We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful stop off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdour
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful stop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's an old building & quite quirky but the rooms were very comfortable. The situation is excellent & the area beautiful.
The food in the restaurant is very good, both breakfast & dinner with friendly service.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, go for a room at the back, overlooking the river, although all areas are pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 665Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Pauline:
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at The Nonantum Resort! Our building is a bit quirky isn't it? I think it adds to the charm! We were first built in 1883, and we really enjoy our historical side!
I hope that you will come back and see us again soon! Thanks again for the nice writeup!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    374
    121
    41
    21
See reviews for
462
634
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location with a short walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Room was beautiful with a great view of the river. The staff was outstanding- very helpful, friendly, and responsive to all our requests! Excellent breakfast buffet. We ate and drank at the hotel bar and were very pleased with the food and service. All in all it was a great hotel experience. We will definitely return to The Nonantum Resort!

Stephen J

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Stephen:
I really appreciate your nice review! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are enjoying the many yummy options in our hotel bar Heckmans. This time of year is an especially nice time to wander downtown to the many shops and galleries. The leaves are still pretty and the air is fresh and clear. Just a really pretty time of year!
Please come back and see us again soon! We really are grateful for your business!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A charming couple met our tour bus with trays of cookies and hot cider and really set the tone for a wonderful stay. Our room was very attractive and comfortable and located in the newer part of the complex. Looking out our window, we could see boats moored in the bay, a tiny lighthouse on the property,and immaculately landscaped grounds. You could tell the people in charge of decorating really enjoyed their jobs as there were delightful Halloween displays, fall pumpkins everywhere, and beautiful mums. We had a lobster dinner provided by our tour, and the staff went out of their way to help us remove the delicious lobster meat from the shell. It is a picture perfect place for a wedding, but it was a very special place to end our New England tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Texas Traveler Gal:
Ken and Rose, the couple who greeted you, are an institution here at The Nonantum! They really are amazing aren't they? We feel so fortunate to be working with them. They set the standard for gracious hospitality for all of the rest of Team Nonantum!
I hope you can make it back here another time! If you think our Halloween decorations are amazing, wait until you see the Christmas ones! Totally amazing!
Christmas will be here before you know it!
Happy November,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fantastic room. It included a gas faux-woodburning stove, great for both warmth and ambiance. Amazing view of the bay from our room. Friendly staff was attentive to our needs. As an added touch, they left a card and chocolate for my girlfriend because I offhandedly mentioned it was her birthday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Stephen:
I am so happy to hear you and your girlfriend had such a wonderful time celebrating her birthday here at The Nonantum Resort! We love special occasions at The Nonantum and we have many folks who come year after year to mark special occasions. It is so much fun for us to watch families grow over time. Many of our staff has been here for years so our repeat guests (and there are a lot of them!) really feel like family!
I hope we will see you the next time their is a special occasion that needs celebrating!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable.
Service second to none.
Courteous and friendly staff.
Amazing breakfast buffet.
Excellent dinner menu and food.
Wonderful backyard.
Very impressed with this hotel.
Will recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: The waterfront of this hotel will leave you speechless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Gus:
What lovely remarks! I really appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts!
Our staff really is awesome and amazing! They all work so hard to make sure all of our guests share your opinions!
I know Tampa is a long way away, but I do hope you can come back and see us soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The service everywhere in the Resort is wonderful. The room was tiny and only one chair which was very uncomfortable. The restaurant was exceptional. Many thanks to Pamala and to the host Ken for looking out for us every nite of our stay. Make sure you ask for river view. It's worth it.!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 103 and 104 very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Dorice:
Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay at The Nonantum Resort! We are honored you would choose to spend your 57th Anniversary with us! Congratulations!
I am so glad you enjoyed meeting and working with Pam and Kenny! They both are super hospitable and many of our guests ask for them by name during repeat visits!
We look forward to seeing you on your 58th Anniversary!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our room was quite small and we had to shuffle around each other and our luggage to get to the bathroom. The room could also do with a bit of updating. The public rooms very very well kept and all the staff very helpful and pleasant. The shops/restaurants are within walking distance. Whilst wandering around the town we stopped outside the church to take pictures and a very helpful lady came along and said that we were welcome to go in and have a look. The hotel was very busy with coach parties so we were a little worried about eating in the hotel but as they were eating in the hotel's main restaurant we decided to eat in Heckman's pub just off the lobby. They had their own menu but you could also choose from the restaurant menu if you wanted too. The food was delicious as was the beer. The breakfast buffet was not that special as all the hot food was kept in warmers and unless you were there when it was first set out the food was luke warm and unappetising. It was also a bit of a struggle to get a cup of tea. Unlike Americans I do not drink coffee and have found it very difficult to get a cup of tea throughout my tour of America.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Sue:
Thank you for coming all the way from the UK to see us! We get many visitors from your area of the world and enjoy hearing about life on the other side of the pond!
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening in Heckman's Pub. Henry Heckman built the Nonantum Resort in 1883 and it is a pleasure to share some of our history with our visitors.
Thanks again for the visit and I hope you can come and see us again soon!
Cheerio!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
10.0 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing