We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary getaway!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We usually travel south for vacations, but decided to try something new for our 25th wedding anniversary and stumbled upon Nonantum Resort. Wow, am I glad we did! It was really the perfect trip. Beautiful grounds and water views. I loved that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go - beach, sight seeing, shopping. The Nonantum staff was wonderful. When we arrived, there was an anniversary card and box of chocolates in our room! Yes, it is a little older and you can occassionally hear other guests, but honestly, that was part of the charm for me. My only complaint is that we were on the second floor and the third floor air conditioner is located on the roof of the second floor balcony. The weather was beautiful, so we enjoyed sleeping with our door open, until the person above turned on the air conditioner. Even with this one small annoyance, we would return in a heartbeat! Looking forward to returning for our 30th!

Room Tip: Portside Lodge has water views. First floor has walk out patio, second floor has balcony, third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Tracy:
Why wait until your 30th Anniversary? Many folks visit us each year and you should too! We love our Anniversary couples! What could be more romantic than beautiful waterview rooms, great dining options, (both here at the hotel as well as in the area), invigorating beach walks, and lazy afternoons watching the boat traffic go by?
Thanks for taking the time to write!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    411
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
510
708
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you are looking for a place that strives to be the best this is it! The Nonantum just hosted our son's wedding and did it to perfection. Our family and friends are still raving. Dawn is the wedding coordinator from heaven....she never missed a beat. Chef Steve True is amazing..it's no wonder he is chef of the year!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevisobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Portlander!
It is great to hear your sons wedding was exactly the way you dreamed it would be! We absolutely do our darnest every day to be the best we can be!
Dawn Blystone is an amazing woman who has working here for 25 years. (clearly she started in elementary school) She is the one who oversees events and with Dawn at the helm, you need never worry how things will turn out!
Chef Steve True is, as you correctly point out, the Maine Restaurant Chef of the Year. Steve has been here over 10 years and has worked hard to turn our restaurant in to the one locals clamor to. His food and menu planning are top shelf and he just happens to be a really great guy too!
I hope you will come down and enjoy dinner in our dining room. Portland is not far away at all!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Perfect location for walking to town. Family friendly, helpful staff, nice gift shop, great concierge,awesome front porch and beautiful backyard on the water. Wedding setup absolutely beautiful and delicious food! Highly recommend and hope we can return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello SMDMK:
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much!
I do not think I could have said it better myself! We really are fortunate to have such an awesome location in a very beautiful place. If I were looking for a vacation spot this would certainly be tops on my list!
Please come back and see us again! Every season here is beautiful so you may want to consider a different one!
Thanks again for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel for the past two years.The staff is friendly and helpful. Room is very clean and quiet. Bed was extremely comfortable. Spent many hours sitting down by the river just relaxing and watching the world go by. Love the short walk into town and the incrediable Lobster roll at the Clam Shack.Only complaint is that we could not stay longer.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj33373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Ottawa Friend:
I love your beautiful hometown! We brought our children there and they really enjoyed the changing of the guard. So exotic!
We will look forward to your return visit. I just was out walking along the waterfront chatting with some of our guests and like you, they all were really enjoying watching the boats and breathing the fresh Maine air! It is an absolutely picture perfect day!
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with future guests!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were there for an overnight stay and a wedding. A nice hotel... grand old lobby and a very small elevator. The elevator is run by an attendant and has room for 2 quests and their luggage.
We were on the third floor of the main building and did not have any problem getting the elevator . For our stay we were given a complementary buffet breakfast which was very nice.

The Nonantum is about a 15 min walk to the center of Kennebunkport. There is a 'trolley'.. a small bus, which runs past the hotel and you can ride it throughout the down- town area and to various stops. The trolley is $5... and believe me, you do not want to try and drive and park in the down town area it it very very congested.

Room Tip: There are two buildings.... the building away from the lobby and restaurant is a bit quieter. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophr t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Christopher:
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a nice time at a wedding at The Nonantum! Our old fashioned elevator in the Carriage Inn is quite the talk of the hotel. It is the original Otis and many of our visitors (little children as well as umm larger children!) get a kick out of learning how to operate the elevator. In fact we have tentative plans to add a modern elevator this winter and many of our guests are most unhappy about this plan! They prefer the opportunity to chat for a few moments with one of our charming employees as they head back to their rooms after a busy day or on their way out to pick up a few local tips as to where to go and what to do.
I hope you can come back and see us again soon! New Hampshire is just a hop, skip and a jump away!
Cordially,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very good, except no firepit for kids, wedding party had them roped off, they should hav had another one for rest of resort guests, no excuse, they had a number of attendants standing around doing nothing, go get another fire pit at lowes for $20.
Rookie mistake, otherwise good location , charming rooms, moderate walk to town

Room Tip: try for 3rd floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Jeff:
Gosh. I sure was surprised to see this write up on Trip Advisor. My response to your e-mail, (identical to this post) explained to you that the reason there were no Fire Pits available the night you were there was that it was July 5th, and as there had been serious rainstorms on the 4th, the town had rescheduled the fireworks to the 5th. As I clearly stated to you, we are unable to have fire pits for all when there are fireworks as it is a safety issue. There are simply too many people outside, and many children running around (as they should be!) to safely have guests wandering around with lighted marshmallow sticks. The wedding group that you saw was the July 4th bride who had been terribly disappointed on the 4th when it rained buckets, so we rescheduled her fire pit to the 5th. It was roped off as a safety precaution.
The week of the 4th we did have fire pits for all of our guests 5 of the 7 nights, and the other 2 nights we had movies on the lawn under the stars. (another guest favorite).
I hope that this response clarifies any confusion you had to my initial response to this letter.
Most Sincerely Yours,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My kids and I have been coming to the Nonantum every summer for a number of years. We just love it! We stay in the Portside Lodge with lovely views of the river . The staff, from front desk to housekeeping, is terrific and the breakfasts are tasty!
You can walk to town and to the little beach just down Ocean Ave.It is so relaxing to lounge by the pool and enjoy lunch and a beverage from Latitudes. Or stroll the grounds and admire the lovely gardens. There are many excellent restaurants nearby and the calm and peaceful Goose Rocks Beach is a short ride away. We just returned from our annual visit and are already looking fwd to returning next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Boston Friend:
Thank you so much for making The Nonantum Resort part of your annual travel plan! We have many guests like you and it is a lot of fun for the staff to see people year after year. My daughter is 19 and has tagged along to work with me since she was very young. Now that she has been at the Front Desk working for a few years it is heart warming to see how many of the guests are looking for her and inquiring as to how her year at school went.
We will look forward to seeing you and yours on your next visit!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing