We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ! Family friendly. Will go back every year”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We hosted our wedding weekend at the Nonantum. It was beyond perfect. We highly recommend it. Very family oriented and kid friendly. Great for large groups - which ours was. Everyone loved it. The staff is amazing especially Leigh who was our wedding coordinator.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelroseMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Melrose Friends:
I am delighted to learn that your wedding weekend at The Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport was all you wished for and more! Leigh does just an outstanding job. She is headed off to graduate school this fall and we will really miss her!
The rest of our staff also is amazing and we are proud of our attention to detail and comittment to guest services.
We hope you will choose to spend your future anniversaries with us, as so many of our brides and grooms do. We love watching your family grow!
Thanks so much for the kind review,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Anyone who has a complaint about this place must be commited to the nut house. The staff are the most attentive and friendly we have encountered, could give Disney some pointers.
Beautifully updated rooms and delicious food. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I guess I have to say this is my favorite review of all time! How really sweet of you to suggest we could teach Disney a thing or two! You totally made my day!
I hope you will be back very soon! Fall is a beautiful time of year here in Kennebunkport!
Thank you so much!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place still has that old world lodge feeling in the main lodge. It has been added onto many time. We staying in the new separate wing which is a huge building but all rooms manage to have a water view. The rooms there have a very Scandinavian look and feel which I love. Nice colour tone, comfortable furniture, a gas stove and goof AC. I cant speak for rooms in the original hotel or first addition. The food was great with a very hearty breakfast, No one was ruched and excellent service. A slight mix-up in my reservation was immediately addressed by the Inn Manager herself. Sitting in the dining room the lawn seemed to be an ever changing tableau of activities, kind of like summer camp for the whole family with simple taste and excellant service.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view in the new wing, There is no ocean to see, it is on an inlet or estuary. j
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello BD:
How lovely that you had such a nice visit with us! The Nonantum does have sort of an Old World feel. Not old fashioned as in fussy or formal, but more old fashioned as in relaxed and calming. Many of our guests comment on the fact that they are having the type of vacation they enjoyed with their parents as children, not the frenetic frantic feel so many of us experience when traveling. The Nonantum prides itself in being understated and nurturing. We offer outstanding under the radar customer service and this adherence to taking care of our guests, actually making them part of The Nonantum Family is, I think why so many folks come back year after year.
We hope we will see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed one nite in July; found this hotel through a 3rd party website. Stay was perfect, start to finish! Check-in was friendly and quick; we were given an overview of the amenities of the property and directions on where to find things. Our room was very clean, and we did not hear noise from other rooms or outside of our room, despite the fact that cars parked outside our sliding door. Hotel located right on the water; a beautiful view! We were delighted to find that a full breakfast buffet was also included in our room rate. The selection was varied, and the food was fresh and hot. We received friendly service from all staff we encountered. Will definitely stay here again if we are back in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello Vancouver Visitor!
We hope you do come back and see us again as there is so much to do and see in beautiful Kennebunkport, we know that one day did not allow you time to see and experience it all!
One of my favorite activities at The Nonantum Resort is taking advantage of our marina. Just yesterday I spoke with 8 year old William, who had caught a very large fish while out with Captain Bruce from the Libreti Rose II (Captain Bruce is our local celebrity - he is currently featured on Wicked Tuna and AOL TV) William was totally thrilled and grinning from ear to ear! Two other boats also leave daily from our marina, The Pineapple Ketch and The Rugosa. There is nothing nicer than a relaxing boat ride on a hot afternoon!
Thanks so much for taking time to share your thoughts about your visit!
Happy Summer!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I keep going back to the Nonantum because it is the essence of Maine, its friendliness and its beauty. The river runs by the beautiful green lawn and the flowers on site are continually taken care of to absolutely wow your socks off. The pool is great (although screaming children are not) and the rooms are lovely. We always get s second floor room with balcony. Works out every time. The menu this year was a bit disappointing in that it was much smaller than in prior years. I ate in the pub and had a fantastic chef made dessert of a chocolate ice cream bar. One of the best things I ever had. Staff is super friendly. The pool side lunch took forever one day and others were saying the same thing. How hard is it to put a lobster roll together? However, this was the only time I experienced a delay. Will be back next year with bells on! Bring ear plugs for the a/c!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Pat:
I loved reading that you consider The Nonantum the essence of Maine, because that is exactly what we are aiming for!
The grounds really are spectacular! Kim, Cheryl and Sue work their hearts out to make every corner of this property amazing and I think their attention to detail really shows! The Fairy Garden located outside of the West Wing is a particular favorite of our guests. The herb garden, where each day our chefs can be seen collecting seasoning for tonights drinks and dinner are another favorite area. Who knew there can be so many varieties of mint?
I also must admit to being a fan of that chocolate dessert. It absolutely is worth the long walk after dinner required to burn those calories off! From the Nonantum there is an outstanding stroll right along Ocean Avenue with breathtaking water views that makes an after dinner walk something to look forward to!
Have a wonderful rest of the summer and we will look forward to seeing you at the Nonantum again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Last night we dined at The Nonantum! A wonderful window table with a gorgeous view! The mussels are the best anywhere - a special Thai flavoring secret I think! The Atlantic haddock was prepared to perfection! Samantha was a wonderful, attentive wait person. Our guests who live and dine in the finest in the Boston area very much enjoyed their experience! Ken, the evening dining manager was social, funny and right on top of our wine service! As one guest at our table said, "the perfect personality" for the position! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello Ellen:
It is always so nice to hear from a local about their experience at The Nonantum Dining Room. With all the great dining options Kennebunkport has to offer, we feel honored that you would choose to come in for dinner with your guests!
Thank you for your sweet comments about Samantha. Believe it or not, Samantha just graduated from high school. She worked last summer as a busser in our Dining Room and this year was promoted to waitstaff. She has done an amazing job! Sadly (for us) she is headed off to college soon. Hopefully she will come back again next summer!
As for Kenny, I could not agree more! He is exactly the right person for his job! Kenny is knowledgeable and professional and our dining room could not be in more capable hands! I am delighted he has chosen to become a member of Team Nonantum this season. He adds so much to our Dining Room!
Ellen, our wonderful entertainment continues into October and our specials are amazing. Come and see us again soon!
Warm Regards
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. Paid about $300 with taxes for 1 night. Our ground floor queen bed room in the "newer" building was small with an outdated bathroom -- linoleum floor, pre-fab bathtub, small. Room had poor lighting so we couldn't read at night in the 1 comfortable chair or in bed. As other reviewers have said, a curtain blocks the small closet. The "patio" was a small concrete slab with 2 chair -- about 10 feet away trucks were parked on the grass. We had to keep the shades closed for any privacy.

Maybe the upper floor room in the main building are nicer.

Breakfast was standard chain motel buffet fare -- fruit cup consisted mostly of melons even though it was July in Maine. Weak coffee, vats of scrambled eggs, etc.

Our room was clean, the staff was pleasant and helpful, parking was free. It's about a 10/15 minute walk to downtown on a sidewalk.

Room Tip: Maybe an upstairs room in the old building??????
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianneNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello Mariann:
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. They really are just a delight to walk through this time of year. There is always something new to see!
The proximity to town is also a reason so many folks like yourself enjoy it here. Just a short walk and you are downtown with its many shops and restaurants.
I am really sorry you did not like your room. All the rooms in Portside (the building you were in) have been recently renovated. It sounds like it was not your style. I totally apologize for that, and hope that our kind and wonderful staff made up for your being in a room you did not enjoy.
Maybe next time you would be happier in our Carriage Inn?
Thank you so much for taking time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely Yours,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $147 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing