We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wommelgem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just perfect”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

during a route trip along the East cost of the US we wanted to have day of peace between the big cities (washington, new york, boston, ...), Kennebunckport was perfect for this
moreover he Nonantum resort was highly luxereous
nice menu in the restaurant
friendly staff (even when our kredit card did not work and we had to go get cash money in town)
really nice, clean and large rooms
low price for what yo get, especially when comparing to the big cities!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katia_dimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Katia:
We feel so very special that you would come and see us all the way from Belgium! Many travelers find The Nonantum Resort the perfect respite from an East Coast big city tour! Boston, New York and Philadelphia are amazing places to visit but when you are big citied out, head to the cool breezes of Kennebunkport! We will guarantee a step back in time when staff genuinely care about you and your family and we will do our very best to insure that whatever you are looking for, we find it!
Thanks so much for allowing us to share our very special corner of the world with you!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    427
    140
    44
    22
See reviews for
561
762
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was an excellent hotel stay, the staff was incredible and the overall experience was wonderful. Lots of bellhops were always available and everyone was super friendly. Our bill had a mistake when we went to check out, but they fixed it right away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Elyssa!
I am so happy to hear of your excellent experience at The Nonantum! We pride ourselves on our accommodating staff. Each and every day I am astounded by the lengths our employees go to to insure our guests have the vacation of their dreams! No request is too big or small!
At the beginning of the season nearly all of our staff went to a Disney Training session. At that time we learned that much of what we were already doing just by virtue of being nice people is considered over-the-top service. We encourage our staff members to ask themselves how they would want to be treated if they were the guest and at that point the answer of how to handle the situation is very easy!
Please come back and see us again soon! Thanks for writing!
Cordially,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I only stayed one night. However, I am sure we will be back to enjoy the relaxing view, friendly staff and comfortable room in the future for several days.

The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend paying a bit extra for the water view with a balcony. It was wonderful to have your morning cup of coffee on the balcony overlooking the water.
The breakfast buffet was very good and had a nice selection.
The grounds are very pleasant to take a stroll.
It is a short drive to downtown but far enough to provide a nice escape.

A very nice Maine experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
HI Ed:
We will look forward to your return trip! Hopefully you will be able to stay a lot longer than 1 day! There are just so many things to do and see in Kennebunkport - or if you want to just relax in the sunshine and watch the boats go by that is fine too!
It is hard to beat starting your day with a coffee on your own balcony with a beautiful water view. Lots of pretty birds to gaze at as well!
Thank you so much for your very nice remarks about our staff. I could not agree more! They are absolutely the best!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

When ever you travel it's always a gamble booking a hotel. We couldn't have been happier with this resort. It's location gives you all of the charm you are looking for in Kennebunkport. Close enough to all of the sights, yet you still have the beauty of the Maine coast nearby. The staff is beyond friendly, and rooms were very nice. My children said the complementary breakfast was one of the best they ever had on vacation. Our waiter Toby was amazing and so accommodating to my children. This trip was one for the family to remember, and a fantastic stay at the Nonantum played a big part.

Room Tip: Loved the portside lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Tasha:
Thanks for coming to visit us from Ohio! Interestingly enough we have had a fair number of visitors from your beautiful state!
Isn't Tobey the best? He is a super hard worker and loves the Nonantum! Tobey started a few years ago in Activities (most of our youngest workers start in Activities, Gardening or as a Bellman) and this year has graduated to the dining room. Many of our student workers will stay 6 or 8 seasons and as the years go by they move to positions such as Front Desk or Dining Room. And some just never leave! Our Director of Maintenance Bill Martineau started as a 15 year old bellman (before he could drive!) Today he is a married father of two and a department head in charge of physical plant (a huge responsibility!)
We hope to see you here again soon!
Cordially,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you're considering visiting Southern Maine and the Kennebunkport area, you should check out the Nonantum. We have stayed there many times over the years and believe it has the righth combination of Maine authenticity with the features we've all come to expect when traveling.
The staff is wonderful and the rooms are bright and cheery. What's more, it's located just a short distance from downtown and a local beach. You can take boat tours from a launch right behind the hotel as well.

Room Tip: There is the original hotel and a newer building. We like staying in the older part of the hotel, mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeank100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Jean
Thank you for the lovely compliment "the right combination of Maine authenticity with the features we've all come to expect when traveling". At The Nonantum we have tried very hard to adhere to traditions that our guests treasure, yet meet the needs of our savvy travelers. Always a difficult balance but one that we continually strive towards.
I always find it interesting that some folks only would stay in our traditional New England Inn building (The Carriage Inn) while others swear by the more contemporary Portside building. The good news is that when you stay here you can choose what works best for you!
Thanks so much for sharing your views. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The resort was nice, but the room was extremely small. Realizing this is Kennebuckport but I felt it was a bit pricey. We were given, at an increases room rate, a scenic view of the river, not worth the extra rate. It is very clean, the staff extremely friendly just did not feel room was worth the cost

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Cliff:
I am so sorry you were disappointed by our pricing. Kennebunkport in the summertime is expensive! I am sure if you check around you will find other water view resorts all command the type of pricing you experienced.
On the positive side of the ledger, you noted that the hotel is very clean and the staff extremely friendly. Perhaps a visit during our shoulder seasons (May and November) would be in order? Same great service and location but significantly reduced room rates. Sounds like a win/win!
Hope to see you then!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Nonantum stands at the perfect distance from major destination points. It is halfway the distance from downtown Kennebunkport to the sea, offering a balance between the two in terms of walking distance. The property is splendid and offers picturesque views of the Kennebunk River. Take advantage of the hotel-dedicated sailboat (the Pineapple Ketch) and its skipper - the trip is 2 hours and the cost is well worth the trip! The hotel even has a small lighthouse on its property. All in all, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Lawrence:
The Pineapple Ketch is a super relaxing way to spend an afternoon. The Skipper has wonderful stories and the views from the water are much different than they are from the street. During your next visit you may want to try out the Rugosa, a lobster boat that leaves from our Marina or the Libreti, a fishing boat that also is accessed from our lawn.
Thanks so much for writing and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best Wishes,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing