We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were greeted so well at Nonantum that I thought it couldn't get better - but it did. the room was perfect and overlooked the water. We sat on the Adirondack chairs at the edge of the water and watched the fishing boats arrive with their stripers. We went for the Lobster tour trip which was so informative and beautiful. The captain and mate were competent and enjoyable. We filled up each morning on the best scallop and cheese potatoes and quiches which came with the room. I can't say enough about the courtesy that was shown by the staff. All hotels should use Nonantum as their standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    427
    140
    44
    22
See reviews for
561
762
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Staff is wonderful - helpful, friendly. Great selection for complimentary breakfast and pastry chef is too good! Clean rooms, small fridge a bonus, decks delightful for sipping coffee, watching sunsets. Plenty of activities offered and sailing/whale watching/fishing charters all depart from the dock in front of Nonantum. Request rooms facing the marina - only the newer section has balconies.

Room Tip: request updated room facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookends520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I traveled on my own with our 2 sons (ages 5 and 2 at the time) and it was perfect. They made us feel at home and were helpful in every way. The boys loved the smores (you can't beat staying up past your bedtime to sit outside by a fire in your pjs) and the morning crafts. I loved the easy access to everything and the incredible breakfast (included!). We're heading there again this summer and can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acm5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in a ground floor room in the Portside Building, with an excellent view of the estuary. Room was large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, such as fridge and coffeemaker, large bathroom, all spotlessly clean. Also a patio (rooms on 2nd floor had a balcony).
Small heated swimming pool and sunlounge area adjacent to Portside, perfectly adequate when we were there.
We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel, very good choice of food, only once had to wait (for a few minutes only) for a table when there was a conference on.
Kennebunkport is a lovely location, interesting shops, quite a few restuarants (can recommend Mabel's lobster place and the Arundel Wharf, both within walking distance), also a must is the Lobster Pot boat trip from the hotel jetty on board the Rugosa.

Room Tip: Portside lodge, 151 - 160 and rooms above (251 -)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve503820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was our first night in Maine, and although the room was a bit small, it included a good-sized walk in closet. The view of the river from our room and the restaurant was pretty and relaxing.

After a long day of travel, we chose to eat in the on-sight restaurant, 95 Ocean. Both our meals were outstanding. The breakfast buffet Sunday morning was delicious, with a variety of choices. We both really enjoyed the berry pancakes.

Another highlight was all the fairy houses that had been built around the propery, really creative!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Nonantum for 4 nights and had a very pleasant experience. We were hoping for a nice experience based on some Internet research, but really did not know what to expect from Nonantum or the Kennebunkport area. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised.

Check in and check out were a breeze. The resort is clean, charming and well maintained. Our room had a great feel to it, and wonderful decor, clean, updated and very welcoming. The only downside was that having a room on the ground floor by the lobby made it a rather noisy/high traffic area.

Each morning there is a breakfast buffet or menu available. It is quite a nice spread for the average eater, though a little more difficult for the truly health conscious or plant-based eating people. The dinner had a fantastic vegetarian option, which was nice.

The grounds are relaxing, the pool clean and the flower beds magical.

The staff were all outstanding and truly helpful in every way. Each day there were various activities for adults and children if people chose to take advantage of them. Overall it was a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor, west wing rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Beautiful resort with flowers to rival Longwood Gardens and a great room with a view of the Kennebunk River, swimming pool, and Lobster boat. Dinner was great with a master pianist and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Suggest you take the 1.5 hr Rugosa lobsta boat cruise- Cap'n Dave and his Norwegian crew Jacob hauled lobsters near President Bush's estate. Friendly desk service and the gardens are the work of Nancy Ames- a 5 star horticulturist.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wickedpissah1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing