We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Nonantum over 4th of July Weekend. We stayed in the original section of the hotel (134 yrs old) and enjoyed the quaintness of the older building. Our room was very clean and fresh with beautiful bed linens and coverings. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. As an aside, when I booked the reservation, I mentioned once in passing that we would be celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. When we got to the room there was a birthday card and a box of chocolates waiting for her from the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Tim!
So glad you were able to join us over the 4th of July! What a fun weekend that was!
Like so many folks you pointed out that our super friendly staff is what makes the Nonantum different from other places. Every day I get all kinds of notes, calls and e-mails from folks telling me how awesome the folks who work here are and wanting to know our secret to such great staff. I regularly even have other Innkeepers who come to see us and they always comment on it as well. Our secret is really quite simple. We hire nice people! Our philosophy is that we can teach people hotel work, but we really cannot teach them to be nice! It is as simple as that.
So thanks for noticing all the exceptional folks who work here! I really appreciate it!
Happy Summer,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    389
    130
    42
    21
See reviews for
483
665
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you're looking for something classy yet comfortable- this is not the place. Nonantums website is extremely misleading. The rooms may be updated, (not including the bathrooms) but the rest of the resort is under kept and disappointing. There are weddings that play loud music on the property until 11 or midnight and the free breakfast was cold and greasy six days in a row. Rude staff and over priced. Try The Colony down the street. It's closer to beach and much classier

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Kelly,
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here! Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations and clearly we did not exceed yours!
I am very curious about your remark that we had weddings playing loud music until midnight as (much to nearly every brides chagrin!) all events end at 10:30 and we have strictly enforced quiet hours from 11pm-7am.
Some folks like chocolate and some vanilla. Apparently we were not what you were looking for in a vacation and I am very sorry about that. It is extremely upsetting to go on vacation and not get what you want!
Again, my apologies this was not what you were looking for.
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pultneyville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Third week in June to Maine - Kennebunkport and Camden.
Old Kennebunkport Hotel. Wonderful Front Porch, Grounds and Outdoor Pool. Rooms are old but had all amenities. Not a chain hotel/motel but wasn't looking for that style .
!0-15 minute walk to heart of village. Same going other way to beach.
Breakfast included and is superb; lunches are by the pool.
There is elevator up to upper floors but not self service. We never had a problem having someone operate when needed.
Cost are reasonable for Maine at this time of year for rooms.
Bar and lunches are Maine priced also and I consider that twice what is reasonable to other parts of the country, except NYC.

All in all, very enjoyable clean, well serviced facility. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Brian:
Thank you so very much for your lovely review! It sounds like you do a lot of traveling so I am especially delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Nonantum so much!
Many of our guests are charmed by our old fashioned elevator in the lobby. It is kind of a throwback to days gone by to have an elevator operator to chat with as you make your way to your room.
I think your comment "Not a chain hotel" sums up the Nonantum best! Some folks are looking for that cookie cutter sameness in every place they stay and that for sure is not The Nonantum (or anywhere else in Kennebunkport!) If however you are looking for an old fashioned resort, where folks work together to make our guests feel part of the family, then Nonantum may be just the ticket!
Hope to see you back here soon! Those lazy, hazy days of summer and arrived and there is an Adirondack on the back lawn with your name on it!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We booked a four person room that had two rooms. The first room had a king bed and a beat up sleep sofa that was not even as large as a queen bed and was painful to lie on. We called the front desk and they moved us that night. Our next room was on the top floor and seemed to have just been renovated. It was a little cramped but acceptable for 4 people two separate rooms separated by a bathroom. The hotel is old but still has the old charm, especially in the bar. It does however need some TLC. Housekeeping throws sheets in the hall when they are cleaning rooms so the hallway is full of sheets until they are completed with all the rooms. I find to be an unnecessary eye sore during the day. We were never told that our stay included breakfast (hence my review of “all day breakfast”). We found out our last day. This really irritated me. We checked in at night and never got an orientation of the place from the nigh person. The hotel has adirondack chairs with views of the harbor and is within walking distance of both downtown and the beach. If they fix up the place it would be 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubascott1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Scott:
I am happy to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated rooms! They are very pretty and my daughters favorite place to stay when we spend the night!
It is really surprising to me that you did not know that breakfast is included with your room. This is something our reservationists love to talk to customers about as it is value added to your reservation. In addition it is clearly stated in your reservation confirmation that breakfast is included. It is a shame you missed it as many repeat guests contact me asking that their favorite breakfast treat be included on the buffet during their next stay. I will contact all the folks who work at check in and remind them of the importance of emphasizing the complimentary breakfast at check in. Who doesn't love a free breakfast?
Enjoy this lovely summer weather!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from out first trip to Kennebunkport celebrating our 25th anniversary. Very impressed with the Nonantum. Old hotel that with updated romantic rooms. Staff was friendliest I have ever dealt with! Met so many great people we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Kerrie:
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your 25th with us! I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here! There are many folks who make an annual trek here for their anniversary and I hope you will become one of them! We cannot wait to see you again! Thanks for the wonderful review!
Happy Summer,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an awesome stay at the Nonantum Resort during the first week of July. The hotel has a great location on the water and is close to town. We stayed in one of the suites since there were 3 adults and 2 children in our party. The room was beautiful and gave us a lot of room to spread out and relax. The morning breakfast service was awesome - a ton of food and great views out over the water. Tim and the staff were gracious hosts - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oviedogator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Floridian Friends:
Thank you so much for your very kind words! As you observed our family suites are perfect for families on the go! Many of our guests have commented to me recently that they love being able to park their car and walk all over town as well as hang out at our get away from it all resort! The best of both worlds!
Tim is an amazing individual and we are honored to have had him as a staff member for nearly 25 years! Both of his sons work here as well!
Hope you can come and see us again soon!
Happy Summer!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NH
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This Resort was awesome, and I'd recommend it to anyone, couples and families alike. The room was clean an cute great view of the water, nice we had our own patio. All the staff was very accommadating to us especially because we brought our boat along to cruise the river during the stay. Tina was very pleasant and showed us around the grounds and was extreemly helpful. The location was near to everything. Full breakfast every day was also awesome. We would not hestiate to make a return trip it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We cannot wait to have you back here! Having our very own marina is such a special treat and touring the property with Tina is always fun! Tina has been here over 20 years and her energy and enthusiasm for the property is very contagious!
There are always lots of tasty new treats on our breakfast buffet so we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
10.0 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing