We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Great food, room and location”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Great food, room and location”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Nonantum. The room was beautiful New England decor with a great view of the river. The food was excellent. We had the special Farm to Table dinner and every item was delicious! The buffet breakfast is also amazing. We would recommend Nonantuma and would choose it next time we come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello Peter: The Farm to Fork weekend was a great time! Our kitchen just loves the opportunity to show their creative side and many of the specials they dream up for Farm to Fork find their way to our Fall Menu! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to lovely Kennebunkport! Christmas Prelude is around the corner and reservations are filling fast! Hope to see you then!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    420
    139
    44
    21
See reviews for
540
751
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We attended a family wedding there and thought everything was excellent . Only negative was the elevator was old style and you needed to have someone operate it to get to our room on the third floor . My husband has bad knees and would have to go looking for someone to bring him up . I am a "type A" and would walk the flights instead of waiting.
Views were gorgeous , food was excellent, beds comfortable and rooms nice and clean .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne3252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello Anne: So delighted that you enjoyed the old world charm of our 1883 building. Many people love our old fashion Otis Elevator and take the opportunity to ride up with a staff member to learn all the special ins and outs of our property. Nearly all the rooms in the Inn have been recently redone, and those that haven't will be done this winter. Thanks for your nice remarks!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Nonantum Resort. We got married there 10 years ago and love to go back any chance we get. Staff is great, breakfast is delicious, and the atmosphere is so relaxing! Make sure you get a room with a balcony, it's worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Welcome back Jennifer! Happy Anniversary! We are always thrilled when our bridal couples return so we too can relive the excitement of your special day. Many former brides think it is so funny because our wedding coordinators always seem remember something unique about each and every event. (Just a wierd Nonantum wedding coordinator trait!) Our brides and grooms are like family to us and we are grateful to reconnect! Hope to see you again soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for a week in the summer and what the hotel may lack in finesse and finish it goes a good way to making it all 'alright' by employing very helpful and friendly staff, the breakfast spread is one of the best we've enjoyed. A good base for the town and area and the location next to the River is one where you can easily let life drift by at peace.

Room Tip: Ask how old the air con unit is in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowneyBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I agree that the attitude of of our staff is very important in helping our guests appreciate all that the Nonantum has to offer! Next year, we are hoping to expand our breakfast options even further with some additional new healthy options! I feel so blessed to be able to view the river each and every day from my office and hope that you will plan a return visit to check out our ever changing vistas!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our overnight stay at the Nonantum was a delight - from the amazing hospitality (including the meet and greet afternoon reception complete with a glass of wine/beer and appetizers!) to the comfortable room overlooking the river, to the delicious dinner at the resort restaurant with waterview, to the gift shop with lovely items, to the incredible (best ever!) breakfast buffet for guests...AND topped off with a tremendous location for walking! (Walked to St. Anne's Chapel along the coast with incredible views!) We WILL be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was wonderful to have the chance to say hello to you at our Manager's Reception! That is the highlight of Tuesday's! I have met so many fascinating folks and it is always so interesting to hear how they found their way to this little piece of heaven we call home!
Fall breakfast is a great favorite here. Nothing like a stick-to-your-ribs kind of breakfast to start the day! Our bakers come in bright and early to insure pastries are fresh from the oven! (This morning we had pumpkin/chocolate chip muffins. My favorites!)
Thanks so much for all your great energy! Hope to see you here agian soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights at the Nonantum on September 17th & 18th. It's a charming hotel with a great history. Our room was updated & comfortable, considering the age of the hotel, with a view of the river. We were particularly impressed with the dining room...... great buffet breakfast with many choices & a dinner menu & presentation that compares very favorably with upscale restaurants. All in all, we're happy we chose the Nonantum.

Inez Lerner

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view & in the main building as it's very convenient. Be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixmoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Inez:
I am thrilled to hear what a nice time you had during your visit to The Nonantum Resort! We are very proud to have been built in 1883 by Captain Henry Heckman. Throughout the property you will find many photos and other memorabilia that talks about our fabulous past. It isn't always easy to walk the very fine line between modern conveniences in a historic hotel but we always have our eye on that ball!
I am also glad you enjoyed our dining room so much. Our buffet breakfast has also taken on its fall persona and that means lots of delicious baked goods and stick to your robs favorites like blueberry pancakes and pumpkin bread puddings. (Too good!)
The dining room is also featuring a wonderful dinner menu with fall favorites such as stuffed pork loin and lazy lobster casserole. They are drawing fabulous reviews!
Thanks again for your glorious review!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and myself stayed at the Nonantum for 2 nights, sept 16 and 17 2012. We couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the staff is helpful and friendly. We had a great dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed a bountiful and fresh breakfast each morning. I went swimming in the heated pool and it was great. We will definately return to this delightful landmark.
Just a note, we had a beautiful room 425 in the carriage house but if you are handicapped or cant walk up stairs you should ask for a room on a lower floor or a different building. It has a small elevator but must be operated by the staff so it is not always immediate. If you stay in the carriage house try to get a even numbered room as they have a better water view. We did have a good view but only because we were a corner room. Watch the internet for the last minute deals on Nonantums site, we got a great deal. Dan Donahue

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33959Dan555golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Dan:
Thanks so much for all the lovely things you said about our property! The grounds really are lovely. The fall decorations are up now and people are just raving about how pretty they are! It is a rare day when I come to work or leave that there are not several people out in the yard taking photos of all the pretty plants!
There are often great deals on the internet, so that is excellent advice to shop for the best rate. Often if you have flexibility in the date of your visit, you can take advantage of a special package.
Thanks again for the marvelous write up!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing