downtown. Not a bad walk. Breakfast was included and very good. The pool was a little small. The activities at the resort were very good as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Scott:
We are delighted to hear you and your wife had such a nice time at The Nonantum! As you said "The people were friendly, food was great, room was clean with a great relaxing view". What is not to like?
Bridgeport is not very far away so I hope you can come back soon and enjoy a yummy breakfast (included for free if you book directly with the hotel!) This morning there were some blueberry pancakes that were amazing! You need to come back and try them!
Happy Summer,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We usually travel south for vacations, but decided to try something new for our 25th wedding anniversary and stumbled upon Nonantum Resort. Wow, am I glad we did! It was really the perfect trip. Beautiful grounds and water views. I loved that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go - beach, sight seeing, shopping. The Nonantum staff was wonderful. When we arrived, there was an anniversary card and box of chocolates in our room! Yes, it is a little older and you can occassionally hear other guests, but honestly, that was part of the charm for me. My only complaint is that we were on the second floor and the third floor air conditioner is located on the roof of the second floor balcony. The weather was beautiful, so we enjoyed sleeping with our door open, until the person above turned on the air conditioner. Even with this one small annoyance, we would return in a heartbeat! Looking forward to returning for our 30th!

Room Tip: Portside Lodge has water views. First floor has walk out patio, second floor has balcony, third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Tracy:
Why wait until your 30th Anniversary? Many folks visit us each year and you should too! We love our Anniversary couples! What could be more romantic than beautiful waterview rooms, great dining options, (both here at the hotel as well as in the area), invigorating beach walks, and lazy afternoons watching the boat traffic go by?
Thanks for taking the time to write!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you are looking for a place that strives to be the best this is it! The Nonantum just hosted our son's wedding and did it to perfection. Our family and friends are still raving. Dawn is the wedding coordinator from heaven....she never missed a beat. Chef Steve True is amazing..it's no wonder he is chef of the year!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevisobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Portlander!
It is great to hear your sons wedding was exactly the way you dreamed it would be! We absolutely do our darnest every day to be the best we can be!
Dawn Blystone is an amazing woman who has working here for 25 years. (clearly she started in elementary school) She is the one who oversees events and with Dawn at the helm, you need never worry how things will turn out!
Chef Steve True is, as you correctly point out, the Maine Restaurant Chef of the Year. Steve has been here over 10 years and has worked hard to turn our restaurant in to the one locals clamor to. His food and menu planning are top shelf and he just happens to be a really great guy too!
I hope you will come down and enjoy dinner in our dining room. Portland is not far away at all!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Perfect location for walking to town. Family friendly, helpful staff, nice gift shop, great concierge,awesome front porch and beautiful backyard on the water. Wedding setup absolutely beautiful and delicious food! Highly recommend and hope we can return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello SMDMK:
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much!
I do not think I could have said it better myself! We really are fortunate to have such an awesome location in a very beautiful place. If I were looking for a vacation spot this would certainly be tops on my list!
Please come back and see us again! Every season here is beautiful so you may want to consider a different one!
Thanks again for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing