We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fourth Straight Year”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Fourth Straight Year”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just spent another week at the Nonantum. We love the family feel of this hotel. We have always stayed in the newer building. The staff is excellent. Breakfast is included and great. The children's activities are the best. Our daughter loves taking part in the crafts, nature walk, movie night and campfire. We will be back next year for number five.

Room Tip: We prefer the Portside building on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckeyes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    417
    137
    44
    21
See reviews for
524
736
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

But make sure you stay in the newly renovated rooms with balcony.
The old rooms are small and needs to be updated. Our room with balcony had a view over the little harbour. The room was very clean. We look back at a wonderfull stay and great service from the staff. They are very nice and helped us with all the questions we had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

First time to Kennebunkport, stayed 3 nights in a wonderful room with balcony. Had views of the river and ocean! So nice to enjoy a cocktail on the balcony!!! Room was inviting and up to date - great accomodations!!! Only problem was parking with weddings going on the weekend we visited, but the resort resolved this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel had everything you could want and especially a great breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

First of all, this was our first trip to Kennebunkport so we can't compare to other hotels in the area. We stayed 2 nights. The hotel is older but the rooms are very well updated. We were surprised to see our room which was in excellent condition after using the what seemed like a very old elevator (staff must accompany you in order to use the small elevator) and walking thru older looking hallways. Everything was very clean though. We had a room in the Carriage House and it was a 2 room suite which is great when traveling with children. When you first walk into the room there is a queen bed, then you walk into another room (sliding pocket door in between) which has a twin bed and a day bed and then you can walk into the bathroom from that room. The only complaint with the bathroom is that the shower head was a really old one and you cannot adjust it height-wise or adjust how the water sprays out. It would be nice if the hotel considered updating these - would make a big difference. Otherwise the bathroom was new. The hotel has quiet hours from 11pm-7am. We were traveling with 2 kids so this was nice. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic! So much to choose from and delicious! I know the area is pricey and the hotel wasn't cheap but my husband was disappointed with the elevator and oldness of the buidling for the price we paid (slightly more than $300/night). I thought the rooms were great. Wifi service was ok while we were there though they were honest with us at check in and said that some people were getting spotty reception. I think that I would be curious to try another hotel just to see what else is available but I would recommend this hotel to others. Parking can be an issue especially if there is a wedding but we were able to find a spot both nights. They have tons of kids activities definitely a plus for the hotel. Pool was nice but no fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was disappointing this time, Many new staff which made it more like anyhotel. Much more focused on families, which overcrowded the pool, both for seating and swimming.

Breakfast buffet was crowded onto 3 small tables which made it more difficult to navigate. Generally disappointing after so many years of loving it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrubin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The facility is lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. The location is great. The accomodations excellent. Overall a marvelous place for a get-away. Would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Room 257 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing