We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just down the street from "George and Babs"”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had no idea that the Nonamtum was so close to the home of President George H.W. Bush and Mrs. Bush. We rented bikes at the hotel and took the beautiful ride down the street to see their home. I really recommend doing that. We rode by the beach and the cute little church the Bushs attend when in town. You could even ride bikes into Kennebunkport to shop. Everything is so close. Then we enjoyed sitting behind the hotel in their adirondack chairs and watched the sunset and the boats on the water.

Rooms were clean, well maintained and cute. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Great breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: We were on a girls trip so we chose a room with two double beds. It was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi Liz:
Even though I work all week at The Nonantum, I love to have my girlfriends come and stay here! There is so much to see here right down the street! As you mentioned, the Bushes home on Walker Point is just down the street and many of our guests are amazed they can walk or bike ride down there and see their beautiful home and amazing view! We also love the unique and quant little shops that are just a short stroll down beautiful Ocean Avenue!
I have an Adirondack with your name on it and lately the sunsets have been outstanding! Hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed overnight in a very nice large two bedded room overlooking the water. The location was ideal for seeing and experiencing the small town and the beach. I really enjoyed watching the changing light over the water in the evening and early morning. The room was clean and in good condition and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. One of our group was upgraded to a room in the building adjacent to the hotel lobby, with a view of the water - outside of her room was a meeting place for guests at a wedding in the resort - however they were considerate and did not congregate after 11:00p.m. From booking to checking out and especially in the breakfast room all of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hello Moferry!
You know I like to take pictures and the light here 365 days of the year fascinates me! The sun rises and sun sets are absolutely remarkable! The perfect spot for photographers!
Thank you for bringing up our quiet hours (10:30pm -7:30am) We require all of our guests to keep noise to the minimum during quiet hours as many of our guests come here to catch up on their rest. If you are looking for a place where you can party all night, this is not the place for you! One thing we offer weddings is the opportunity to use the trolley to go downtown at 10:30 pm if they want the merriment to continue. This plan has worked out beautifully for all.
Thanks for writing! Hope to see you again soon!
Cordially,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently celebrated the wedding of our daughter at Nonantum. Everything was perfect from the minute we checked into the resort. The entire staff was professional, courteous and very helpful. Dawn, our wedding coordinator, was fabulous throughout the planning process; she was so amazing that she even arranged for perfect weather on the wedding day!!!
The rooms were comfortable and clean, the Portside Lodge had beautiful views of the water, and the food was absolutely delicious (breakfast was a treat and the wedding reception dinner was outstanding).
We would love to return for another stay. We highly recommend the resort for any special occasion or a place to go to just relax.
Thank you all at Nonantum for wonderful memories that will last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Our room at the Portside Lodge had a balcony that offered a quiet and relaxing view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaAki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hello There Tampa Friends:
Nothing makes me happier than hearing we hit a home run with your daughters wedding! Dawn is a phenomenal wedding planner and the fact that she can order up perfect weather continues to amaze all of us! :-) Dawn is always calm and in control and brides and their families send us rave reviews. She makes it so you can relax and enjoy your big day - everything you want in a wedding planner!
Please come back and see us again soon! We love seeing our past brides and hearing about how their lives have unfolded. It is such an honor to be part of making memories for families.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to be of service,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I'm not sure what was more outstanding, the view or the staff! Everyone from the grounds keepers, the restaurant staff and front desk personnel couldn't be more accommodating and friendly. I will definitely stay at Nonantum in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi Dan:
I have to agree with you! The groundskeepers, the restaurant servers and the front desk personnel could not be more gracious! It is such a pleasure to come to work each day and know that I will be greeted by co workers who love their jobs and are outstanding at what they do!
We will look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks for writing!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed in a port side King room on the ground floor with a great view of the harbor. I was staying one night for a conference the next morning. I had a late check in which the staff was great at accommodating. The room was fantastic. I couldn't have been happier. I then found out someone I went to High School with was a couple rooms away. I figured this was great. Her and a few from her party came over. We all went out to the harbor where there were seats that faced the water. People were talking, drinking, having a smoke, laughing. What a great experience right? Sure it was great until a week later. When I saw my credit card charged an extra $100 for "smoking in the room". Confused I called the resort to inquire how they came to the conclusion that I or anyone else had smoke in the room. The first person I talked to whom I assume was working the front desk told me "The housekeepers alert us if they smell smoke in the room. Everything has to be taken down and washed so their is no leftover odor". As a non smoker I appreciated these efforts so rooms do not smell like smoke but i questioned there method for determining if a room had been smoked in. It seemed subjective to me. the reply I got was "The room was smoked in. The housekeeper found a pack of cigarettes in the trash can, And the smell probably came from someone smoking outside with the glass door open. You were charged the extra $100 because we had to take the room out of service for one night to clean it properly". Confused how someone smoking outside could constitute smoking in the room and an empty pack of cigarettes in the trash was clear evidence of smoking in the room I asked to speak to the manager. The customer service manager was even worse. Not quite but almost calling me a liar. I explained I was a non smoker and valued their efforts to keep the rooms pleasant and was met with pretty cold and borderline hostile attitude when I tried to state that the other guests had used my bathroom as it was the closest. So, I asked to speak to the Hotel manager. Now here comes a different story..... The hotel manager was nice. Respectful and overall pleasant. Informs me that the room DID NOT have to be taken out of service for a night to be cleaned. Wait, what... the previous people told me it was and that's why I was charged. She stated that she wanted to find a solution to the situation which was nice. She even asked what I felt was a fair outcome. Sadly as I was traveling at the time my Cell phone cut out from poor service and I had no service for over an hour. I attempted to call back when I got home but seemed to be on hold for awhile. I then figures "hey the hotel manager said she wanted to find a fair outcome" if will surely see at least a partial refund of the $100 I was charged for that room. Nope. They never refunded me never tried to contact me even though I was obviously not pleased with my experience. So here I am out $274 ($174 for the room $100 for "cleanup") and I was there for 12 hours off season on a weekday. My chief complaint is their method of determining if a room was smoked in. Some cases are cut and dry I am sure. But, to leave it up to the housekeepers who could very well get acknowledgement or even a bonus for the number of rooms they can get extra out of during the off season. Seems a bit shady to me. If you are going to stay here (the rooms and area are very nice) and someone in your party smokes have them wear a change of cloths when they smoke that never enter the room. Make sure they walk 500 paces from your sliding door before lighting up. Have them wash up at the Mobil store down the street before even setting foot back in the room. As a non smoker I can assure you no one smoked in the room and no one smoked withing 25 feet of the sliding glass door. Shame that the last 5% of this entire transaction ruined the entire experience. I would not recommend this Resort to anyone ever! at all! and do not go anywhere near any place that people are smoking. The transfer smell to you cloths which then enter the room that these bloodhound housekeepers enter the next day will surely set off the $$$$ in their heads and your card will get charged.

Room Tip: Port side rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Patrick:
First of all let me start by saying how very sorry I am that you were not treated in a way that you believe to be fair and equitable. I know that General Manager Tina Hewett-Gordon joins me in living the creed that our customers come first and we never want anyone to leave feeling they were treated in a shoddy fashion!
This is a no smoking property. When people check in, they initial that they understand this. The reason for this is that many people (myself included) are severely allergic to smoke. My guess is that maybe your friends were smoking near the patio door and smoke blew in, permeating the soft goods (carpets, curtains, bedspreads)
You may be thinking that this level of smoke would not be important. However, please understand that many of our guests are very intolerant of smoke smell. They come here, in large part because they know they will never have to worry about smoke in their room. I totally understand where they are coming from. My children have a friend whose parents smoke. When I pull in to the garage, before I even go in the house, I can smell the smoke that is on his jacket in my kitchen!
I know that our General Manger Tina Hewett-Gordon spoke with you at length about all this. She said you were driving through the mountains so your cell service kept getting interrupted. The last question she asked you was what you thought was a fair solution and then the line went dead. She called you back three times and you never returned her call.
If you feel you were treated inappropriately in any way please feel free to call Tina or me and we will work something out with you. 1-800-552-5651.
Again, my apologies that you are uncomfortable with our smoking policies. I hope that this explanation has helped you to understand why we must adhere to this policy.
Most Sincerely Yours,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our room was quiet had a great view. Carpets, beds, linens and furnishings were all of a good standard, I think they had all been recently updated. Breakfast was varied and generous. We were able to walk to the beach in one direction and the town in the other. All in all, an excellent option for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi Suzanne:
I am delighted that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay. Don't you wish that all vacations were pleasant and relaxing?
Many of our guests comment on how lovely it is to be in a spot where you can walk a short distance in one direction and be at the beach and go the other direction and be downtown with all the pretty shops, wonderful restaurants and trendy bars.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We loved our room in the carriage house, it had a place we could walk out and sit on the porch and enjoy the sunshine. Easy walk to town and restaurants. The food was amazing, lobster eggs benedict in the morning! Yum!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

HI Janice:
Wouldn't it be nice if everyday could start with Lobster Benedict? (of course we would have to figure out a way to make it calorie free!)
There really is nothing like sitting in the sunshine in Maine in June. It makes all of us remember why we live here all winter! Lucky you - to live in Florida and take a summer vacation to Maine - life doesn't get much better than that!
Please come see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $147 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing