We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Leaf Tour”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Fall Leaf Tour”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Nonantum Resort is a unique place to stay. Had the old time elevator that required an operator to take you to your floor. Everyone there always asked if there was something they could do for you. The breakfast was great. From 7-9 pm that evening, they had a bon fire on the lawn in back next to the bay, with marshmellows to roast and any employee that played the guitar and sang ballads.

Room Tip: Stay in the "main" house. We had a great view from the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There Harold:
I very much appreciate your kind words! That old elevator really is unique! Many of our guests tell us how much they enjoy having the opportunity to chat with a real live elevator person!
Our bonfires are always a hit! Who doesn't like being outside when there is just the beginning of a chill in the air, gazing at the stars, singing songs (wait a minute, isn't the guy leading the singing the same one who was pouring coffee at breakfast?) and enjoying a gooey marshmallow right before bed?
Please come see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    417
    137
    44
    21
See reviews for
524
736
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful experience. The entire staff was very friendly and hard working to make our stay pleasant. Breathtaking views and cozy rooms. Very enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone planning to visit Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello Alabama Visitor!
I am so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. I must agree that the entire staff is very friendly and hard working. We are so blessed to have so many folks who come back year after year and with them they bring their great attitudes and commitment to excellence, a rarity in todays fast paced world but you sure couldn't tell by visiting us.
Thank you so much for saying that you would recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone planning to visit Kennebunkport. It is the nicest compliment ever!
Come back and bring your friends!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in older section and it was! But there are fantastic views of the grounds (wonderful landscaping and water views. Staff was exceptional, friendly and helpful; even when a few things went wrong, they got them right. Restuarant staff was more than helpful with our lobster dinnner. Breakfast was the same. Our tours ran 90 plus people thru in one night, everything went very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello Iowa Visitor!
So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Nonantum! Our "older" section was built in 1883 and we have been renovating the rooms one by one right down to the horse hair that we find in the walls. We are nearly done and people have been astounded by the results. It is never easy to renovate so rooms are modern, yet keep the feeling of tradition but I think we have done it! Our many repeat visitors often ask to stay in these rooms. They are my daughter's favorites as well!
Please come and see us again so you can see the completed renovations!
All The Best!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just completed the New England Fall Color Tour. Our last night was at the Nonantum Resort which I must say was a lovely way to end our tour. The grounds are immaculate and so inviting with all the plants in bloom. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and curtious. The rooms were nice and had very comfortable beds and nice linens. Conveniently located close to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clm811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello There Sunflower!
I am so glad you found The Nonantum Resort such a wonderful way to end your tour! Your Nonantum schedule sounded pretty fun to me. You get dropped off downtown so you can check out our awesome downtown area. Meanwhile your luggage is dropped off at The Nonantum and we deliver it to your room. You arrive to a lovely reception of fresh baked cookies and cider and then have time for a quick nap. Next stop - a lobster dinner in the Nonantum Ballroom, complete with entertainment! Off to bed because morning will be here before you know it. A big buffet breakfast and you are off. Fun stuff!
I hope you can come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

At check-in, we were greeted with warm cookies and apple cider and it got even better. The room was big, with refrig, microwave, fireplace, overlooking the water. Most rooms had big balconies where residents relaxed, sipped wine or coffee while watching the boats come and go. At water's edge, there is a nice pier and lots of clean, white recliners for guests. All this, and you are only a block away from the pretty, bustling downtown, where you just might bump into member of the Bush family, since this little town is the home of George H.W. Bush's summer White House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Texas Friend:
What a lovely review! Thank you!
You certainly have it right. The Nonantum Resort is the perfect location to hit a bunch of fun shops, watch lots of pretty boats, enjoy yummy cookies, or maybe, just maybe run in to a member of the Bush Family! Who could ask for anything more?
Please come back and see us again soon!
Happy Fall!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for six nights. Our first night did not go so well as we heard the mechanical elevator often since we were quite close to it. The office staff was very accommodating by relocating us to another room that worked out great. They also brought up a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. Across the board, the staff was very hospitable and we would welcome coming back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask where your room is relative to the stairway and elevator. Also, the Heritage House d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Brad:
It is so nice to hear that you would like to come back for another visit! What a coincidence - we would love to have you back. I think we can work something out!
The fall is very beautiful here but maybe you can come back next summer and enjoy some of Mother Natures air conditioning! Nothing beats a beach walk in Maine on a warm summer day!
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a really lovely place. This hotel was a really great, quaint, and relaxing experience. The rooms and hallways were a bit dated, but it goes along with the history and the preservation of the historic building. The location was also beautiful – directly on the water and walking distance to some great scenery. The downtown area is walkable, but on the far side. The front desk was very helpful with suggestions of things to do around town. Also the breakfast is AMAZING.

My only suggestion would be to find out if there will be a wedding held at the time of your stay. There was a wedding taking place the Saturday of our stay and it felt like the wedding was everywhere. The grounds outside were decorated all for the wedding and the restaurant/ballroom was reserved (could not eat at the restaurant…could order food from there and sit outside or at the bar though). So, that was a slight disappointment – however, if you are in the wedding or having a wedding there, it is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Visitor From Shelton:
I really appreciate your marvelous report on your recent visit to The Nonantum! I am delighted to hear you thought our breakfast was "Amazing" and that our Front Desk Staff was offering up lots of great ideas of things to do while you were in the area! Kennebunkport certainly has lots of great options to choose from!
As far as the wedding is concerned: Weddings are a wonderful part of our business. I mean who doesn't love a bride? Many of our customers prefer to come when we have a wedding as they enjoy seeing the whole event unfold. Weddings do not however have exclusive use of our property. While usually they have the Ballroom available to them, and often times the River Room as well, there is always dinner available on our front porch, and our full dinner menu, as well as our Pub menu are available in Heckman's (our lobby bar) I certainly can see why a non wedding guest may feel a little caught up in the moment, but please be assured that the vast majority of our 7 acres of grounds as well as a lot of our public space is available for all to enjoy whether or not there is a wedding going on!
Hope you can come back and see us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing