We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nonantum Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Breakwater Inn and Spa(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$329
$290
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Fairfield Inn(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge on the Cove(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lodge at Turbat's Creek(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhumb Line Resort(Kennebunkport)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel & Restaurant(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$367
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Lord Mansion(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$389
$369
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveler rating
1,194
450
145
45
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
450
145
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportside lodgefairy gardenbreakfast buffetkennebunk riverview of the rivernew englandadirondack chairsfree shuttlenewer buildinglobstermy husband and icarriage housepineappleshuttle servicemain buildingcorner roomoverlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the property in The Portside Lodge (a separate and more contemporary building than the main hotel) the attraction here being that it is a bit closer to and, provides better views of the Kennebunk River and, offers balconies with almost all rooms. However, the rooms are quite ordinary, furnished inexpensively - plastic, wicker-look chairs inside, cabinetry that is begrudgingly functional but, not terribly attractive. The bathrooms and particularly the tub/showers, are hardly abundant, size-wise. But, three items were a source of some greater annoyance: 1) the screen door going out to our patio (we were on the ground floor) practically had the be blasted open, the glide wheels were in such lousy repair; 2) for some absolutely idiotic reason, the hoteliers have installed cheap-grade simulated wood flooring instead of carpeting the floors. As such, we heard EVERY footstep of the people above us and, every movement of their wheeled luggage; 3) the hotel claims to provide free WiFi. However, the signal was so weak in the Portside Lodge that a connection could not be maintained in our room nor, even in the "lobby" area of the Portside Lodge (where, incidentally, the upholstered furniture sports some truly exotic aromas).

So, if you're really looking for mediocrity at a far-higher-than-is-justified-price, check the place out. If you're willing to pay for quality, try The Grand Hotel or, The Boatwatch. Both cost a bit more but, you'll likely be far more pleased with your surroundings. (You will however, have to forego the equally uninspiring Nonantum breakfast buffet...but, my guess is you'll survive without it.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahbach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Colorado Visitor:
Oh dear me! I am soooo sorry to hear you did not have an pleasant stay! Nothing is more annoying than to go on vacation and not enjoy yourself. It sounds like we just were not the right place for you and I really feel terrible about that!
Choosing a vacation spot is such a personal thing. I wish everyone liked the same thing but regretfully they don't. This means that occasionally we just do not live up to a guests expectations. Clearly we missed the mark in your case and for that I apologize.
I hope that the remainder of your trip was more enjoyable.
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was our second visit to the Nonantum, and three years in between was too long! We realize we need to make this an annual visit. We stayed for three nights the first week in Sept. Everything was wonderful our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was absolutely delightful. We enjoy the walk to town. The pool was great and the evening campfire and music was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friends555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Chatham Friends:
I have to agree! Every three years is not often enough to visit the Nonantum! Many of our guests come more than once a season as they love the different offerings between spring/summer/fall and winter!
One of my favorite things about the Nonantum is the great entertainment we have in the dining room. Different people different nights and each one a fantastic musician and a great human being! The music around the campfire is equally enjoyable where different staff members take turns leading the singing. It is amazing how many talented folks we have working here!
Thanks so much for the super remarks! We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed a weekend to attend a family wedding. Lovely New England charm. Our room looked out onto the water, creating a postcard view. Service was excellent, food top notch.Would gladly stay there again...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank MM5168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Greetings Staten Island Visitor!
How wonderful you could be here for a family wedding with a "picture postcard" background! One of my cousins has a wedding here this coming weekend and I cannot wait! I know everyone will have a wonderful time!
Wonderful food and service make it fun to visit a place and I am sure my family, just like yours will really enjoy themselves.
Next time perhaps you can come just for a vacation and try some of our many Activities like biking, boatrides and paddleboarding!
We look forward to seeing you then and thank you very much for sharing your opinion!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

One night stay here , comfortable pretty room on third floor . Well maintained and clean . Hotel is in lovely location and 10 min walk into centre . Hotel was busy with large parties . Didn't eat in hotel as there was local choice . Only grumble was on our departure , lift has to be operated by staff and we asked for assistance with our luggage the member of staff operated the lift but chose not to help with our cases , suppose I expected a little more courtesy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janep18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Jane:
How lovely that you were able to come to the United States on vacation. I suspect you are like so many of our English guests who come and visit New Englad this time of year in that you visit lots of beautiful places in a very short time! I think you have chosen the perfect time to come! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit as much as you enjoyed your stay at The Nonantum!
Please come back and see us again when you can stay a little longer. Part of the Nonantum Magic kicks in when you have the time to snooze in a chair on the lawn with the sun sparking off our beautiful marina!
Thanks so much for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of 3 spent a few days at The Nonantum at the end of August 2013 and enjoyed every moment!.Our room was in the Portside building and contained a queen sized bed and a single bed, which was perfect for us and our 10 year old son. No balcony, but a stellar view out to the Kennebec River full of boats and action. The room was furnished with Cuddledown linens and contained a small refrigerator which we appreciated. Everything was immaculate and very comfortable. From our first welcome at the front desk to the last day's printing of airline boarding passes, everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful, and kind. Even though the resort was busy with a wedding and heavy summer dinner traffic, we felt at home. We recommend taking a sail on the Pineapple Ketch, which is docked at The Nonantum.

Only thing which needs improvement: Wi-Fi accessibility! We are a tech family, and when we check in to a hotel we connect to Wi-Fi with phone, tablets, computers, etc. The Wi-Fi signal in our room was pitiful, but that could easily be fixed. Also, we never ate at the resort, and were unaware that there was a breakfast buffet included.

Thank you, Nonantum! We will return!

Room Tip: Portside rooms have a modern elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello Texas Friend:
The end of August is such a special time at The Nonantum! The warm days are perfect for lots of family fun (and the Pineapple Ketch is one of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon!) and the cool nights make for wonderful restful sleeping in the cozy Cuddledown quilts!
I am so sorry you had problems with the Wi-Fi. We are a techie family too and that would make me totally crazy! What happened is that there was a lightening strike here mid August and it was nearly the end of the month before we realized damage had been done to one of our routers. It has been fixed so when you come back there should be no wi-fi problems!
Thanks for the lovely writeup and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Happy Fall!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews