We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good things and some nearly good things” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some good things and some nearly good things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nonantum resort is in a quiet location within walking distance of Kennebunkport.

Staff are very friendly and seem to have time for everyone. The place has a very relaxed feeling about it.

The building is slightly quirky. For instance the elevator was manufactured in the 1930s I understand and can only be operated by a member of staff.

The rooms are clean and comfortable although the beds were narrow (and we are slim people before you ask!!!)

The bathroom was big enough but was extremely dated. The shower bath was a single moulded plastic unit which was creaky & noisy.

We had breakfast in the hotel and this was excellent. There was plenty of variety and plenty to eat. No need for lunch after that breakfast.

All in all it was a reasonable stay although some updating is required really.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hello UK Visitor!
Thank you so much for your very nice review! It is wonderful that you had such a nice visit with us!
It is hard for me to tell exactly which room you were in but I want you to know that we are updating several rooms in the Inn this winter and when we are done all of the rooms and bathrooms in the Inn will have had a facelift in the past few years. I think you will love the results!
The most important thing to me is that you said that our staff was very friendly and had time for you. In my opinion your physical plant can be top shelf, but if the staff cannot perform at the same level, no room amenity can compare to a wonderful staff. We are fortunate, because we have both!
I hope you can come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    411
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
510
708
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Nonantum resort for a weekend in November 2013. It's a lovey place to stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Our room had a nice view of the cove. Our breakfast was included an it was excellent. It was my husband's birthday and they left a small box of chocolates for him in our room.
It is about 3/4 of a mile from the downtown area. We walked down several times. Even in November it was a very nice walk. The area if full of unique and quaint shop, fun to browse in.
We had dinner at the Hurricane Restaurant and it was fantastic. Great apple pie dessert!!
It's very quite while we were there and that was the whole idea.
I would recommend this hotel restaurant and area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIFEISGOODFORUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Life Is Good Friend:
Life really is good in Kennebunkport at The Nonantum, isn't it? November is actually our quietest month and many, like you, come in November specifically because of this fact! As you said, walking to town (and maybe getting a head start on your Christmas shopping) is lovely in November. The beaches are deserted, and as always beautiful so beach walking is another fantastic November activity!
Thanks for your very kind remarks! We look forward to seeing you at The Nonantum again soon! (hot tip - May is also a quiet time with great deals to be had!)
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My guest room was a river view room located in the building next to the inn. The building and guest rooms reminded me of an upscale motel. First impression of room: the decor; the drapes and bed spread consisted of a palm tree motif. And this is Maine! How about a moose, duck or pine tree motif. The bathroom was terrible. It looked like a bathroom in an outdated Holiday Inn with a tiny sink. I had to step to one side in order to open the bathroom door from the inside, otherwise the door would hit me. The water pressure was good in the shower. The best feature in the room was the propane heated cast iron stove. However, when I flicked the switch, it didn't work. We called for maintenance and the man came out almost right away and corrected it. The room location was nice since it was on the river. I walked out the sliding lass door and sat on the Adirondack chairs situated riverside and read a book.

The Dahlia flower garden on the property is very pretty. The pool is nice...not too big, and a bit on the small side but nice. The dinner in the main dining room was very good, nice ambiance and live music. Breakfast was also served in main dining room and good. No complaints. Would I stay at Nonantum again? Only if the price was appropriate for the guest room. The hotelndoes have a great location....so maybe it's all about location, location, location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the guest room that is decorated by the local Kennebunk school. It's pretty neat a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueReview10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Greenwich Visitor:
Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts about your visit to The Nonantum! I am delighted to hear you loved our location, our grounds, food, entertainment and Green Room project! We feel so grateful every day to look out at the beautiful scenery. The views just never grow old!
Please come back and see us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our trip around New England. The resort is set in some lovely grounds and is in a great location for exploring Kennebunkport. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and a great start to the day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi Katrina:
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your trip to The Nonantum! It sounds like you had a wonderful time! I am so delighted to hear this!
Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This year we decided to come for Fire and Ice. It was truly amazing. Everything was perfect right down to the snow. The stay at the Nonantum was once again perfect. So much to do all weekend. Sunday brunch with Santa was lovely and delicious. This also will become a tradition for us. The only thing we would do different is bring friends along with us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Debbie:
It was wonderful to see you back again to visit us here at The Nonantum Resort! I often think of the day when I performed your wedding ceremony for you! Such special memories!
I am so happy to hear that you loved Fire and Ice! I know you had been thinking about coming up to it for a while, and I am glad it met all your expectations! We look forward to seeing you and your beautiful family again soon!
Warm Personal Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
253 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in the Newer river view rooms, which I was glad when we drove up and saw the age of the original hotel. It definitely gives a false sense of amenities on line. Found it overpriced, freezing and lacking great service for the inflated offseason rates. (We stayed at a 5 star resort last weekend for less money, with over the top service from start to finish.) Fire and Ice was ok, very long lines and not too much to offer. We actually left and went downtown for dinner. Ice sculptures were awesome, but the event needs some organization and better planning to deal with long drink lines and understaffing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Stephanie:
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy yourself at our Fire and Ice event. We are kind of a victim of our own success! I am guessing perhaps you came Saturday night at 7:30. There was about an hour where lines were long but people seemed to really be enjoying the music, the fires and the great vibe and very few people were overwhelmed by the crowds. However, I do think you are correct, and as a result next year we will limit ticket sales even more than we did this year (last year we had 1600 Saturday night, this year we capped it at 1400 and I think next year we may cut back to 1200) Hot tip - Friday night we had less people and there are fireworks downtown you can see from our lawn so that may be a better night for you to choose.
As far as the rates, Christmas Prelude is considered a peak week at The Nonantum. We sell out both weekends so rates are higher than they would be in November. If you are looking for a quiet time with great rates I think November would be a great choice for you!
Hope to see you then!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife Victoria and I spent Friday and Saturday at the Nonantum for the final weekend of Prelude and Fire & Ice. Right away upon arrival we were receiving expected service. A parking spot available for us as guest of the resort on such an eventful night. Upon check-in the same expected service was spot on. Quick with good instruction and a nice clean, spacious room awaited us. As we had more encounters with the staff they simply met and/or exceeded our every wish. I call this superior service and your Resort is to be commended for that!!!

While all of those Kudos go out it was not until Sunday morning, feeling tired from a long wonderful evening of fun, that we saw the extras that will easily bring us back many, many times over the coming years. We went outside to find our car cleaned off. How COOL is that!!! It seemed like 15" of snow fell and while dreading the deed to be done before we could ultimately head home.... WOW!!! Really??? Just awesome!

Everything was just so well done. Another shout out to the staff at breakfast. What a wonderful job you all did. It was so well orchestrated from the time you were seated until you left. BRAVO!!!

We simply loved our stay and will definitely be back. What a charming Resort!

Stu & Victoria

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuVic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Stu and Victoria:
Thank you for the very lovely review! Fire and Ice was such a fun weekend! It is always such a great high note to end our season on! We also really appreciate your kind words about the service here, It isn't always easy to get everything exactly right, but we sure do try our best! It means a lot to all of our staff when folks like yourself notice the little extras - reserved parking for guests on a busy night, brushing snow off cars, a yummy breakfast with Santa the morning after the party of the year - these are all things that set The Nonantum apart. It is what makes us what we are!
Thanks again for your very kind words and we will look forward to seeing you back here again soon!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing